We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly atmosphere”

Wendt University Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wendt University Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited Colgate University with our daughter, her friend and her friend's parents. We shopped online for a place to stay as we have never been to that area before. Trip advisor reviews were good and the upscale hotel in area was booked. The remainder of choices were b and b's which we don't like. We arrived late and were greeted by a very nice girl who had our keys ready for us. The rooms are very clean and great for an overnight trip. They served a small continental breakfast in the morning, I would stay there again if we visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenbearcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here one night about a yearsago. Was underwhelmed. Seemed like a cheaply built, put up in a very short time to house parents of Colgate University student. May be the cheapest place to stay in Hamilton, and it feels like it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llsmith29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

...and you want to stay in Hamilton this this place is okay for 1 night, no more than 2. The local lodgings are all well overpriced. This one, based solely on cost, was the only reasonable choice. If I was to travel to the area again I would simply stay in Oneida or Utica. The hotel was clean. It is basically prefab construction with thin walls and cheap beds. They do have WiFi. For a night or two it is okay if the goal is to stay in Hamilton and not be totally ripped off for lodging. More than 2 nights I feel the beds would be too uncomfortable for an adult. Kids would'nt care. I may be biased too since this was my first time staying in a remote area that wasn't a campground. This trip was specifically to visit Colgate University.

Room Tip: there is no pool or kids activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've stayed here several times. It's perfectly adequate for a night or two and better than many of the other places in the area. As other reviewers have noted, it's very convenient to Colgate. I think sometimes people expect too much of a motel located pretty much in the middle of nowhere. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is convenient, but there are other places in the area, both hotels and B&Bs. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unicorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The bedding is like sleeping on a bed of nails. Hotel is so cheaply constructed that you will not be able to sleep as you can hear other guests in rooms next to you as well as hearing the guests upstairs walking around.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginnie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at the Wendt University Inn while attending our daughter' s graduation from Colgate this past Sunday. While this inn is nothing fancy, it has everything you need to be comfortable and the location can't be beat. We were minutes away from the campus. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book well ahead if you are planning to go at a busy time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Have stayed here a couple time. The place is okay. Nothing special. Walls seem a bit thin, can hear a lot of noise. Breakfast is provided, but is just okay. Not a lot to chose from

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamd826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
16 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
21 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
19.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
341 reviews
11.2 mi away
Pillow and Pantry B&B
Pillow and Pantry B&B
#1 of 2 in Sherburne
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colgate Inn
Colgate Inn
#1 of 2 in Hamilton
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendt University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Address: 175 Utica St, Ny, Hamilton, NY 13346-2001
Location: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing