We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened?”

Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dr. Konstantin Frank pioneered the introduction of vinifera wines to the Finger Lakes region of New York. Our winery was found in 1962 and is one of the most award-winning and historic in New York.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We took my sister and her husband to Dr Frank's winery on Saturday, October 13.
They came all the way from Ohio to visit some finger lakes wineries. Since we live in the area, we thought it would be fun to take them to some of the more interesting ones around keuka lake.
When we arrived at Dr. Frank's, we had to wait a little while since there was quite a line. We were ushered into the new tasting room around 4 pm or so. Our tasting site overlooked the beautiful lake. So pretty. Our host was disappointing as he was very unfriendly and just seemed to try to "get thru" what should be a fun wine tasting time. He just would pour without any extra effort of getting to know who was visiting. He did NOT do Dr. Frank's any favors. He was somber and robotic appearing. He kind of came across as a snob. Maybe, he was not feeling well?
It's hard to say, but we did buy some wines (not as many if he would have been more helpful).
Hope he changes his attitude soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Concerningreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for bringing your family to our winery and also for your review. We value all reviews, both positive and negative. We are sorry for your negative experience with one of our servers. We do pride ourselves on providing our customers with the best experience possible, so we are disappointed to hear that you had a less than perfect experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the view here and welcome you back any time (and hope you will enjoy future experiences here)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    91
    19
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seneca Falls, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

All you have to do is google this place. It's got character and characters, great wine. Great history. A place to forge a meaningful relationship with the Riesling that matters.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are lucky to have fans like you. Glad you enjoy our winery and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very very fun winery!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There was a long line to wait for the tasting area when we got there but it moved very quickly; bartender very personable and really knew the wines. They offered 2 wines at a time, a drier one and a sweeter one, explained the difference and which should be tasted first. By far I learned the most at this winery. Can't wait to go back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tammys4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
So glad you had a great time at our winery! We certainly have some wonderful staff members and it's terrific that you got experience them firsthand. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

They are making some excellent wines here. The tasting is done groups formed as you walk in. The server is a combination of a salesman and a comedian. I was not dissappointed. Also, the view is fantastic -- they are on the west side of Keuka Lake near Hammondsport.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MisterMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alden, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dr. Frank's”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very informative presentation, and our host was funny and did a great job making sure to interact with each couple present

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing