We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for visiting Colgate University”

Wendt University Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wendt University Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

If the Colgate Inn is too expensive or all booked. But the rooms are shabby looking and the pillows were horrible, like cardboard. They did have coffee in the lobby, the room was certainly clean, and the service was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 101 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

No frills, but very clean. Everything looked recently renovated and new. Not a chain, but it was just fine for a night.

The halls were a little noise, and they could use some signs to get you from the lobby to your room. But, if that is the biggest complaint, you're doing just fine.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank RyryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great location for Colgate University, however, nothing else to recommend this property. The walls of this wood frame hotel are as thin as paper, allowing conversations to travel through them with great clarity. The room has one outlet in it, a bit of a problem for charging cell phones and other devices. Old style tube TV made watching high definition programs much less than high def. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is rather underwhelming. One of the mornings it was cleaned out by a visiting women's basketball team. No great loss.

Look, you are staying here because you need to do something at Colgate. It's a good location, and cleaner than most. I would try and book the college in if I were you though.

Room Tip: Be careful of idling buses. They are quite loud, and will be heard if you are on the front of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantalum129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel was easy to find and close to Colgate. Room was large and clean, but décor was a little outdated. We were on the ground floor and I didn't notice until the second night that the windows hadn't been locked. That was a little unsettling.

The breakfast is nothing more than plain bagels and boxed doughnuts. You'd be better off going elsewhere. The rooms do not have refrigerators or microwaves either.

Beds were ok but pillows were very uncomfortable

Room Tip: Room 101 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Softball_Mom_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had put off staying at the Wendt during our Colgate dropoffs/visits because of the mediocre reviews, but I finally decided to try it and now I'm sorry I didn't stay here sooner. The rooms were clean and I thought it was perfectly fine for a couple of nights. I agree with the other reviews that it is a little pricey for just the basics, but the price reflects the location and the fact that there are few lodging options in Hamilton. For a Colgate visit, I was happier with the Wendt than the B&Bs with shared baths or the nicer hotels that are 30+ minutes away. The staff was also friendly. Only downside was the breakfast, which one would do better to skip, as it featured only hostess-like danish, donuts, and bagels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madi_D9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and i stayed here two nights.Everyone of the staff were most friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean.The rooms were somewhat spartan and the breakfast room was very small for the number of room in the hotel. The breakfast itself was quite marginal. The beds were okay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

With Colgate Inn booked, we went with Wendt, and we were pleasantly surprised. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was a nice touch too. Will definitely book for future trips.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GottaGetAway2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
16 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
21 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
0.6 mi away
Colgate Inn
Colgate Inn
#1 of 2 in Hamilton
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendt University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Address: 175 Utica St, Ny, Hamilton, NY 13346-2001
Location: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing