We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful inn run by wonderful people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn run by wonderful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived at The Black Sheep Inn, harassed and frustrated having encountered a problem with our vehicle on our drive from Canada. We were greeted at our car by Debbie who owns this amazing property with her husband Marc. From then on Deb could not have been more helpful. She called a dealership, arranged for our vehicle to be repaired the next day and Marc drove to the garage to bring my husband back to the inn. Our room was on the ground floor of this tastefully renovated, historic property. Breakfast was superb, cooked by Deb and we were served and hosted by Marc. I cannot say enough good things about The Black Sheep Inn, Deb and Marc make it look effortless. The accommodation is superb, the welcome is second to none, the food and hospitality superb. We stayed at 3 other B&Bs on our Finger Lakes vacation and this will be our number one choice when we return. Just superb all round, we cannot recommend this inn highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferretsandguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    13
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
125
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is by far one of the best places we have ever stayed. The owners, Deb and Marc, are experts at hospitality and go out of their way to make you feel at home. They will offer advice, make recommendations and even make reservations for you. We have been there in both the winter and the summer and really enjoyed both stays.

Kathryn O....Ohio

Room Tip: All the rooms are cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Friends and former guests were so right when they recommended the Black Sheep Inn. Our one night in 2012 was not enough--two nights this year. It begins with the blackboard listing our names at the front door, inviting guests to enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay in a beautiful town on Lake Keuka, one of New York's Finger Lakes. Innkeepers Debbie and Marc spent many years restoring this historic octagon house. (Ask to see their photos of the restoration.) They obviously stayed in many B and B's and knew how to create an atmosphere that prompts guests to return. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms luxurious and a central sitting room with light from the octagon window and music -- NO TV -- is a perfect place to curl up with a good book. And, there are always games to play. Ecologically- minded, they provide small bottles of all-purpose soap. (Whatever happens to all those bars of soup?). Professional chef Debbie serves imaginative and healthy breakfasts using organic and locally-sourced ingredients. One cannot forget her special coffee, a rich blend of freshly ground beans with cardamom. .If one cannot eat all of the sumptuous breakfast she packs it up for lunch in wanderings around the lake.region with wineries to visit, trails and waterfalls to explore. They also give good guidance on local restaurants and restaurants..This is must.. We'll be back.. .

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Pleasant Valley room.. Please note there is no fitness center, but there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Black Sheep Inn. If you're looking for an upscale but comfortable B&B to relax in after a long day out at the wineries, than the Black Sheep Inn is definitely for you. Both Deb and Marc (the owners of the Inn) are great hosts who make you feel right at home. When we arrived the first night, Marc came out to greet us and we met Deb once we made our way inside. Marc took us up to our room (Pleasant Valley Suite) and the room was very clean and spacious. You could tell that Deb and Marc put a lot of thought and energy into making the B&B a great experience. The B&B was very spacious and felt upscale, while still maintaining a comfortable (kick off your shoes) environment. There were four other sets of guests staying at the inn, but it didn't seem crowded at all. We only saw the other guests for breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, Deb did an amazing job each day. I'm not even going to try to explain what we had, as Deb does a much better job than I ever could. All I can say is the food was very yummy. We would definitely stay at the Black Sheep Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ_8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have used Deb and Marc for years to cater for our family events. Because of that, we knew our experience at the Black Sheep Inn would be 5 star. It was that and more. They are true caring hosts who made our stay fabulous. The food was impeccable. The ambiance is stunning in every inch of the property. It is comfortable and they go out of their way to create a homey atmosphere. I had some dietary restrictions and Deb was extremely gracious to meet those needs. She goes the extra mile in everything she does. Deb sent us to some really fun places around the lake from the winery tour, pottery designers, and a fabulous classical concert. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynB4832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We totally loved our first B&B experience. Marc and Deb could not have been more gracious hosts and the food was as creative as it was tasty. What a beautiful historic setting for a relaxing getaway. We especially loved sitting by the fire at night with other guests and having a lively conversation, although mixing with other guests is entirely optional and there is plenty of room to enjoy the house's many common areas in privacy as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseycris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay if you're staying in the Finger Lakes area. Marc and Deb are wonderful hosts. They have done an amazing job renovating this historic octagon house. Rooms are nicely furnished and very nice common spaces as well. Beds are very comfortable. Loved having a morning cup of coffee in the common space on the second floor with the light streaming in from the cupola above, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RL4543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
0.9 mi away
The Best Western Plus Hammondsport Hotel
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
18.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
#11 of 12 in Hammondsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Property: The Black Sheep Inn
Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Rd, Hammondsport, NY 14840-9549
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing