We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Service was awful”
Review of The Fairgrounds

The Fairgrounds
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Depew, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and Service was awful”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was served from under heat lamps and the server couldn't keep an drink order straight between two tables all night

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BOJOANDSASSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    30
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun, but what you'd expect at a county fair.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We happened across this fair on a road trip, so took some time to stop in. We certainly had fun - some interesting animals, other displays, rides, etc. but, basically what you'd expect at a county fair. If you like county fairs - this is as good as any and you'll have a great time. If not, this will not be any different for you.

One side note about one attraction - they had 'the world's smallest lady'. Admission was $1 per person. It seemed so odd and cheap, that we just tried it. After paying, we were directed to a spot just behind the person running the booth, where we were suddenly shocked to indeed see this really small lady (I think she said 29 inches), sitting in a cardboard box (she was on her cell phone at the time - strange but true). We were bit taken aback, but then she started showing us things about her life - like her children (ordinary sizes) and what she had done. I kind of liked her, but it was a bit odd, and I felt that the whole display and the price, were a bit demeaning to her.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 123ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fairgrounds need some attention”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Well as far as the Erie County Fair goes that is always a success. I also go to the fairgrounds for the Horse Races throughout the year and the area upstairs definitely needs some work and updating. It is very drab. It is mostly help yourself for food and drinks. By that I mean you don't get served. There are a few servers for drinks but they pretty much ignore you so you need to go up to the bar and get your own drinks. The food is the same. They have an area where you can order pizzas, wings, fingers, sandwiches, etc to order. It's not very good but fills the void if need be. I would rather get some pretzels out of the vending machine. The bathrooms are pretty awful. Unlike the bathrooms at the casino. It is just kinda pitiful. It was better when the casino was downstairs. There was a full scale restaurant upstairs at that time and slot machines downstairs to bide some time between races. Now there is not much to do as you really don't want to eat there if you don't have to and the drinks are a bit expensive. They have Happy Hour from 4-6 but the races start at 6:30. Not getting that. Bottom line they need some improvements....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank funsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“do it every year”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have to go the the Erie County Fair..every year somthing new..last year the 911 wall was there...well worth seeing..even though I cried..the deep fried oreo's were really good too...not to mention the rides and Miranda Lambert!

Helpful?
Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“HISTORIC PLACE!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It has CHANGED GREATLY over the years !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Much bigger and Better !!! THE FAIR is ALWAYS a great place to go in the SUMMERTIME in WNY!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fairgrounds also viewed

 

Been to The Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing