We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay”

Holcomb's Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holcomb's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, Massachusetts
1 review
“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were sad that we only stayed one night in Holcomb's B&B -- it was comfortable, clean, convenient, and convivial. Karen and her family have done a beautiful job renovating the old house so that guests can feel at home and at peace while visiting the lovely village of Hamilton. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethB2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
11
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

First, I must say that Holcomb’s B&B was hands down the cleanest B&B we stayed in on our recent B&B trip up the East Coast. This old farmhouse was down to the studs when Karen and her husband bought it to renovate, so all surfaces are new and clean. It’s beautifully decorated – as fitting an old farmhouse and Karen has mission style furniture in the living room that the original family gave to her for the B&B. The colors used throughout are also beautiful – something that attracted me when I looked for a B&B online. Look on their website and you’ll see how each room is decorated. Hamilton is not large so you can walk to pretty much anything from the house.

Common Areas: Downstairs has a large, light-filled kitchen with a really big dining table built by an Amish craftsman. The living room is nicely decorated with oak furniture and comfortable sofas’ it’s a perfect place to relax after a long day. Karen is on premise but her family lives elsewhere, so you don’t have to worry about interrupting the family’s activities if you decide to spend time downstairs when you come into the B&B. The kitchen table would be a great place to plug in your laptop and get an hour’s work done. They have a nice yard outside with a BBQ – I didn’t pay much attention since we were busy with family in Hamilton.

Guest Rooms: The mattresses are so comfortable and the rooms are nicely decorated. It was very hot during our stay but they had small air conditioners and ceiling fans in each room. We stayed in the smallest room – one that Karen does not often rent. It was fine for one night but otherwise I would recommend it for a single. The ensuite bathroom is very small – not for anyone too wide – but clean and new. Karen warned us of this. Towels, soap, shampoo and a hair dryer were provided. The other guest rooms were much larger and very well equipped. I also felt we had a sufficient amount of privacy in our room – something that is not a give in B&Bs.

Breakfast: Karen servers you pretty much whatever you want for breakfast – we had scrambled eggs and bacon - and everything is great. The talk was friendly and informal at the table.

Internet: I didn’t check it here. You’ll have to ask Karen.

Atmosphere: Each B&B has it’s own atmosphere. This one is friendly, clean and informal with a family feel. Since breakfast is not at one set time, rather in a time range, the day starts out on a more relaxed note. I think having Karen onsite and her family in another house makes this B&B feel more like a place you can use as home base during the day if you’re planning to be there several days. Karen and her husband are very knowledgeable about gave us great information about the senior housing in Hamilton.

My husband has family in the area and we wanted to try something different from the Colgate Inn. We found a wonderful alternative at Holcomb’s.

Note: This B&B will only get better. Karen and her husband are new to innkeeping and are refining their approach as they go. They are hard workers and we thank them for our nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooner201009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Unless you saw the photos of this old farmhouse before Karen and her husband got hold of the property, you would never guess what a wreck it had been, since it is now a beautiful, modern, spotless B&B on a quiet street within easy walking distance of downtown Hamilton. Karen has done an amazing job with this property, and she serves as a great hostess. I had the pleasure of staying here in early August when our nearby family home was too crowded during our reunion. What a great find. Karen was very accommodating and offered just about every possible option for breakfast, including homemade muffins. The public areas are tastefully decorated and comfortable, and my large room had all the amenities I could want, including wifi. I will plan to stay here again whenever I return to Hamilton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stumbled upon Karen Holcomb's B+B and the village of Hamilton while searching on-line for a place to stay on our way to the Adirondack. We could not be happier. Karen, the inn owner, is a generous and gracious host. The renovated farmhouse B+B is bright, airy, spotlessly clean, and spacious. Our rooms were tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. Homemade muffins and cookies are always available in the dining room. Tasty breakfast with fresh eggs from the farm next door, among other delicious choices. Best of all it is a short walk to town. We really love staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carebearnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Recently, I had the pleasure of staying at this B&B in Hamilton, NY. The converted farmhouse from long ago stands beautifully at the end of a quiet side street, allowing for quiet evenings on the front porch or in the backyard setting. While there, seated at the end of the diningroom table, I watched a doe (deer) quietly making her way down to the backyard from the rolling hillside. What an unexpected treat! Dick and Karen are wonderful hosts who make your stay so welcoming. As an alumnus of Colgate University, it is a relief to have such a delightful place to relax while visiting Hamilton and the campus. The house is immaculate, with special care given to each of the individual rooms/baths. The common areas of the house are immaculate as well. No one treating themselves to a stay here will be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, secure, and immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyTaranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family of 3 stayed at the Holcomb B&B in July 2012. It is an old farm house that is totally renovated. Rooms (and common areas) are spotless. Rooms are large. Karen is very nice, and takes very good care of you. Breakfast is great (couldn't ask for more). Mattresses/bedding are great. Private baths (again spotless). Located a block (or two) across the street from the Colgate campus. Quiet street. A great place to stay and a great price. We felt very comfortable, and welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandJanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. I enjoyed watching the flat screen TV (although not much time for that!) and free wifi is a plus these days. The breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit, steel cut oatmeal, sweets and great coffee. Karen is a gem who can't do enough for her guests. She knows everyone at Colgate and has great tips for navigating crowds at family weekend. Book early to ensure availability!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFlyer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
21.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
19.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
20.3 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lincklaen House
Lincklaen House
#4 of 7 in Cazenovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Checkered Moose Inn
The Checkered Moose Inn
#2 of 2 in Sherburne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holcomb's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holcomb's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holcomb's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Mill Street, Hamilton, NY 13346
Location: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing