We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed was comfy, the rest was lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose this hotel due to having the highest reviews on tripadvisor in the area and it's convenient location for our stay. It was one of the highest priced hotels in the area, but we thought the good reputation was worth paying a little more for. It had some nice pluses, but several issues.

Our room was large and comfortable. The bed was very nice and pillows were labeled "firm" or "soft", which was a nice touch. The window covering blocked out light completely and the blankets and sheets were soft. We also had a comfortable couch in our room and a large television that was easy to use. The bathroom was large, though the shower plug wouldn't close correctly to allow me to take a bath. The hotel was located on a small side street, but it was just off the thruway. That made it convenient for traveling, however not the quietest.

On the down side, there were several problems. We picked this hotel because of the indoor pool, as we would have some down time during our stay and hoped to relax in the pool. The several days we stayed the pool was closed the entire time due to "high chemicals." Having a pool at home, I know that this is an easily remedied problem which should not take several days to fix. So either there was another problem the front desk didn't want to tell us, or they simply didn't bother to address the problem (even though we inquired about the pool each day).

As other travelers noted, our room was quite loud. We could clearly hear lots of noise from the room above us, sounding like lots of children jumping and running. This was especially troublesome early in the morning and late at night.

Our final issue came from the staff themselves. The hotel has free wi-fi but you need a password from the front desk. Apparently the password is only good for a certain number of days and when we checked in, we received our password. After one day, our internet no longer worked. When we inquired at the front desk, she stated we should have checked how many days the password was good for when we received it, her tone suggesting it was our fault. When we showed her our receipt, she finally admitted it was the mistake of the front desk and gave us a new password.

When we were checking out we were asked how our stay was and when we replied we had some issues, she simply shrugged and wished us a good day. All in all, the room was comfortable but don't expect much more than that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Lee C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding our beds.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, the swimming pool and the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express location near the Thruway provides quick access to Hamburg, Lake Erie, and surrounding communities. It's on a quiet side street next to a pretty wooded area. We enjoyed the hospitality and would return if we make this trip again.

Room Tip: We overlooked the front entrance and faced the pretty wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at hotel for my mothers funeral. Hotel is nice but the noise from other rooms is bad. The people who stayed above us sounded like they were jumping on he floors and this went on the entire stay. We contacted the front desk but it did not help. Have always been a big holiday inn family but the last several stays at holiday inns have been horrible. Marriott will become our new place for staying.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ohio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Ohio T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We value your comments as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the noise may have caused during your stay. I definitely understand the importance of getting a good nights sleep. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here recently for two nights - hotel seems well run and the staff is accommodating. Clean, well-maintained rooms, beds are comfortable, nice breakfast, coffee anytime in the breakfast area (granted, that is standard now in many hotels...but still)...I'd highly recommend. We will be staying there again for all future visits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMomfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here one night to attend a wedding in the area. The staff was so welcoming and we were given a small snack bag upon check in. They also had fresh fruit in the lobby as well as wonderful cookies. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The room was extremely quiet and they have a breakfast buffet included with a nice variety of foods certain to please all guests. The pancake machine was awesome! Wish I could have one in my kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimivfl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed for one night in late April while in the area for a family event. The front desk employees were very nice and check-in was quick. I was even acknowledged for being a club member with the hotel group and received a snack bag. The hotel was modern, clean and a newer property. My king bed room was large with a big LED TV and refrigerator. The bathroom was a good size - no complaints at all. The free breakfast had many choices and the area was kept very clean & refilled. When in the area again to visit family, I know I have a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenhappy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to my daughter's graduation at SUNY. I was so happy to see this hotel, as the near by hotels look worn and horrible; The Holiday Inn was tucked behind a Comfort Inn, and Red Roof. The exterior was well taken care off, they were touching up the exterior paint while we were there. The interior was modern, very clean, well lit. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very nice. The furnishings were modern, and in new condition. We were quite happy with the comfort of the beds and duvet. In the morning there was a very good free breakfast. The breakfast area was comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Buffalo-Hamburg
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Hamburg
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Buffalo South I-90
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Hamburg
119 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Buffalo South/I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg

Address: 3565 Commerce Pl, Hamburg, NY 14075-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $118 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 84 quest rooms and suites, and is an interior corridor hotel conveniently located off I-90 at exit 57 in Hamburg, NY. This Hamburg, New York hotel is the ideal location for business and leisure travelers alike. This Hamburg hotel is situated just a short drive from Buffalo/Niagara tourist attractions, shopping malls, sporting venues, colleges and universities. Attractions include: America's Fair, Fairgrounds Gaming & Raceway, The Agri-Center, Ralph Wilson Stadium - Home to the Buffalo Bills, Downtown Buffalo / Canada, HSBC Arena - Home to the Buffalo Sabres and Buffalo Theatre/Nightlife District just to name a few.If you are planning a business or social function, we offer one meeting room accommodating up to 30 people. Let our professional sales staff plan and execute your function right down to the last detail.Additional hotel amenities include: Express Start breakfast bar, business center, high-speed Internet access, indoor heated pool, fitness room, dry-cleaning services and free parking. We look forward to your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites where it is always our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Holiday Inn Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing