We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb! What a treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patricia's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Patricia's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Superb! What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

While visiting Colgate this past week, my daughter and I stayed one night at Patricia's --- and it not only met but exceeded our expectations. First, Patricia is a warm and welcoming host and made us feel right at home. Second, the B&B is immaculate, with soft soothing music playing throughout the first floor -- it was quite serene. Third, our room was the Suite Kristen - it boasted a huge king bed, lovely bathroom, bottled water, a remote control for the fan, and the pillows were wonderful! Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscotti are available 24/7 - bliss! Perhaps the highlight, however, was the ample and delicious breakfast which Patricia made for us. Patricia radiates professionalism and warmth -- she knows how to look after her guests. The house is a gem, and it is conveniently located less than a block from one of the main roads in this charming town. Should we have reason to visit Hamilton again, we know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldexplorer0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
24
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you happen to come through Hamilton, NY this is the one and only place to stay!
The images on the website can hardly reflect the beauty of this place. It is stylish, clean, has most comfortable beds you ever slept in and you get a superb breakfast prepared by Patricia herself!
I can wholeheartedly recommend this place.
Caspar Stracke, University Professor, Helsinki and Brooklyn, NY

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

While visiting colleges with my daughter I stayed at many a place and let me just that Patricia’s cannot be topped. We lucked out staying at such a perfect, convenient location- everything was right around the corner- and were spoiled by such a wonderful hostess. We stayed in the Raymond suite, to say the room was beautiful would be an understatement. It was immaculate and roomy with a separate sitting room for my daughter that had its own tv, fireplace, and pull out couch. I loved that the floors in the bathroom were heated and the bed was so large and comfortable I wanted to take it home with me. Patricia was always a delight and extremely helpful when we needed restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was so delicious that she could open a diner! Eggs, Fruit, Cereal, Scones- there were so many choices! If my daughter chooses to attend Colgate University, I know where I will be staying when I come to visit because Patricia’s just cannot be topped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My daughter is a student at Colgate University so I have had the pleasure of staying at Patricia's many times and most recently last week. Patricia is the consummate hostess, always available but not intrusive and beyond nice. Her Victorian home is beautiful, very tastefully appointed and immaculate! There are two sitting areas on the first floor as well as a spacious dining room where her outstanding breakfasts are served. I have enjoyed many mornings at the table, chatting away with the other guests while enjoying her delicious food. The croissants are superb! The guest suites are all different and all lovely. As the whole house has been renovated, the bathrooms are totally modern with every amenity, including heated floors. The beds are cushy and comfy, perfect for a great night's sleep. And the location just can't be beat, you can walk everywhere! I have stayed at many B and B's all over the country and Patricia's is simply the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieg489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here recently for a Colgate admission event. The location is superior, you can walk everywhere (even to Colgate if the weather cooperates). Patricia is a superb hostess, the rooms are tasteful and elegant and she is always available and gracious. We stayed in the Raymond Suite as our son was with us. It was perfect for the 3 of us. The breakfast was out of this world, and she will accomodate your schedule even if it means different breakfast seatings for everyone. Thank you Patricia for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Choose the Raymond Suite if you need more than one bed, although I believe there are rollaways avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Patricia's is by far the best option for a stay in Hamilton. As a parent of a current Colgate student, I have stayed at all the other options plus some rooms in private homes. This is by far the most comfortable of all and the best location. Pat did a fabulous job renovating a lovely old home with modern conveniences and furnishings yet the ambiance of a stately old home. Our room was comfortable and love the heated floors in the bathroom. It is great to have sitting rooms downstairs to pass the time while our student was busy with other commitments - and the ready supply of coffee, tea, and hot chocolate was greatly appreciated.

Pat is a delightful hostess. We enjoyed our conversations with her during our delicious breakfasts. She is also helpful in suggesting local activities, places to visit, and restaurants in the general area.

Patricia's is our first choice for staying in Hamilton (our second is the Colgate Inn - no personal touches, no breakfast included, not as comfortable for hanging out with a book other than in your room, but a beautiful old hotel and a good place to eat any meals).

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely done. The rear two rooms upstairs are the largest and quietest. Front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explorersjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friend and i spent the week "college shopping" with our daughters
and finished our trip with a visit to Patricia's while visiting Colgate.
The beautifully restored home was welcoming and warm. Every attention to detail was done with sophistication and a focus on period details. The hardware was gorgeous.
Patricia was warm and accomodating..(We needed a "to go" cup for our wine and voila, it appeared with a smile.
The location was terrific (walking distance to town).
My only recommendation would be to request a room on the upper level, as I did hear some frat boys walking near our window located at the front of the house.
The breakfast was yummy and plentiful....

Room Tip: Upper level...some have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmw10583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
20.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
20.1 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
24.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
20.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia's Guest House

Property: Patricia's Guest House
Address: 21 Maple Ave, Hamilton, NY 13346-1241
Location: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Patricia's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just around the corner from shops and restaurants and two blocks from Colgate University, this recently renovated Queen Anne Victorian has five spacious suites. Each room has its own bathroom with radiant heating floors and hair dryers, individually controlled heat/ac, remote controlled ceiling fans, flat screen cable TVs, and free high speed Internet. Larger rooms also boast fireplaces and rain forest showers. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Patricia's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing