We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campground, and no bears!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North-South Lake Campground
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely campground, and no bears!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It was a nice little campground. The people who checked us in were very friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and a nice amount of space. The showers in the bathroom were great and lots of hot water. We were there on a weekend though, and there was quite the party on Friday night, so Saturday morning, there was vomit all over the bathrooms. It got cleaned up very quickly though. We didn't have bears on any of the nights we were there, though we did hear from the rangers that there were bears on our first night there in a different loop. The volleyball net stinks, so don't expect to play a real game.

The real attraction about this place - and the real reason I will come back again and again - is the hiking. There is an abundance of trails of varying levels of difficulty. And the views are just unbelievable. There are easy hikes up to the Catskill Mountain House, and if you're willing to try something a little more difficult, there are plenty of amazing ledges and vistas. I highly recommend making the hike to Kaaterskill Falls (from both the bottom and the top, which is two separate hikes), Eagle Ledge, and Newman's Ledge.

Room Tip: The wood we bought at the front was a really good value, definitely buy from here. The general stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sypremeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Only my 2nd time camping, so I don't have much to compare to, but I thought this campground was great. The bathrooms were clean - didn't use the showers, but I wouldn't have minded them - and the sink for washing dishes was good.

We only booked a little over a week in advance for Sept. with only 6 campsites left out of the 217! Yet, our site in Loop 7, #216, was nice, perhaps better than some others in that loop that were taken. I wouldn't have chosen it based on the map. However, it's not actually on the corner of the roads everyone drives as it appears on the map. It was mostly flat, right by the water spigot and close to the bathroom - but not too close in my opinion (#212 on the other hand was on top of the bathroom). Because of the bathroom (~50 feet diagonal from 216), there is no campsite to the one side of you, so that's one less campsite on top of you. The back of the bathroom is the side that faces 216's direction, so you can see a window with light (not bright though). I only noticed hearing the hand dryer twice when the campground was quiet. Also, the people in the loop were mostly respectful with regard to noise.

The park is very pretty - we went to the Catskill Mountain Overlook and had our lunch on the picnic table. We then did the hike to Artist's Rock and Sunset Walk - fun with a great payoff, specially overlooking the lake at Sunset! Also stopped at the top of Kaaterskill Falls, just over a mile from the entrance of the campground.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank walta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauvelt, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My son and I just got back from North-South Lake, and we had a really great time. Lots of fishing, hiking, and relaxing. The sites (we were in loop 3, site #68)are very shady, although some of them look as though they are set up as small parking lots. Too much stone. Many of them either have good views of the lake, or are within 10 feet of the lake. Good amount of privacy, many friendly campers. Yes, there are bears. Our neighbors had them in their site, but they left food out most nights. Obey the rules and you'll have no problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevealfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight in our camper. The sites are very shady and nice size; however, if you have an RV some of the sites are not too level. Since we arrived on a Sunday we did not make reservations but they are strongly recommended for weekends. It did take about an hour to actually get to our site since we had to change it (first one was not too level) and they have no cell service so you have to drive back and forth to tell them which one you want. The staff was friendly during the process. If you want firewood or to rent boats do it as you check in or you will have to drive back and forth to do so. We did a nice loop hike from Mary's Glen to ARtist's Rock which was about 3 miles; nice overlooks to the Hudson Valley and River. There are a few 'rock scrambles' to deal with but easy to do with NO mosquitoes, that's right no mosquitoes. Fishing wasn't too good, though. We did not encounter any bears at our site or while hiking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katebrymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our second time to North South Lake Campground - we love the area and this campground so much. We had a spectacular time - our campsite was great - brand new fire pits dated 2012 - this campground has such a homey feel. We did a 5 mile hike and love stopping by the general store down the road for ice cream - Joe and Trudy are the best! On our last day we spent an awesome day laying out by the lake. Truely spectacular views. Our only problem with this campsite is the standard of cleanliness for the bathrooms and showers. We recently stayed at Rip Van Winkle and their maitenance staff was amazing. They cleaned the facilities literally ever 3 hours and the bathrooms were spotless! At north south lake they clean the bathrooms and showers once a day at around 4pm which is not up to par when you have around 200 campsites - imagine how many people! That is tooooo many people without being cleaned at least twice daily. On saturday morning the womens room floor was covered in toilet paper, tampons were overflowing out of the bins in the stalls and there was no new toilet paper to use in any of the stalls by our campsite. The showers need to be scrubbed better too - nothing worse then showering and seeing other peoples hair on the walls. I had to ask the registration booth twice to have someone get in there to clean. This campground really needs to work on this - hygene is so important when camping and this was truely disgusting. If the campground changed their policies and cleaned these areas at least twice a day i would give this place a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyssablaza516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had another great stay in loop 4. We were at site 100- all woods behind us with those wonderful big rocks for the kids to climb on. Sites are spacious with a nice wooded buffer in between. Saturday night was pretty noisy after quiet hours, but with family noises not drunk party-ers. It was all quiet by 11:30 and the loop pretty much emptied out by Sunday. Loops by the lake seemed to stay pretty full. We took some nice hikes - artists rock and sunset rock are moderate hikes with great views, pretty rocky but doable for younger kids. Ashley falls was ver nice too. The hike to the top of kaaterskill falls is short and easy but there is no longer a trail to the bottom - too dangerous. You have to drive back out of the campground to 23a and park, then walk along the road to get to the trail. The bottom can get a bit congested but it's still beautiful. Wildlife a-plenty- deer, beaver, chipmunks, and yes, a bear. Husband saw one as we climbed up the hill behind our campsite and then that same day one (may be the same one ) came through the campground and tore apart a cooler left unattended on a campsite (even though you sign a form when you register that says you WILL NOT leave any food or anything that came in contact with food on your site!). It didn't pay the slightest bit of attention to anyone and ran off when the ranger came by and we didn't see it again (thank goodness!). We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I absolutely loved these campsites. Every one was private (that we drove by) and surrounded by woods. Our site was 31 and only had neighbors on one side and woods along the back and side, close to the restrooms and water. The hiking trails had amazing views. We brought our dog along (his first camping trip) and it was very dog friendly except for the area near the lake. We couldn't get near the water with a dog which was very disappointing. We made up for it by driving to another lake a few miles away that had a lot less people and was very peaceful and dog friendly. After all the reviews about bears, i admit I was nervous but no sightings for the entire four days.

I would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julesr006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines Falls
4.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 6 in Hunter
124 reviews
10.8 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Twilight Lodge
The Twilight Lodge
#2 of 2 in Haines Falls
20 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
434 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sun View
The Sun View
#2 of 2 in Tannersville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North-South Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North-South Lake Campground

Property: North-South Lake Campground
Address: County Route 18, Haines Falls, NY 12436
Location: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Haines Falls
Number of rooms: 219
Also Known As:
North-South Lake Campground Hotel Haines Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing