We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Hampton Bays”
Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Drake Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time in Hampton Bays”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Drake Inn for a few days. We had a really great time and would recommend it for anyone staying in the Hampton Bays area.

The room was recently renovated (if you like Ikea you'll feel right at home) and it was very clean. The room size was pretty decent. Bed was comfortable and looked brand new as well. There was a small kitchen with complimentary coffee and tea.

The bathroom was also renovated - very clean. Good size. Good water pressure. Bathroom came with small toiletries.

It’s close to the shore - so there are lots of options available for dining on the water or relaxing on the beach.

I thought the staff did a great job keeping everything clean and organized.

The pool is in the parking lot and not private at all. The wifi was pretty spotty throughout the day.

In terms of price – it’s the Hamptons during the summertime - so its not cheap. We called around and they seemed to be on pair with the other places available in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms 10-16 are towards the back of the property near the marina. These rooms are much more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    30
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
67
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had a chance to visit the Drake Inn last summer, and found it to be just beautiful. When I returned in June, 2014 with my husband, we stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the upscale, clean accommodations, the beautiful water view, and the ease of access for the Hamptons, Management was so professional and hospitable in just the right way. having taken the Bridgeport to Port Jefferson Ferry. We also enjoyed the very nice Market/Restaurant right around the corner for delicious breakfasts, and found the oysters at the corner waterfront bar to be excellent. Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Pros: Great location - on a quiet road. Beautiful and modern room renovation, really liked the kitchen. [good quality] Glassware, dishes and utensils were provided. Fresh pastries each morning and bowl of fruit upon arrival. Room and grounds were meticulously clean/well groomed. Keurig machine in the room. Vending machine and ice. Great sized mini fridge. Terrace with table & chairs. Plenty of storage for clothes and in the bathroom enough draws for toiletries, we didn't have to live out of the suitcase. Comfy bed. Free beach towel and chair rental option. Appreciated the local suggestions of where to eat/ what to do. Loved the staff. Did NOT want to leave!

Cons: There wasn't a curtain or shade in the bathroom window. No privacy while showering, the next door neighbors had an active driveway and could see in. Pool wasn't opened yet during our stay (June 15-18). Screen door didn't shut properly or lock, would have liked to have kept it open over night. Construction workers/cars took up almost all of the parking. The AC unit was a bit loud.The Wifi wasn't good, too slow or couldn't connect.

Recommendations: box of tissues and a roll of paper towels for the kitchen. Open pool sooner. Fix shower privacy issue. supply more toilet paper in the bathroom

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty private, but for extra privacy rent one towards the back by the water th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almafe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a very quaint place with a very accommodating staff. The rooms are very clean and it was a nice touch to have fresh bakery goods outside of the door in the morning. Bring a picnic and enjoy the view from the canal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Recently renovated. Stayed there for two nights. Perfect location. View of the canal from the larger units is wonderful. There is a significant variety in room size so it is worthwhile to get a larger room. Owner is terrific. Would stay there again. Penny lane is an adorable street - make sure walk to the end to see the bay.

Room Tip: Speak directly to the manager or owner to know exactly what room you will be getting rather than usi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brugo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I came upon this gem of a hotel by chance and I couldn't have been happier. The rooms were beautiful, with all the amenities. The staff was great and addressed any concerns immediately. The daily delivery of fresh baked goods was an added bonus. Property was quiet and close to the beach, shopping and food. Highly recommended for all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khill150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed there for one night during memorial day weekend. The Inn has been meticulously renovated - super comfy bed, brand-new flat screen TV and top-notch appliances in the kitchenette, with many lovely details. We loved the fresh fruit waiting for us at the room upon arrival and the pastries served at breakfast. The inn is right by the canal with nice views of the bay and is a very short ride to the nearby beach. It is a wonderful base to explore the Hamptons, yet feels quaint and relaxed. We had a great time and can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.7 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
3.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
5.8 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Property: The Drake Inn
Address: 16 Penny Ln, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3211 (Formerly Drake Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Drake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drake Inn is one of the Hamptons finest resorts. We are peacefully secluded yet centrally located just one block west of the Ponquogue Bridge that takes you to the beautiful nearby beaches on Dune Road. At The Drake Inn you will be minutes away from all the best restaurants and all other fun activities that the Hamptons have to offer. Come and see for yourself why people adore this little gem in the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Inn Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing