We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hamburg)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
106
100
51
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
100
51
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanfront deskplace to staynys thruwayking roomgreat customer servicemotelbuffalopetsroofsashhousekeepingsetsfallsstadiumsnowbrand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 298 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had a great visit at the Red Roof Inn, thought it might be noisey July 4th weekend. Once that door was shut it was so quiet. I like the remodeling, had the Superior King Room, Very Nice!! Only draw back--wireless signal was very weak. My room was in the middle of the hotel. Had this experience before, they need to amp up the signal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Mary L:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property. We certainly appreciate your comments regarding the overall condition and cleanliness of our recently renovated Superior King rooms, which many of our guest's upgrade to based on in-room features that sets these rooms apart from the standard room types and generates loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. In regards to your constructive comments relative to our WIFI service, please know that we continue to work with our vendor to address shortcomings. Again, thanks very much for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We felt well-received by the friendly and solicitous desk clerk, who suggested a room adjacent to a covered area where we could keep our motorcycle out of the rain. OK for the bike, and we did manage to get a good night's rest, but our ground-floor room (which appeared to be built on a slab) was damp and musty smelling after days and days of rain and warm humid weather. The room did seem to be updated, but the dankness was unpleasant. We also were surprised to find a chain hotel without a hair-dryer, and we thought that providing only one of those small, folded up cellophane packs of a few facial tissues ( the kind of thing you buy to throw into a purse) rather than a standard sized box or recessed supply was downright cheap as well as inconvenient to travellers. Finally, we think that the motel could at least provide a small continental type breakfast for their guests, perhaps something to be picked up at reception with the coffee and hot watwr always available there, to bring back to their rooms if space is not available for a formal breakfast room. It was inconvenient to have to hunt up breakfast when we were trying to get on the road early, and it would not have taken much effort or expense just to set out a few packaged muffins or donuts for the guests who wanted to eat a little something before departing.

The price was modest, $79 plus tax, for a room with two double beds, but then the accommodations were also modest. While we liked the staff, we found our overall experience to be adequate but not enjoyable. This was our first stay in a Red Roof motel, and we won't be encouraged by this one to look for othersalong our way.

i should add that the nice desk clerk recommended a grill within walking distance, where we enjoyed a very dinner, so thanks to her for that.

Room Tip: Since we found ground level dank in rainy weather, the second floor might be a better bet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolDM1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear CarolDM1900:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to provide such a detailed review our property. We certainly appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service and proximity to area attractions, which we believe are critical and distinguishing features that sets our property apart from the competition and generates loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. In regards to your constructive comments, please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings listed on your review. While we cannot change the construction of the building, there are cleaning processes we can and have put into place to address odor concerns that guests may encounter. In regards to in-room amenities, please note that all guest comments and reviews are copied to our Corporate Offices for review, particularly those comments that suggest improvements to our in-room and on-site amenities. Please note for future consideration that our Superior King rooms include such amenities as in-room coffee, hairdryer, iron and full-sized ironing board, microwave / refrigerator unit and full-sized work desk. Rest assured, our goal is to continuously improve and meet our guest's expectations.

Again, thanks very much for the review and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was a little unsure about this hotel after reading some of the reviews however was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel was a great choice. It is on the outskirts of buffalo which was a plus for us as we were looking for close but not in buffalo location. It has the new next gen rooms which means they are remodeled and have almost all brand new everything (new flooring, new paint, new bedding, flat screen tvs, etc.) the bathroom was on the small side and isn't anything fancy but we were looking for literally a 2 a.m. sleeping stop for our trip to ND. We will definitely stay here again every time we drive out this way! some things you won't find here: a pool, it doesn't have one, and breakfast is not included, for $60-$70 a night still a great deal. There's a McDonald's close by to go to for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heater5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear heater5000:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property, as we are always looking to hear guest feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding the overall condition and cleanliness of our newly renovated guestrooms and our strong price / value ratio, which we believe are critical and distinguishing features that sets our property apart from the competition and generates loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. As you mentioned, our location is convenient to Buffalo and area restaurants and attractions, while being far enough away to avoid the city traffic. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to the rest of the Team! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel doesn't pretend to be more than it is: simple, clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. Front desk staff are friendly and glad to give you directions to nearby restaurants.

Based on other TripAdvisor reviews, we asked for and got a room facing away from the highway. It was very quiet and that made for a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side (away from I-90) are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear FromTOR:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property, as we are always looking to hear guest feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding the overall condition and cleanliness of our newly renovated guestrooms and our strong price / value ratio, which we believe are critical and distinguishing features that sets our property apart from the competition and generates loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to our Front Desk staff members, as well as the rest of the Team! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here last week in room 105. We originally were in room 107, but upon checking in we discovered the air conditioner wasn't working correctly so they moved us next door. We had a king bed superior room with a fridge and microwave. The fridge was nice, it made keeping beverages in the room easy. Didn't use microwave.

The positives: the bed is very comfortable, you can tell it's a newer bed. Very firm and easy to sleep on. The location is very good in Hamburg. The price is decent for a hotel room. Our room did have a hair dryer (but I brought my own based on others reviews that there was none) and they gave a travel size Pantene brand shampoo (but I brought my own toiletries based on others reviews about the foil packet shampoos). The employees are pleasant. This place is non-smoking and surprisingly for an old hotel, does not have much cigarette stink residue in the rooms. I could hardly detect at all the room once had smokers in it (I'm pregnant, my nose is like a dog's right now). Housekeeping is good.

The negatives: Our wifi was down for 48 hours straight. When I complained to the front desk, I was offered to move rooms again. We were already settled in to our room over a day at this point, I did not feel like re-packing all my belongings to move rooms to the other end of the motel on the chance that the wifi was working over there. Our bathroom had ants in it, not terribly impressive. If you get a room on the non-highway side you might have less highway noise, but then you have to listen to trucks parking outside of your room all night. The walls are thin and when people have conversations outside of your room, you can hear every word. The heater/air conditioner is old and tricky. You can't run the air conditioner non-stop, it needs rests. The bed spread is newer but our bedspread already had a round, oil type stain on the top of it. Not really the hotel's fault, but it would be great if they retired bedding that has stains on it.

For the price, this place isn't bad. They ARE trying, they have made a lot of upgrades and hopefully will continue to do so. I'm looking forward to the manager responding to this and only addressing my positive feedback comments and ignoring all my negative ones, like they do for all their review comments.

Room Tip: the superior king room did have a hair dryer and an ironing board with iron. They gave Pantene brand shampoo out.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittiesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear kittiesnest:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to provide such a detailed review our property. We certainly appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service, proximity to area attractions and overall condition and cleanliness of our newly renovated guestrooms, which we believe are critical and distinguishing features that sets our property apart from the competition and generates loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. In regards to your constructive comments, please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings listed on your review, as most of them are certainly within the control of the on-site staff and management. We have since replaced the air-conditioning unit in room 107, contacted our pest elimination vendor for treatment of ants, contacted our WIFI vendor and replaced a failed router within our system and reviewed expectations relative to condition of bedding with our Housekeeping staff to ensure our guests are satisfied. Rest assured, the entire Team takes guest satisfaction very seriously and we follow up on all feedback that is provided, as our goal is to continuously improve and meet our guest's expectations.

Again, thanks very much for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews