We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent upgrades make it worthwhile”
Review of Keuka Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keuka Lake Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hammondsport
Syracuse NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recent upgrades make it worthwhile”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As noted, the motel is under new management. The bathrooms have been redone - nice tiles and spotless and the furniture is new. Clean as a whistle, new TVs, refrigerator and coffee maker and easy access from the wineries. My family and I stayed in two rooms and were very happy with the price and the accommodations. The owner-manager was very accommodating - even took a trip out to get us some ice. On a nice day you can sit outside your room and look out at the lake. It's an old-style roadside motel - a row of 7 rooms. We liked it. If we are in the area again, we would stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JRRSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

In January 2013 The Keuka Lake Motel became much improved and switched to a NEW owner. The rooms have be updated and remodeled. There is completely new bathrooms that have new tile, paint, lighting, shower curtains, lighting, etc. And the rooms have all new furniture such as new dressers, night stands, chairs, TV's, etc. Also you now check in right there at the Motel. if anyone has stayed at The Keuka Lake Motel in the past I recommend that you give it a second chance because it has been upgraded significantly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olean
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I booked this motel because we wanted a place close to the lake. It was very hard to find, the addresses did not match up to the switz hotel. The pictures make it look much nicer than it really is. The shower curtain was moldy, floor was dirty, fridge made noise and no wireless as they had told us. The owner couldn't remember the password. We found a cleaning closet out back with a spray cleaning bottle, a whole bunch of dirty sheets and thats where they stored the extra pillows but it had no mop or vacuum. We were the only people there out of 7 rooms. We walked up to it at night after going to the switz for dinner and it reminded me of a horror movie. The good thing is it's close to the ravine winery, the lake and the switz inn and bar. Like I said if you don't mind a creepy motel and are only spending the night then this is the place for you, nobody killed us that night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luked981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammondsport hotels

Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this motel last min on Labor Day Weekend. I have to say the place was VERY clean, but the motel itself has seen better days. Did have nice refrigerator & coffee maker with coffee in the room, but the bed was pretty bad. At one time, there was a check-in at the motel itself, but now it's just an empty building. The motel is owned by the people who own the Switzerland(restaurant down the road a little, across the street). Had a stoned hill for a driveway(not good if you are on a motorcycle like we were). No view, no ice, no nothing pretty much. If you are looking just for a place to sleep on Keuka Lake, this would do for you. We, personally, won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville,Il.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Keuka Lake Motel in June of 2012. The rate was $114. The furnishings, fixtures, and appliances were all many decades old.The bathroom had no curtain, shade, or frosted glass on the window. It also had no electrical outlet. There was a rust line on the outside of the tub and the inside was turning black from wear. There were no hangers or places to put things except for an old, unfinished table in one corner. The AC was an old, small window unit. The TV was equally small and old. Altogether the place looked abandoned. It resembled a place I had stayed in Montana 40 years ago that had at least offered a fair rate. The problem I have with the Keuka Lake Motel is that it's nightly rate doesn't come close to matching it's poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logosone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July. It was worthwhile for it's location but that's about it. No maid service, thin towels, a/c that can't keep up with 90-degree heat. Have to check-in at a bar down the street. Very difficult to find especially at night. Somewhat isolated (and creepy-looking in the dark) location up a hill behind an abandoned building.

Since I was only looking for a place to sleep and it was very close to the event I was attending it worked out ok but I wouldn't recommend it for most others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I booked this motel because I had waited too long to find something for a winery picnic that we wanted to attend and the price was not extravagant. All hotels in the Finger Lakes during the summer are a minimum of 2 nights, which I knew and did not have a problem with. This little hotel was in a great location for us right down the road from the winery picnic that we would be attending. They were also one of the few people that every called me back or even had a room available.
The problem is you have to check in across the street at the Switzerland Inn, accept that it is not only across the street but down the road and to the left a ways. They do not tell you that. We arrived at night, found the Inn and checked in at the bar of the Inn which is just a restaurant/bar. We then went back across the street, had a hard time finding the driveway and the parking lot. There are no illuminated signs and no lights. There is one light by the old office (which is closed) that comes on with a motion sensor. But it only comes on if you go that way. Otherwise, it is very hard to see at night.
The room was clean, very hot, they never turned the air on, there was a mini refrigerator and a single cup coffee maker. So we managed in the dark, got the room cooled down and slept pretty good. The next morning we were having coffee outside the room and another couple arrived at the room next to us. They told us they were checking out. They had booked the room for 5 days and found out there is absolutely no maid service of any kind. They had complained at the Switzerland Inn and they told them that they really do not have anything to do with the maid service. Well, they were right, we too had no maid service that day. Had to use the same thin towels for showering and had trash over flowing in the tiny two wastebaskets in the room. We paid $110.00/night for this room, you would think we could have gotten a little bit of service for the price. I will not be staying at this motel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ediebSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
176 reviews
15.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
12.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
14.6 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keuka Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keuka Lake Motel

Property: Keuka Lake Motel
Address: 14720 State Route 54, Keuka Village, Hammondsport, NY 14837
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hammondsport
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keuka Lake Motel is conveniently located in the heart of the finger lakes. It is located on State Route 54 across the street from a boat launch and within walking distance to a popular restaurant and winery. It is within a few miles of 5 wineries. It is close to the quaint village of Hammondsport, Watkins Glen Raceway and scenic gorge, and Penn Yan. We recently purchased the motel and have refurbished two rooms thus far. We are in the process of completing the remaining 5 rooms. An on-site tasting room to include NYS beer, wine, liquor, and ciders is anticipated to open this fall. Stay tuned! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing