We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
177
15
4
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
15
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests wood room my husband and i finger lakes one of a kind keuka lake farm to table common areas stained glass couples massage spa room quiet spot beautiful wineries an amazing job wonderful hosts pleasant valley two nights
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 206 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Black Sheep Inn is a perfect place to stay in while in the Finger Lakes. It's quiet, clean, comfortable, spacious, and just beautiful. Deb and Marc serve up gourmet, healthy breakfasts that are a great start to a day of touring. Don't forget to make appoinments for a facial and a hot rock massage.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JASPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Black Sheep Inn for two days after Christmas. Beautifully restored octagonal house (ask about it's history), everything very clean and inviting, wonderful soft and comfortable king bed with a bathroom with great shower area, and wonderful inn keepers - Marc and Debbie. We enjoyed long conversations in the mornings and appreciated their suggestions on where to visit and eat while we were there. They were both most accommodating and we appreciated the carefully prepared breakfasts that were original and tasty. We also had requested full massages for both of us - and Debbie arranged for us to have them at the same time with candlelight. We have often gotten massages and were very pleased with the services she arranged for us. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I had the great good fortune to stay at the Black Sheep Inn for four nights in late October and found it to be delightful from the personalized welcoming message at the entry to the good bye breakfast some days later.

Our room was very comfortable with all the amenities that one would expect in a good property and the common rooms were grand, especially the upstairs room which featured books, games, big sofas, and wonderful music.

The property is lovely but it is really the hosts, Debbie and Marc who make this B&B special. They were consistently helpful - herbal tea at bedtime, winery recommendations, and hiking trail advice come to mind immediately - knowledgeable about their community, and interested in their quests.

Debbie is a great cook and breakfast was innovative and always delish.

We will be back for sure.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anne Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed and the Black Sheep Inn for two nights in October 2011. Debbie and Marc were the best hosts we could imagine! The room was immaculate with a super comfortable bed with all the amenities we could ever want or need. Even two cozy robes for us to lounge in! Another aspect that sets this home apart from others is the octagon shape and the love that these hosts have put into the B&B. Visitors can see that no detail has gone without great attention. It is truly a beautiful home and a marvelous specimen of a home that has been remodeled with history in mind. However, what really made our stay special were Debbie and Marc. The breakfasts prepared by Debbie were "unreal good"! Their recommendations for places to visit in the area and eat in town were absolutely fantastic.

This was our first stay at a B&B and had some reservations as far as how intrusive the hosts might be and how much privacy we might have. If this is a concern for you, please do not hesitate staying at this Black Sheep as these hosts are an excellent mix of friendly and unobtrusive. I cannot stress how wonderfully special the Black Sheep Inn is. The only regret we had was not staying longer.

Room Tip: Pleasant Valley Room has a beautiful view of the courtyard!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotellover1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

When Dorothy clicked her heels together, proclaiming, "there's no place like home", she could've just as easily ended up at the Black Sheep Inn.

Welcomed like a long lost friend, from the chalkboard that greets you by name, to the smile on Marc and Debbie's faces, the experience begins. Requests are met with warmth, a willingness to accomodate and a genuine concern for your comfort and care.

The inn is enchanting both inside and out. Your eyes are not met with lace, doily or floral overkill but simply, a richness of color and style and at times, even a little bit of whimsy (i.e. the vintage print in the main powder room), suited to an octagonal home steeped in history and restored with integrity and love.

And then there is breakfast...

Not the typical fare you'd come to expect from a B and B, which is a good thing. A flavor surprise to the palate, that does not include being rendered useless for the next few hours while digestion takes place. Organic, fresh and local, a harmonious delight to the taste buds.

So, I intend to return, again and again, whether from Oz or from wherever my travels may take me. If for nothing else, than to hear the sound of Debbie's infectious laughter, while sharing a glass of tea with friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews