We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winery”
Review of Heron Hill Winery

Heron Hill Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Heron Hill Winery is nestled into a hillside overlooking scenic Keuka Lake in New York's Finger Lakes region. For over 35 years, Heron Hill has won many awards for its distinctive, elegant wines and continues to be at the forefront of cool climate winemaking. Establishing our heritage among some of the first vinifera wineries in the Finger Lakes, John and Josephine Ingle founded Heron Hill Winery in 1977. Through perseverance and long-term dedication to excellence in winemaking, Heron Hill Winery has become a world-class destination. Heron Hill remains family-owned. For the Ingles, practicing sustainably is a way of life and means giving respect. Respect for the land in how we farm our estate vineyards, and respect for the consumer by offering wines with an authentic sense of place and by providing visitors with a friendly and informative experience. Today, Heron Hill offers over 20 wine varieties; crisp and light Rieslings, aromatic dry Chardonnays, the winery's legendary Eclipse series, complex Pinot Noirs and Cabernet Francs, and specially crafted dessert wines. They are celebrating their 40th anniversary in 2017!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Corning
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Winery”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited this past weekend with my wife, daughter and son-in-law. We have also visited in the past for a wine tasting. It is a great location with a wonderful view. The staff is very friendly and the wine sample pours are generous. Several great wines to choose from.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlie138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    73
    25
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Forge, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Winery is beautiful and the staff was GREAT!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a family get together the weekend of March 22-23rd 2013. We visisted several wineries on Keuka Lake. Heron Hill was one of our favorites. Ed was our guide. He explained all of the wines to us he was vert informative as well as kind and funny. We have been to this winery before but Ed really made it alot of fun!! We will be back next year.....all 17 of us!!! Thanks for a great time :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LornaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wine tasting”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were out wine tasting and stopped at Heron Hill. The people were very friendly and welcoming. Good pours as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent wine”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We love this winery! Each year, for my daugthter's birthday, we go wine tasting. Heron Hill is a must stop. The people who work there are very friendly and they know their wines. Ed was our host this time, and he was great. We told him what kind of wines we liked (all 5 of us have different tastes), and he suggested perfectly. The winery is beautiful and the scenery is outstanding; overlooking Keuka Lake. I would recomend this winery to everyone. Their dessert wines are among the best I have ever tried!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OccasionalTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinatHeronHill, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. I'm happy to hear you found wines to meet your different tastes...that's the fun part of wine tasting in a small group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Pleasant June Wedding”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I spent a pleasant evening this last summer attending the wedding of our dear friend's daughter. Not only is the setting above Keuka Lake beautiful, but also the winery itself. Both inside and outside it is a warm and inviting setting. Living in Chicago after having lived in Dansville, NY and with my folks in Bristol Springs, NY, we were well aware of the high quality of New York State wines. The tasting at the wedding confirmed that Heron Hill produces the best of the best in wines. We greatly enjoyed sampling and we took many bottles back with us to Illinois. For a beautiful trip to the country, a breathtaking view across the vinyards to Keuka Lake, and excellent well crafted wines, you can't miss when you stop at Heron Hill.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heron Hill Winery also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Heron Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing