We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very knowledgeable staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars

Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dr. Konstantin Frank pioneered the introduction of vinifera wines to the Finger Lakes region of New York. Our winery was found in 1962 and is one of the most award-winning and historic in New York.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Of all the wineries we visited, the employee who did our tasting was the most knowledgeable about the wines he offered. We had to wait about 10 minutes before we could get in as they wait to do the tasting for small groups. Ours was with 6 people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pghphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    89
    19
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Through California Prism”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We live in wine region in California and regularly visit wineries. I found the tasting experience at Dr. K to be highly unique.

We waited in line around 20 minutes for the opportunity to taste. Then, as a group of around 14 people, we took up one entire bar. There are 5 different bars at the winery, each tending to the 14 +/- people, each 20 minutes. I asked the employee how many visitors they see each year and he said about 95,000. Our group of 14 bellied up to the bar where we were handed nice Reidel glasses and the woman pouring offered us a choice of two wines, 5 times through. Typically one was dryer and one was sweeter.

There is no cost to taste but you are provided with a sheet to write notes on each wine that handily converts to an order form. The price of wines, relative to Calif., is down right cheap. The quality of the wines, especially the indigenous whites, were quite high.

The only thing that stood out was the culture of the tasting room. In Calif., people talk and share percpections and tasting notes. Here, everyone kept to themselves.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SBPinotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A serious wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

On a busy weekend in the fall, many of the Finger Lakes wineries become a free-for-all. Not here. You have to wait until there is room at one of the tasting areas; and then they admit 8 at a time. It was one of the more informative wine tastings. I learned about different types of grapes and bottle shapes. And the wine was some of the best I had tasted in the area. Dr. Frank's riesling won the Governor's Cup and the reds were some of the best I'd tasted of the 10 wineries I'd visited.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank spdwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were fortunate to be placed at the picture window that faced the lake and the incredible foliage. A little crowded but worth it. Fabulous tasting and free!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cameile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“As good as NY gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wines are as good as you can get in the Finger Lakes (which means so-so) but the setting feels a bit more like a tourist factory than a nice afternoon in the country.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hello12345_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing