We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More formal than fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More formal than fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We'd agree with others' glowing reviews regarding the beauty, cleanliness, and attention to detail at this B&B. It was well-appointed and well-taken care of. However, staying with Debbie and Marc is like staying at your parents' house for the weekend. They decide what you'll eat for breakfast and how much. Cocktails are allowed in designated areas only -- not your room -- and are monitored by them. It's a very formal environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are very proud to offer our guests a farm to table experience featuring organic products from our gardens or local farms. We prepare our indulgent breakfasts fresh everyday, and plate them up hot before we serve them for you to enjoy. We are not a restaurant where you can order off of a menu, we are a bed and breakfast, and with a creative chef you may get to try something new and delicious. But If you are looking for a breakfast buffet, you won't find it here, we leave that to the national chains. We also happily accommodate any dietary restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    13
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
125
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holtwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our two nights at the Black Sheep Inn exceeded our expectations. This relaxing visit was accentuated by very comfortable beds in a tastefully decorated inn with delicious breakfasts. The innkeepers made us feel right at home. We will definitely be returning to this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoltwoodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a lovely Inn this is, one of only 100 octaganol homes left in the U.S. Added on to in the mid 1850's this home and Inn has been beautifully restored over a 6 year time period. Brought back to it's original roots, this home is beautifully appointed and designed and furnished just beautifully by Debbie and Marc. We stayed in the Taylor Suite on the 1st floor and had a lot of room to relax, and as a bonus our room opened up onto a patio. Debbie is a professionally trained chef and love again is in the details. Both are committed to local produce and to being ecologically conscious. Both are most interesting to talk to; Marc gave us a great history lesson of the Inn and the area. Great little town 2 minutes away and a lot of wineries to visit as well.If you are looking for a lovely and peacful respite with great food and thrown in, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The Taylor Suite has it's own private door out the the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QLooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Decided to take a last minute trip for some wine tasting. Was thisclose to dropping that idea after seeing all the other local B&B's stuck in the 70's with their decor...until we came across the Black Sheep.

Trip was fabulous. What a beautiful structure and property. Great patio and the Inn was very tastefully done. The breakfast was delicious. Make sure you ask for the tex-mex dish Debbie did. Mark & Debbie were very friendly and helpful in making this trip a success.

For me there is no other B&B to stay at on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldvinotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great Hosts! Beautifully redone octagone home. Debbie and Mark should be and are so proud of what they have done. Never to busy to explain the restoration process and history. You won't go wrong with this b&b cause rooms and breakfasts are great. Don't foget to have dinner there as well! If you are not an organic junkie, don't despair, meals are very good

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter17963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The property & amenities are outstanding, loved the architecture of the house & the various nooks & crannies. Beautiful patio, lovely inn keepers, Debbie & Mark. Loved the organic breakfast & the organic toiletries. Towels & sheets are amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just returned home from a lovely stay at The Black Sheep Inn in Hammondsport, NY. Debbie and Marc have done an amazing job in restoring a 19th Century Octagon House. The bedroom was lovely and the hosts were great! They were extremely knowledgeable about the area.
The breakfast was a joke! We appreciate Debbie's concern with eating a healthful diet but we all left the table hungry! The portions were tiny, overly spicy and except for a dry bran muffin, there were no rolls or bread. We are all very conscious of eating properly but this was beyond!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
As innkeepers, we are always surprised by remarks as found in this review. We take seriously the importance of a good breakfast, and our food is no joke. Our goal is to provide the freshest, local and organic ingredients possible, prepared in a flavorful and healthy manner. And it always strikes us as unusual when a guest doesn't like something we've served, yet eats everything and doesn't say anything to us. We are always happy to prepare an alternate meal for a guest if the one offered is not to their liking, but we can't do that if they give the impression that everything was to their liking. We are here to provide our guests with the best experience we can, and we rely on you to speak up if there is something that we can improve for you while you're here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
0.9 mi away
The Best Western Plus Hammondsport Hotel
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
18.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
#11 of 12 in Hammondsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Property: The Black Sheep Inn
Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Rd, Hammondsport, NY 14840-9549
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing