We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangor, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This Bed and breakfast was the best place I have ever stayed!! The couple Deb and Mark were great! We went for a wine and cheese fest and they sent us off with wonderful homemade baked goods and tea. Everything was extreemly healthy for breakfast and it was 3 courses! We would stay there again and again without a doubt!! PS the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmiadol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    13
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
129
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

There are many who run B&B's and Inns who just don't "get it" - well Debbie and Marc of the Black Sheep Inn certainly "get it". Hospitality was brilliant without being overbearing, food delicious and the house incredibly restored and maintained. My husband and I are tough customers and we will most definitely return to the Black Sheep Inn!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guihan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Black Sheep Inn. The facility is amazingly beautiful and Debbie is a fantastic chef! Debbie and Marc were so much fun to be with. They provided us with every thing we needed and more!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueHudson_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights. It exceeded our expectations in every way. This was only our second experience with Bed & Breakfasts. The owners Debbie and Marc look to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. They are polite, friendly, and their recommendations are worth listening to. We traveled to many of the restaurants and wineries and were not disappointed. The candle light dinner was a memorable experience and Deb's cooking is unbelievable!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cimo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We had a really pleasant stay a the Black Sheep Inn. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and given a tour. Our room, the Wood, was the smallest (and cheapest) but was very comfortable and well appointed. The common room areas we also well furnished and inviting. One room in particular had board games, puzzles, books, and a plethora of magazines to choose from. We enjoyed a very good nights sleep in a VERY comfy bed with luxurious linens. The two breakfasts we had were delicious and not your average BnB fare. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciated having such great hosts. The only thing that would have made Black Sheep Inn that much better is if was in town.

Now here's my take on previous reviewers criticisms--which some may have been resolved as a result of the owners "listening" to previous posts or as time has passed as the owners have gained more experience:
-TV time. Yes, there was no TV in either our room or the common area. This wasn't a problem or considered a negative by us.
-Outdoors. Someone mentioned that the grounds weren't well kept or useful. All I can say is that the back patio and outdoor fire pit were beautiful and well used by various guests during our stay.
-Food-in-rooms. No, we didn't encounter a no eating in rooms policy. We didn't eat in our room, but we did keep fruit and snacks on a table without complaint from the owners.
-Food. We found our breakfasts to be delicious, but if you want a traditional omelette or pancakes or french toast then you should speak up. The style of cooking focuses on organic, local, and whole food ingredients. Just to give you and idea, one day we had a sort of bread pudding with blueberry maple syrup and a side of apple sausage, and the next mushroom spinach strata with a dark bread scone with whole almonds.
-Personality. One reviewer mentioned that their is a fine line between Innkeepers must tip-toe along being helpful and overbearing, and when that line's crossed a guest might feel their privacy is invaded. I could see how someone might feel overwhelmed--you will be asked where you went to eat, did you like it, or what did you do that day. And, for sure, if you ask or comment on the house a good or comedic renovation will be told. The owners are naturally talkative so you will not find a "behind the scenes" management style at Black Sheep Inn. All said, I enjoyed Debbie and Marc's conversation and genuine interest in who we were and how our trip was going.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel-DC-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staatsburg, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

A beautiful house, beautifully restored and furnished, delicious breakfasts, and pleasant and attentive hosts. This is an inn we will be returning to. One piece of advice: if Debbie recommends a restaurant or a winery, go!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLIAMSTOWN
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2010

On Octagonal structure is a fascinating thing to behold,and this inn was even more beautiful on the inside than on the outside.
The innkeepers, Deb and Mark were incredibly friendly and accomodating, and had excellent advice on wher eto eat and ride our bikes.
We could tell, after the first breakfast--all organic and quite plentiful, that the food Debbie cooked for us would enhance our performance on the road, and indeed, fueled by her incredible, healthy repast, we made our 50 miles !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternMassMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
20.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
0.9 mi away
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
#7 of 12 in Hammondsport
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Property: The Black Sheep Inn
Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Rd, Hammondsport, NY 14840-9549
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing