We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look forward to going back!”

Pleasant Valley Wine Company
Ranked #10 of 28 things to do in Hammondsport
Attraction details
Oakland County, Michigan
Level Contributor
251 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Look forward to going back!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of this winery. My husband and I decided to take advantage of our kid free day while on vacation and ended up here. The lady giving the tour was very informative and knowledgeable about the history of the winery, kept our attention and sparked our interest even more to learn that it was the first bonded winery in the United States. The tour ended with sampling of our choice of wine, very good variety, something to satisfy even the pickiest palate! We ended up buying several bottles, including some to give as gifts. Catawba was a favorite of mine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dmacnmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is not on the lake, so it is a little off the trail and you could possibly miss it. That would be sad. It doesn't have the views of the lakes or grapes but it is a great stop. They have a cool museum, with a lot of interesting things. They have a huge tasting bar. The tasting is free and we had the nicest young man doing the poring and explaining. He was awesome. They have a large selection of wines and the Chocolate Lab is amazing. We loved a few of the sherries and the Spumante was great. We were so glad that someone told us not to miss this because it was actually our favorite stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsfield Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

You have to take the tour of the winery it was awesome the girl that took us was very informative about the old winery it was really nice and the wine is very good we bought 3 cases LOL!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bilekfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This winery has a wonderful, informative museum. The employees are friendly and helpful. Parking is super close to the entrance. The tour is inexpensive and very interesting. I loved all the twists, turns, and tucked away areas of the buildings. It was like being transported back in time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nik655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Extensive visitor center, helpful staff, and free wine samples”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The visitor center at this winery is large and informational unlike most other wineries which offer samples but not much else. The visitor center has many educational displays and historical information about the finger lakes wine region. We did the self guided tour around building and later enjoyed some of their samples. You are allowed 5 free samples from a very extensive menu. The guided tours are $5 a person, which is very reasonable, but it didn't look like the guided tour offered much in addition to the self guided. The wines that they were selling were very reasonably priced, starting from $5.99 bottle for some decent wines. The vineyards are actually not located in this site as the grapes cannot grow in the valley so if you're hoping to see vineyards, this is not the place. If you're going to stop at only a few wineries, I would definitely recommend this was one of your stops.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aphroditehalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pleasant Valley Wine Company also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Pleasant Valley Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing