We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but Not Perfect”
Review of Colgate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colgate Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely but Not Perfect”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the only game in town if you are looking to stay someplace with character. Decor is lovely. Rooms are comfortable but on the smallish side. Lighting is terrible in the rooms. They are very poorly lit. And there is a fair amount of noise between rooms and the corridor. However, it beats all other options nearby so reserve early. The big plus is the restaurant which is absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    47
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
24
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jamesville
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Colgate Inn was renovated within the past 18 months. The Inn looks much better and improvements were made.However, there are areas that were overlooked or that the renovations could not get to. Example - the nosie level from room to room is not good. You can hear people walking, or if they are in the bath area - well it's not good. The acoustics are bad from room to room. One should expect better at the rates that are charged.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEV50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Well...yes...I did! After last year's IMPECCABLE experience when my wife and stayed here during a Colgate University event. Truth is, Colgate event or not, the Colgate Inn is not only the only place to stay - assuming you're lucky enough to get in - but the best place to stay (by far) and worthy of any World-class operation. It's worthy of that appellation because of the people operating it (one of several properties owned by the same family I believe); EVERYONE from check-in to the entire restaurant staff are consummate professionals and all aim to please...and boy do they deliver. I've stayed all over the world and the Colgate Inn ranks among the very best!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed one night. This is a beautiful historic inn with 40 rooms. It has been remodeled and the result is pleasant and comfortable.

Hamilton is a small college town. The college is a short drive from the inn and has a gorgeous campus. Hamilton has a movie theater, shops and a few other eating establishments besides what the inn offers. Canal Barge Coffee House is a short walk from the inn and has great coffee.

A decent parking lot is located behind the inn. We were able to park our micro-motor home easily. As other reviewers have already stated, the rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and clean. The staircase is stunning. The Tavern is a great place to either eat dinner or hang out with a drink. The staff was very friendly and gracious. There is also an outside seating area which is enjoyable to sit and watch the downtown activities, weather permitting. Would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is clearly the nicest hotel in Hamilton and it has a spectacular location. I would definitely recommend staying here, especially if you are visiting Colgate. (Or, there are a few nice B&Bs.) The school has taken over the Colgate Inn and decorated it quite tastefully. It looks like an early American house with dark wood molding against Colonial Blue walls, 4 poster beds and wool rugs. There are Hunt Country paintings of dogs and horses. In the lobby, there are cozy nooks to sit in with a book. Rooms are very attractive with elegant furnishings and excellent bathrooms. However, they are not over the top cushy or luxurious. For instance, I was surprised they didn't have mini fridges. Beds are beautiful but not out of this world comfortable. Pillows were surprisingly hard - not down. The other thing that surprised me was that the front desk staff was not as friendly as everyone else in town (Hamilton is a super friendly place). The 2 young women at the desk when we checked in might have been students or at least around that age. They seemed put out to answer our questions. I'm not sure if they need better training or they were inexperienced or maybe I am just making excuses for them. There is no excuse for not being welcoming and warm when guests check in. So, definitely stay here. You won't be disappointed in the charming atmosphere. But I hope you get friendlier staff and I hope the owners consider upgrading the pillows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Colgate Inn. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The service was superb and the atmosphere was excellent. We will certainly suggest it to our friends and we will be back. We were only about 10 minutes away from the Madison-Bouckville Antique Show so the location was ideal. Colgate University is a short walk away. What a beautiful campus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageurs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I recently visited the Colgate Inn and stayed in a Queen size bedroom. The decor of the room and bathroom was clean and beautiful. This really is the only place to stay in Hamilton. The only reason I didn't award it 5 stars overall is because the walls were extremely thin and the bedroom and bathroom were tiny. I felt as I was vacationing with the people next to me since I heard their conversation and smelled their room service food. The Tavern was delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
19.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
20.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
0.1 mi away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colgate Inn

Property: Colgate Inn
Address: 1 Payne St, Hamilton, NY 13346-1111
Location: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Hotel Class:3 star — Colgate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Colgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colgate Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing