We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pleasant Valley Inn

Pleasant Valley Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Hammondsport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We returned to this restaurant on a recent visit to area. Creative menu; good, local produce; and pretty good (and relatively reasonable) wine list. Something for everyone but especially liked the black bean soup (a bit spicey), beet salad, braised beef brisket, and crab cakes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkport, New York
Level Contributor
195 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you're traveling in the Hammondsport/ Bath area do stop here if you have the opportunity. I suggest a reservation. Not inexpensive but food is terrific. Only seasonal but the fish is excellent or any special.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 52607Smiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
334 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Best Food within 60 mile Radius”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have dined here once a year for the past 10+ years. The food is consistently good. Each night the menu is augmented by a number of appetizer and entree specials. The restaurant interior is homey and inviting. Staff is very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“4.5 stars, and consistent over the years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Judged against other restaurants in the western Finger Lakes, this is an excellent bet for dinner. Although seasonal, the quality has been consistent for over a decade (we get there every year or two). I can't fairly give it five stars, since that's reserved for high-end, innovative or formal dining (the inn is clean-khakis casual), but this is easily the best dinner spot on Keuka Lake (the restaurant at Bully Hill has a great view from the deck and, usually, good food, but, on our last visit, they only offered Bully Hill's own wretched wines--boo, hiss!). The main courses here at the Inn are largely traditional "American supper-club" type selections (the kitchen does red meats very well, and good salmon or crab cakes), but some of the appetizers are more adventurous--and fine, fresh ingredients show up in everything. Sauces tend to be rich and thick, but that may be a plus for most diners. The wine list is very well selected and extremely well-priced--with a very small mark-up on the great local Rieslings (if you like the dry Alsatian style, the Keuka Lake Vineyards "Falling Man Vineyard" is, for my tastes, the finest Riesling made in North America; however, if you prefer a touch of sweetness, go with the dependable Dr. Frank Semi-Dry Riesling...or experiment with some of the other intriguing local wines--especially, wines from Ravines). While this is not on-the-lake dining, the inn has a lovely 19th-century interior. Service is friendly, helpful and well-meaning. With years of experience having dinners there, I can strongly recommend the Pleasant Valley Inn for a quality meal during your visit to Keuka Lake--by far, the most beautiful of the Finger Lakes--and the lovely village of Hammondsport. On summer weekends, definitely make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We zoned in on the Pleasant Valley Inn because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.

Excellent food and a wide variety of choices, some local, some flown in. One favorite was a grilled peach side dish that was spectacular.

The servers, owner and customers were all very happy to be there and the atmosphere was pleasant indeed.

We had come from hiking in the gorges at Watkins Glen and were a little embarrassed by our shorts and felt underdressed by comparison with the other diners seated, but the host (owner?) would hear none of it and made us feel very welcome. Eventually one other table of guests arrived with the men in shorts, (although dress shorts) and made us feel a little less conspicuous. Regardless, it was a very nice meal with very skilled servers.

We rarely return to restaurants a second time because we always want to try the next new thing, but in this case, I think we would definitely return again and again, if passing through in the future.

I am sure the prices were high for the area, but they were not high for NYC or Boston so we considered it a deal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElectricalEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pleasant Valley Inn also viewed

Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Pleasant Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing