We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good Not Bad Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hamburg
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Good Not Bad Motel”
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I recently stayed at this Inn with my family. It was a leisure trip to Niagara.

Reservation:
I wanted to book three rooms. The hotel website allows reserving one room at a time. So it might happen that one books two rooms successfully and then their are no rooms available. Do keep this in mind. But all in all it was quick. Although the motel is AAA approved, I didn't get any discount (Thanks to the scarcity of available rooms in and around Niagara Falls).

Reaching there:
The inn is located on Camp road at Exit#57 (I-90). The location is excellent. Very convenient to travel to the Niagara Falls area as well as starting journey back home. The landscaped garden gives this inn a different look altogether.

Check-in:
It was a busy weekend so there was a small queue waiting patiently for checking into their rooms. The person at the front desk was responding some telephonic queries even though the queue kept on getting longer. There was a single person at the desk to handle everything.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean. Everything worked. Bathroom could be better though. The spout, shower, toilet etc. is cheaply built. 2 towels for 4 adults ???

All in all a good inn for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — Location, Ample Parking space, Landscaped surrounding area
  • Disliked — Front desk staff, cheap built, noisy A/c
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rocknrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    93
    50
    23
    17
See reviews for
95
62
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend when we were in Buffalo for a Bill's game. It was a great spot. Clean rooms, ample parking, and very helpful staff. There was a new restaurant beside the hotel which was great. It was easy to get to shopping and the Stadium. We looked around for rooms near the stadium and this was a terrific price and an overall great stay. The only thing that was missing for me was a hair dryer in the room.. Oh well, I made due. Will stay here again when I return for another Bill's game.

  • Liked — Size and location
  • Disliked — no hair dryer in the room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KimGroomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

As a frequent patron of Red Roof Inn, I reserved this location by using the Redicard Preferred Member number. Expecting the same service I have experienced in 22 other locations across the country, this ended up being a huge disappointment. A list will best compile the things you should be aware of at this location:
1. The employee at the front desk was curt from the moment I walked in and it escalated when I asked to speak with a manager.
2. Don't look for the manager at this location to be familiar with Red Roof corporate policies regarding use of major credit cards. I hold my reservations with the same card and they have the number on file. Furthermore, I had used it within their system for the 4 previous nights as I traveled across the country and had none of these hoops to jump through.
3. OK none of this concerns you much.... Here is what you really need to know and are reading this to find out: No the room was not clean.
4. Layer by layer the sheets were stained and the mattress protector was clearly not stained following washing but simply stained and covered with sheets.
5. In the morning, we came to the rude awakening that this was not a non-smoking room as we had reserved and our luggage and clothes now smelled of smoke. I'm not sure how smell of smoke was covered up upon our arrival and then became evident the longer we were there but I wish I had been less distracted by the poor hospitality upon arrival and more attentive to smells and an ashtray provided on the desk.
6. Last of all, the room had a water leakage problem. The wall paper in the bathroom had old damage but after a overnight rain storm there was water dripping down the inner most wall of the room.
This is definitely not typical of Red Roof Inn as I have experienced it. Of course, some locations in any chain are better than others but this experience was really bad. Go on down the road there are several other Red Roof locations in the area.

  • Liked — RIght off the highway
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness and hospitality upon check-in
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdogcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2007

This was the first visit to the Hamburg/Orchard Park area. While searching for accomodations, many of the neighboring inns had no vacancy for the three nights we needed. I booked the Red Roof Inn because it was available. The website said "newly renovated" so we thought we'd give it a try.
The property looked OK. Our room had an odor. The bathroom had a sour smell from the shower curtain(think dirty dishcloth). No mold noticeable in the bathtub. Shower had good pressure. The bed and pillows were OK. There was no hair dryer in the room(unlike most of the inns we have stayed in.) The cost of the room seemed very high --$109 per weekend night and $79 for the weekday considering the lack of amenities. We will not be staying again.

  • Liked — It had an availability
  • Disliked — The smell of the room.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachertraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumee,ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

i like the price of this red roof inn, cheap, looked clean by the pictures on the net, check in was really fast, i requested a non smoking room, when i opened the door it smelled like 100 people had just got done smoking in the room,YUK!!!! i went to store to buy air freshner that didnt even help. exterior needed some major help, i was afraid the overhang of the building was going to fall off in the middle of the night, it was quiet i must admit, staff was nice, my only major problems were the smell of smoke and the exterior of the building needed a major renovation, this was my first red roof stay and my last. the comfort inn is right behind the red roof, you get an indoor pool and a breakfast for 20 more a night.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the exterior
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank henry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Suburbs
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights recently while visiting family in the area, and at the same time as the Erie County Fair.

The room was recently renovated and very clean. I closely inspected the bathroom and found not a spec of mildew. The bathroom has a toilet and shower, with the sink and mirror in the room. The new Red Roof decor is a little '70's cheesy (i.e. bright primary colors), but it was clean and comfortable, so I'm not complaining. We paid an extra $5 from the standard room rate to get a refrigerator and microwave.

We could hear people outside our first floor room, but they quieted down at a reasonable hour. Coffee is only available from the office, but it is free and decent. Only disappointment was that internet access is not included (you can pay to sign up for T-Mobile wireless.)

Having stayed at the old and musty Holiday Inn, the Red Roof Inn is a definate improvement. If you are looking for basic accomodations, this is probably the best deal in the Hamburg/Orchard Park area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — lack of free internet/limited cable channels.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2006

We recently had to make a trip to Hamburg, just an overnighter. I went on trip advisor to find the best hotel in the area, according to trip advisor this one was the cleanest. Well, we checked in, I was a little weary as it looked seedy to start with, got to our room, looked at one of the beds that was turned down, it was covered with hair!!! Lifted the pillow, hair there to!!!! YUK!!!! Went to the other bed, opened it up, you could tell right away it was dirty also, we went to the office, told them, they put us in another roon (different maid) The bed was full of hair once again, my husband went and got the lady at the office to have her actually look at it, she wasnt pleased (at her maids) she ripped the bed apart and said we will put you in a CLEAN room, I said this place is discusting and we arent staying here at all!!!!! all the rooms should be clean rooms!!!!! We went right across the parking lot to Comfort Inn and Suites, what a great clean place!!! The room was so much bigger, microwave, little fridge, couch, vaulted cealings, large bathroom, newspaper at our door in the morning, great free breakfast!!!!!! FOR 7.00 more!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvtovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Hamburg
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Buffalo South I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn of Lackawanna
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Buffalo South/I-90
9.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Cheektowaga
Comfort Inn Cheektowaga
#10 of 22 in Cheektowaga
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg

Property: Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg
Address: 5370 Camp Rd, Hamburg, NY 14075
Location: United States > New York > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Hamburg
Red Roof Inn Hamburg
Hamburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing