We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Drake Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
“Beyond Expectation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting the Hamptons for more than 10 years now. We've always stated at The Drake Inn, formally The Drake Motor Inn. The location is perfect and an enjoyable ride for us. The service has always been impeccable and every attention to detail has always been a priority for the management. Our last stay was just over two years ago, and we had commented, that the rooms, although very clean, were becoming a little outdated. The grounds, also needed a little TLC. We had heard that there was new ownership and management and that a total transformation had taken place. When we arrived at The Drake Inn, I had to do a double-take to make sure we were at the same place. It was as if someone had wiped the slate clean, and started all over. Everything, and I mean everything, is new! Ultra modern rooms and furnishings. Perfectly manicured grounds and unsurpassed service from David and his staff. The moment we pulled up to the office, David greeted us with a smile and a handshake and escorted us to our usual apartment. The second he opened the door for us, we knew that this would be our most memorable stay. Ultra modern, comfortable furniture. New kitchen and appliances. Soft linens and beautiful flowers throughout. We walked over to the marina at sunset, and enjoyed a glass of wine while watching the sun go down. It doesn't get any more romantic than that. Congratulations to the new owners. You have taken The Drake Inn well into the 21st century. We highly recommend The Drake Inn to anyone vacationing in the Hamptons. You'll have memories that will last a lifetime. Guaranteed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyboy109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
60
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a room at the Bentley Hotel for seven of us celebrating a bachelorette weekend and were horrified at the state of the place upon arrival - we were completely mislead by their advertising. After calling everywhere to try and find an alternative, someone recommended we call David and check out the newly renovated Drake. As soon as we arrived, we felt at home. David was warm and welcoming and toured us around the lovely modern accommodations. The rooms had brand new kitchenettes, modern seating areas, and crisp white bedding (the website does not do it justice, more work has been done since then!) The grassy picnic areas and canal are beautiful. We told him about our pickle at the Bentley and he lent us his landline to call and try to get our money back. As soon as we convinced them to refund us, we reserved the rooms at the Drake.

The rest of the weekend was heaven. David sent a bottle of wine over for the bride-to-be and brought us warm zeppolis from the local bakery in the morning. His golden retriever, Osito, visited us when we hung out on the grounds. We had one of the toilets clog and someone was right over to fix it. In fact, upon our departure, David promised us he would be replacing much of the old plumbing system in all the rooms to ensure the problem would be solved permanently . Ponquogue Beach is a 5 minute drive and there's a great breakfast cafe at the end of the block. By the end of the weekend, we felt we'd found a home away from home. The Drake is the perfect place for a charming weekend away from it all; you will feel comfortable and well looked-after. Lovely accommodations, lovely grounds, and above all, impeccable customer service. Thanks, David! You saved our weekend from disaster!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njm1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked a last minute getaway at the Drake Motel. We weren't sure what to expect, as it was our first time there. Well, it was awesome! David and his staff were sweet and helpful. The rooms were super clean, newly renovated with comfortable beds and cute modern furniture. The grounds were landscaped beautifully and couldn't have been happier. We slept well, swam in the pool and spent time exploring the area - beach, boats and cute markets.

Room Tip: Sofa bed is basically a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked 6 room at Drake Inn on very short notice because we had to extend our stay in the area for couple of more days. Hotel consist of cottages that share two one bedroom apartments. Its fully renovated and all appliances are completely new, rooms are very clean and spacious. I didn’t had time to use a pool but I am sure that would be very pleasant experience. Hotel is located at the shore very close to major roads and the beaches. Manager was extremely pleasant and helpful going out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone no matter what is the purpose of their stay in Hampton's.

Room Tip: Every room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank predrag r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The host David not only made you feel comfortable , but made you feel like family , the rooms were clean and newly decorated with new beds and furniture , flat screen tv , new floors and freshly painted, it was a pleasure to stay there and the grounds made you feel like you were in a county setting , the beaches were close by , that we rode our bikes there . i only wish i brought my water toys , cause the hotel sits on the canal , and your close to all the hot spots like dockers , dune deck , and the shack where they have great lobster bakes , cant wait to go back , trust me , try the drake inn , it a winner .

Room Tip: all the rooms are great and chaming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groundwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDrakeInn, Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for this 'two thumbs-up' review!

Reading reviews from happy clients like yourself, makes
all the hard work worthwhile.

It was a pleasure meeting you and your friend.

Thanks you for staying with Us,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We happened on the Drake Inn driving through Hampton Bays and found it a charming place to stay for several nights. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms newly renovated and comfortable. The ambiance was pleasant with a pool and convenient to the bridge to Shinnecott Inlet. We highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDrakeInn, Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting and hosting you both.

Thank your for taking the time to share your impressions of The Drake
Inn with other travelers.

We hope you will choose us again on your next trip to the Hamptons.

Cheers,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel / inn has plenty of space and room to roam and relax. Sitting on lots of land but arranged to be intimate and comfortable. I was informed that there is a new owner and management and I must say they really know how to make you feel apart from the rest of the world.
The rooms are immaculate and everything is NEW! There are beautiful flowering plants everywhere....the hotel is bay-front and it's close enough to everything you need without the noise or hustle and bustle. A great get-away!!
Management of the hotel was super nice and friendly yet professional.
A perfect little paradise. I highly recommend it if you're looking to kick back, do some boating or fishing and simply enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrey492003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDrakeInn, Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The pleasure was all ours.

It was great meeting you.

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

Cheers,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
5.8 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Property: The Drake Inn
Address: 16 Penny Ln, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3211 (Formerly Drake Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Drake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Inn Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing