We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Haines Falls B&B and Inns
Rockaway Park NY
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

I just came back from taking my family to Hunter Mountain for a ski Weekend. We stayed at Brookside Bed and Breakfast which was conveniently minutes away from the Mountain.
Our accomodations were very clean,comfortable and very well priced.
The owners were super friendly and extremely helpful and had many suggestions for places to check out. Each morning we ate an amazing Breakfast which included homemade Jams and breads that kept us going for a good part of the day.
My family had an amazing long weekend and we will definitely stay here next time we go to Hunter Mountain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton,PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Having stayed at this B&B several times since 2001 we would recommend it to all ages, with or without families. Great location, plenty of outdoor activities nearby for all the seasons. Proprietors are very knowledgeable about the area and its history.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

The location of this B&B is great for exploring the area, close to hikes etc. A few miles from town where there are a few places to choose from for dinner. We stayed in an ensuite double and it was very spacious, and we just loved the decor of this place with lots of antique furniture, it looks as though it hasn't changed for a few years and that adds to the charm. Other B&Bs in the area have fancier rooms etc. so it depends what you are looking for - we wanted to find somewhere comfortable and relaxing. The building itself is as pretty as it looks in the photos. The hosts are very helpful and provide lovely breakfasts, maps of the area and plenty of advice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Brookside at the end of Oct 2009. The B&B is really centrally located for all the sights as well as for hiking in the area. The owners, Markus and Nuala, are really wonderfull;their hospitallity made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were a hot full breakfast with eggs and bacon one day and blinches the next, and were tasty, and the table setting added to the atmosphere.
The house was very clean, cozy(Markus lit the fireplace every afternoon for us, even though we came between seasons and had the house to ourselves), and comfortable. They were very helpful with their knowledge of the area and what sights to see and what not, as well their as recommendations for dinner were spot on.
All in all we had a very pleasant experience and would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSharD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at Brookside B & B, Haines Falls, during late July. A charming,period house, nestled in the Catskills mountains. The large en suite bedroom was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a decked area,just outside, perfect for enjoying the view and the visiting wildlife. The atmosphere is welcoming and relaxed. Hosts Markus and Nuala were eager to share their knowledge of the locale and it's history. The food is of the highest standard - european style strawberry pancakes and banana bread a great start to anyone's day.
Our stay was too short, so much to see and do and Brookside is the perfect starting point. Finish off the day with an ice cream at the Twilight Store or a beer on the porch what more could you ask for - can't wait to go back during the winter to see it covered in snow.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkboyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

This was our first trip to the US and we decided to spend all of our 8 days at Brookside. We just loved everything about the place. We had a lovely spacious room at the front of the house and it was always quiet. We shared a bathroom but that was never a problem and I think one of the other rooms has an en-suite. There is also a large living room and a dining room and we really felt at home.
Nuala and Markus made us so welcome. They were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was always a real treat. Everything was beautifully cooked, including lots of local produce and their own homemade jams and preserves. They even put on a late breakfast for us when we had a couple of late nights after the Mountain Jam festival at Hunter!
Brookside is a lovely traditional building, dating back to the late 19th century. It is on the road to North-South Lakes and couldn’t be more convenient for the local attractions. We had some great walks from the lakes to some amazing viewpoints over the Catskills and the Hudson Valley, and also made several visits to the Katerskill Falls which are close by. We also enjoyed trips to the local towns including Saugerties and Woodstock. We could just relax on the front porch or wander around the garden which we shared with Mousey the cat as well as the dog and chickens!
Overall we had the most fantastic week. For anyone visiting New York, I would recommend getting out into some beautiful, unspoilt countryside and staying at Brookside which was only about 2 ½ hours north of Newark airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines Falls
5.2 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#4 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 4 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mountain Brook
Hotel Mountain Brook
#2 of 5 in Tannersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brookside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 93 North Lake Road, Haines Falls, NY 12436
Location: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haines Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Catskill Mountains, Brookside is a restored 1890 Victorian house with 4 charming guest rooms. The Master suite has a private bath and sun deck. Full country breakfast, wrap around porch, spacious grounds. Wood burning stove in guest living room. Free WiFi. Open Year Round. Stay at Brookside and explore the natural beauty and cultural heritage of the Great Northern Catskill mountains. We have Ski and Stay packages available for Hunter Mountain. Call us to find out how you can save money while enjoying the slopes ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing