We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Great Lake View”
Review of Hoak's Restaurant

Hoak's Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 117 Restaurants in Hamburg
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Fish Great Lake View”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This place has a wonderful view of the Lake Erie. The restaurant is small and and no frills, but the fish selection and variety is outstanding for such a small place. The fish was outstanding for everyone in our party and the view of the sunset was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    55
    20
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best fish fry”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are looking for seafood in the Southtowns area, look no further. The fish fry is the BEST! And the scallops are delicious. This is a no frills restaurant with great "old" Buffalo ambience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BuffaloTravluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific service and great food even better value.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Wow. You truly get your money's worth when you come to Hoaks! The fish fries are huge, the broiled shrimp, scallops, fish, buff styles and everything you get nearly hangs off the plate or sandwiches are piled high!

This Saturday we came in for our monthly dinner with friends and wanted to sit on the patio. When we pulled in, we saw some of the kitchen and one of the waitresses outside smoking. We ended up in her section outside, and we did not even sit down in our chairs and Joanna (the waitress) was asking "what can I get cha to drink?" It was a short time later when the rest of our party came in that we decided to move indoors because it was too hot to eat outside. The warm gentle breeze is usually awesome, but there was no breeze tonight.

Our experience in the restaurant, we sat in their back room which has one of the best views of the sunsets, our waiter was very attentive, and recommended the Roast Beef of Prime rib. We were a party of 4 and we all got a prime rib dinner. It was perfectly seasoned, melts in your mouth mmmm good. Their stuffed mushroom caps as an appetizer Are also our favorite! We always start our gathering with at least 1 order of the mushrooms. They are the best! Our waiter was very pleased to present their dessert menu, he rattled off at least 9 different scrumptious homemade pies. They are always delicious, I wish they had a "sampler" portion to make the decision a little easier :)

We will be back soon. Great meal, prices are very reasonable and very polite staff. We have been coming to Hoaks since the 1970s and have never had a bad experience. In my opinion, Hoaks has one of the best views of the sunsets in buffalo. :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome sunset, great food, terrific service.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just another fantastic meal and all around great evening at Hoaks! We had a great view of the sunset from the back room this past Saturday night. The waiter was very attentive to all of our needs for our party, had great menu recommendations and the bartender really knows how to make the best margarita I have every tasted! Since we love to bring our out of town guests and family to Hoak’s, everyone leaves happy because to top off the great meal, you have, is the delicious stuffed mushroom caps and home made pies they have for dessert.

Our waiter recommended we get some true, Buffalo fare- roast beef on kimmelwick, Buffalo style chicken sandwich and any of their broiled or fried seafood. While the others in the party ordered the true Buffalo fare, I got the broiled shrimp and scallops. They were the best shrimp and scallops that I have ever tasted. They are not the small dinky scallops like you get at other restaurants. They are huge. HUGE portion. They melt in your mouth and are cooked to perfection. I have been to other restaurants and they are rubbery and small, sometimes paying $21 or more for half the portion Hoak’s gives you.

We have been coming to Hoak’s for many years now. Hoak's is a must when we have out of town guests. The portions are HUGE, and have very reasonable prices! I especially love coming in the summer months sitting in the backroom or on the patio to watch the breathtaking sunsets over Lake Erie. NO other restaurant on the lake Erie shore line in Hamburg has a better view of the sunset than Hoak’s. I also love when the very friendly hostess asks when you come in if you are “staying inside or sitting on our patio for dinner.”

We have NEVER had an issue with any staff member, not sure what the people in other reviews are talking about. ALL of their servers are well trained and give you the best service all the time. I love all of the old wood work throughout the whole restaurant. We will be back very soon, hopefully the same waiter will be working again, as he was one of the best waiters we have ever had. Cannot wait to come back again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent roast beef sandwiches”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hoak's has always been known for its roast beef sandwiches. However, they serve them on something called a kimmelweck roll. This is a roll just loaded with salt and seeds (caraway?) on the top. For my taste, I would prefer not consuming all that salt and I'm sure they can provide an alternate roll. I would return again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoak's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hoak's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing