We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Western New York classic”
Review of Hoak's Restaurant

Hoak's Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 117 Restaurants in Hamburg
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Western New York classic”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Since our family moved from the area, we take at least one trip back each year for nostalgia. Hoak's (along with the Water Valley Inn) is a consensus favorite for a classic Western New York experience. Friday night fish fry is an established Western New York tradition which is perfectly prepared at Hoak's and which is always available any night. The atmosphere is classic Buffalo restaurant/tavern, and the view out over the Lake to the city and the remnants of the Bethlehem Steel Lackawanna plant is a great plus.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    53
    19
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nostalgic favorite”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hoak's is an institution along the lake. Reasonably priced with the regional standards of fish fry and beek on weck.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestGal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars, pa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific Value”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Food is hearty and the staff is very friendly. Large portions, cheap prices. Menu is a little heavy but if you're hungry, this is a great spot. Not sure how they keep the prices so low.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tbamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Would not survive without the view”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have been here for lunch, dinner and drinks during the summer months. The lunch and sandwiches are good. Dinner is just ok. Another viewer said the fish was fresh. Well the few times I had fish there it was definitely frozen as opposed to the fresh fish at a couple other establishments nearby. I would stick with the roast beef or other sandwiches. The soups are very good. I know what the other viewer meant by the smell. There is a smell outside (treatment plant) and a smell as you walk inside and wait for your table as the Men's Room is right there as you walk in with the door opening and closing constantly. These smells can be a turn off. The staff is friendly and helpful and fast. Almost too fast. As far as the location and view. Never better and I'll keep going back during the summer months to enjoy that as it is too short in this area. I would recommend for sandwiches and drinks and the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank funsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“what's that smell?”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

whew! the wind was blowing the wrong way the last time I ate outside at Hoak's-a favorite fish fry spot on the shores of Lake Erie. It is located near the sewage treatment center and the smell was very offensive-the waitress said it was seaweed-but-as locals know, that ain't no seaweed!!!

The beer-battered or baked fishfry (yes, we moved around the corner from the breeze) was delicious as always! Served nice and hot with coleslaw and your choice of potato-salad, baked or fries, our plates were clean. Serve was attentive.

The environment could use some spucing up-it has been the same forever-and fresh paint goes far.
Still-the fish was delish...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoak's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hoak's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing