We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST SEE MUSEUM”

Glenn H. Curtiss Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Glenn H. Curtiss Museum, bearing the name of Hammondsport's favorite son, is located on Route 54, one half mile south of the village of Hammondsport, New York. Dedicated to the memory of pioneer aviator, Glenn Curtiss, the museum contains a priceless collection relating to early aviation and local history. The museum also features a 75-seat theater, large open area for special events and a gift shop. In addition to motorcycles and aircraft, visitors will also see antique tools, toys, boats, home-furnishings, fire equipment and much more. Visitors are also welcome to visit the Museum Restoration Shop, talk with volunteer craftsman and watch them work on historic aircraft.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST SEE MUSEUM”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Airplanes, Boats, Motorcycles, Beautiful Vintage home furnishings, It is really a Must See Place. The exhibits are very detailed in explanation, with pictures and displays of artifacts which have been lovingly restored.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smqMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    76
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“aviation and motor cycles”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Enjoyable 90 minutes for my aviation buff son. If you like aviation and motorcycles history, you will enjoy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We went there as part of a group outing and we were surprised by the diversity of exhibits. I expected it to be all planes but there are also vintage cars, motorcycles, boats and all manner of collectibles from the early 1900's. Unlike other museums this one will let you walk through the restoration shop and see what future exhibits they are working on.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lowxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome museum”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very interesting place, could spend hours there. We loved all of the old automobiles, motorcycles, airplanes, etc. They have quite a collection of other things that will appeal to everyone. The couple who greeted us were very congenial and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We keep coming back for more!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This little museum is an eclectic place. Love the airplanes and automobiles and boats and motorcycles. My favorites are the Curtiss Oriole and the P-40E Warhawk. Liked learning about Glenn H. Curtiss and his contributions to air and road travel. Lots of other stuff besides that, though. The Indiana Jones exhibit is back but is now part of a larger display called "Warehouse 53: Adventures in the Cinema" including props and costumes from other films like "Secret of the Incas" and "Goonies" and "The Mummy" series. There's even an Indiana Jones "idol grab" photo op in the corner. Awesome! That particular exhibit is there through Sept 1st and was a big reason for our visit, actually. (We're big Indy fans!) Would love to see more displays with video of the airplanes (or similar models) in air, but it was cool to be able to walk up close to the museum pieces. I'm sure we'll return in the future when we're in the area again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JediTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenn H. Curtiss Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glenn H. Curtiss Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing