We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Sheep Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keuka Lakeside Inn(Hammondsport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keuka Lake Motel(Hammondsport)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esperanza Mansion(Bluff Point)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
167
14
4
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
14
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestswood roomfinger lakesb bcommon areasone of a kindkeuka lakemade us feelcouples massageour honeymoonpleasant valleyinterior designspa roomhot teastained glassmy wife and i were lookingbeautiful wineries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 195 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Black Sheep Inn. The facility is amazingly beautiful and Debbie is a fantastic chef! Debbie and Marc were so much fun to be with. They provided us with every thing we needed and more!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueHudson_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights. It exceeded our expectations in every way. This was only our second experience with Bed & Breakfasts. The owners Debbie and Marc look to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. They are polite, friendly, and their recommendations are worth listening to. We traveled to many of the restaurants and wineries and were not disappointed. The candle light dinner was a memorable experience and Deb's cooking is unbelievable!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cimo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We had a really pleasant stay a the Black Sheep Inn. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and given a tour. Our room, the Wood, was the smallest (and cheapest) but was very comfortable and well appointed. The common room areas we also well furnished and inviting. One room in particular had board games, puzzles, books, and a plethora of magazines to choose from. We enjoyed a very good nights sleep in a VERY comfy bed with luxurious linens. The two breakfasts we had were delicious and not your average BnB fare. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciated having such great hosts. The only thing that would have made Black Sheep Inn that much better is if was in town.

Now here's my take on previous reviewers criticisms--which some may have been resolved as a result of the owners "listening" to previous posts or as time has passed as the owners have gained more experience:
-TV time. Yes, there was no TV in either our room or the common area. This wasn't a problem or considered a negative by us.
-Outdoors. Someone mentioned that the grounds weren't well kept or useful. All I can say is that the back patio and outdoor fire pit were beautiful and well used by various guests during our stay.
-Food-in-rooms. No, we didn't encounter a no eating in rooms policy. We didn't eat in our room, but we did keep fruit and snacks on a table without complaint from the owners.
-Food. We found our breakfasts to be delicious, but if you want a traditional omelette or pancakes or french toast then you should speak up. The style of cooking focuses on organic, local, and whole food ingredients. Just to give you and idea, one day we had a sort of bread pudding with blueberry maple syrup and a side of apple sausage, and the next mushroom spinach strata with a dark bread scone with whole almonds.
-Personality. One reviewer mentioned that their is a fine line between Innkeepers must tip-toe along being helpful and overbearing, and when that line's crossed a guest might feel their privacy is invaded. I could see how someone might feel overwhelmed--you will be asked where you went to eat, did you like it, or what did you do that day. And, for sure, if you ask or comment on the house a good or comedic renovation will be told. The owners are naturally talkative so you will not find a "behind the scenes" management style at Black Sheep Inn. All said, I enjoyed Debbie and Marc's conversation and genuine interest in who we were and how our trip was going.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-DC-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

A beautiful house, beautifully restored and furnished, delicious breakfasts, and pleasant and attentive hosts. This is an inn we will be returning to. One piece of advice: if Debbie recommends a restaurant or a winery, go!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

On Octagonal structure is a fascinating thing to behold,and this inn was even more beautiful on the inside than on the outside.
The innkeepers, Deb and Mark were incredibly friendly and accomodating, and had excellent advice on wher eto eat and ride our bikes.
We could tell, after the first breakfast--all organic and quite plentiful, that the food Debbie cooked for us would enhance our performance on the road, and indeed, fueled by her incredible, healthy repast, we made our 50 miles !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternMassMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews