We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will not go back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champaigne BBQ - CLOSED

Champaigne BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bath, New York
2 reviews
“will not go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Could have been a good experience except for management. Food was good. Server handled our large group well. However when mistakes with the food and charges were politely pointed out they made a meager attempt to make things right. Management/owner displayed a bad attitude toward our group making minor problems into an uncomfortable situation. My family will not go back due to this experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    4
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Food if you have all night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Walked in around 7 pm on a Saturday night. Place was full but not overcrowded and we sat right down. Finally had to stop a waitress about 20 minutes later to see if we could order. Simple order of pulled pork platter, Caesar Salad. some waters and a glass of wine. Wine came about 10 minutes later but the food took 30 minutes to arrive. Food was good and reasonably priced which is why they got any stars. It seemed one of the other waitresses apologized about the delay to every table she served - ours seemed to think it was OK. The only thing to arrive promptly was the bill. HAD TO PAY IN CASH. To be fair the sign outside did tell you this but it was not clear if this was a temporary or permanent condition. Last note, maybe because it was Saturday night but it was very, very loud. Seems a lot of locals go there (their food is decent) but the custom is to greet each other louder than all the background noise and spend the rest of the time talking louder than the fray. After a few cycles of this you need to yell at your dining partner to even be heard. Won't be a next time for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Seriously amazing bbq”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Forget southern barbeque... this was seriously some of the best barbeque we've ever had! We stumbled upon this restaurant somewhat by accident and could not have been any more pleased! It doesn't look like much, but the food more than makes up for it; we had wings, 1/4 chicken, and pulled pork - all of them were to die for and the service was great. We're still talking about how awesome the wings were!! The chicken was perfectly prepared - juicy, not at all dry and/or mealy like some bbq places. Wish they were closer to home!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good barbeque, friendly service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Enjoyed being able to walk to town for dinner. The barbeque was good and the server friendly. Sitting outside, opposite the town square, people watching added to the enjoyment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were passing through and had heard from our B&B owner that this was the place to eat. It doesn't look like much but our pulled pork and hand cut sweet potato fries were great. The bartender was friendly and the beer was cold. What more could you ask? Next time we are in the area we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry62NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champaigne BBQ also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing