We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, essentially a summer camp for rent!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trout House Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
NY
1 review
“Great Stay, essentially a summer camp for rent!”
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Great stay, we paid by credit card!

Essentially a summer camp for rent, this is a great value weekend.
In the winter, its hard to find a good summer place!!

The fire places, the lake and Tongue Mountian make for one cozy weekend in Lake George!!!.

Cabins with FP and Tubs for $269 is a value anywhere!!

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank im1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    18
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2006

This is a pretty area except for the busy road that runs right in front of it. We were told by the owner that we would receive a 10% discount if we paid our bill by check. When we arrived they would NOT honor that! They insisted it had to be cash. So, we had to drive 10 miles down the road & back to get to the nearest ATM. Why they wouldn't honor a check (after initially telling us they would) is beyond me.
Needless to say, we will not be returning. New Hampshire & Maine are far better anyway!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TroutHouse, Manager at Trout House Village Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Our policy as described on all our information is "CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR BALANCE DUE". We do accept American Express, Mastercard, Visa, Discover, Traveler's Checks and Cash for the balance. 15 Years ago, we accepted personal check from all our guests. Unfortunately, we learned the hard way in 1996 when a check for "BALANCE DUE" of $2000 BOUNCED!!! We hired a lawyer, spoke to the D.A. and after much time, frustration and legal fees - our efforts were in vain! Thus, the policy is: we gladly accept personal checks for deposit (when time allows for a check to clear); but never for balance due.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Wonderful, well maintained place. We stayed in the Seneca Retreat for a lond weekend enough room for 2 families. It had everything thing you needed. washer dryer, every kitchen amentity. just a overall great place

  • Liked — They had every kitch item you could ever need.. just like geing home
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ccmmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We only got the chance at this beautiful spot for one night. We stayed in the Seneca retreat which was this adorable yet large log cabin with a fireplace, a deck, outside grill, a large king bedroom with a huge jacuzzi (for 4), and a couple of bedrooms upstairs also with a jacuzzi (for 2). I really wish we could have stayed longer and would love to spend another trip visiting. Its location is central, faces a lake (but not lakefront) and just overall one of the best places I've ever stayed (and I've travelled the world).

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — No internet access.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be ready to relax and enjoy. Bring food as there is a full kitchen for your use!
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctordeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2005

We stayed at this resort for a long weekend in August. The resort is overall well maintained and has many amenities for the whole family. There was plenty for our teens to do such as basketball and ping pong when we were not off boating. They have a small clean beach across the street and also a grassy picnic area and a dock with Adirondack chairs for viewing the lake. They can rent you dock space if needed for a boat. There are a variety of accomodations to stay in here from large spacious log homes to their 4 roomed motel. We stayed in the motel, since it was a last minute reservation. These are basic "bare bone" accomodations with no frills. Perfect for the traveler who will spend most of their time in the water. The rooms were clean and we did have TV with cable. Each room could sleep three and a fan was provided (No AC). If you want something a little better, I would opt for the next step up. One of our windows was broken and had to be held up with a board, one window blind did not work well and the door into the room had slats which you could not close fully. I would hope in the future that management could at least upgrade these rooms somewhat for privacy for their customers. The log cabins are magnificent and we could tell the firm's money went into these beautiful "homes." Overall, the place is very nice and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luv2run64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2004

I had the privilage of staying at this beautiful resort on Lake George. The log cabins are beautiful and the views breathtaking. So nice to sit by your own fireplace and watch the lake and mountains outside. Such a nice quiet little town, it makes for such a relaxing stay. The staff and owners are great, very friendly and accommodating. The place is immaculately clean and the cabins are so completely furninshed. I would definitely recommend staying as a couple or even getting away for a family vacation.

Helpful?
9 Thank PJB413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hague
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
16.6 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
208 reviews
24.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,559 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#4 of 6 in Ticonderoga
28 reviews
8.2 mi away
Super 8 Ticonderoga
Super 8 Ticonderoga
#2 of 6 in Ticonderoga
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout House Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout House Village Resort

Property: Trout House Village Resort
Address: 9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836
Location: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout House is located on the peaceful shores of northern Lake George, and has been a popular summer destination for generations of families. The sleepy village of Hague is surrounded by the lake's majestic Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trout House Village Hotel Hague
Trout Hotel Village
Trout Resort Village
Trout House Village Resort Hague, NY - Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing