We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favorite”
Review of Hamilton Inn - CLOSED

Hamilton Inn
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Still our favorite”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We're nearing the end of our second Colgate student's run and through the years the Hamilton Inn has been our favorite. The food is always good and consistent. Fish, red meat or any other meat -- it's always top notch and the preparations are not over-engineered. This time out we had prime rib (including end cut - YUM), scallops, and pork chops. The service and wine has also been good every time. They easily accommodate large parties (we always seem to be around 10 people). We've tried driving out to Cazenovia for the Brewster Inn, but the Hamilton Inn is just as good and right in Hamilton.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good, but not consistent”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We always enjoy going to the Hamilton Inn as it is a lovely landmark with an enjoyable atmosphere and great outdoor seating; the bar is also a notable highlight! However more than once we had at least one meal each time (out of a group of 4 guests dining) that was less than average. Either undercooked, ingredients that were not included on the menu (important for people with allergies) or just loosely prepared. Some of the staff (server) could also work on a smile here or there. I think that is something to pay attention to as everything else is truly wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Probably the nicest restaurant close to Colgate University. Lovely, intimate setting in old inn. Food and service were both excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank explorersjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Except, it's exactly what I expected as this marks the fourth straight year we've eaten here and between the attentive but never intrusive service and the exceptional meals we all had - 6 of us, all having a different dish - the Hamilton Inn always exceeds my very high expectations. And that's pretty remarkable when you think about it. I would never think about not having at least one dinner here while in Hamilton or the surrounding area (although I would drive a lot longer than that to dine here), and luckily I don't...confusing though that sounds. Nothing confusing here but great food in an outstanding setting!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Meal... Great Sunset...Fabulous Desserts!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were invited to the Hamilton Inn for a small surprise Birthday party for a close friend. What a pleasant surprise! We had never been to the Hamilton Inn before we will go back! We had a small private room off the bar area, it was cozily perfect! The gas fireplace was lit and was not too warm ...just right! I had the Caesar Salad & Crab Cakes over wilted spinach with a Charred Pineapple Chutney YUMMY! Others had the Pork Tenderloin with Apple Slaw & Herb Roasted Root veggies still others had the Short Ribs with Herb Roasted Root Vegetables, Horseradish Gremolata. And since it was a Birthday we had dessert! FABULOUS!! We were a VERY happy group!.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing