We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trout House Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Sagamore Resort(Bolton Landing)(Great Value!)
$229
$206
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Contessa Resort(Bolton Landing)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
107
20
0
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
20
0
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake georgefull kitchenping pongfamily vacationliving roommodern appliancesgas stovewood fireplacemurphy bedtrout lakeadirondack chairspaul revereroute northlong weekendfishing dockthe eagle's nestfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 133 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a separate cabin owned by the Trout House owners (I think called the Eagles Nest). It was incredible! My SO and I went up to Lake George to celebrate our anniversary. He was in charge of everything. When we pulled up to this beauty, I asked what floor we were on... He said we had the entire thing! I didn't believe him at first, but sure enough we did for 3 nights!
Turns out when he called to book at the trout house, they were only booking for the whole week, while we could only do 3 nights, so the owner recommended get his gem, and gave us a little bit off because there was only two of us.
It was amazing! There are balconies on every floor, a hot tub, grill, retro kitchen, flat screen TVs, multiple bedrooms, a BEAUTIFUL master and huge bathtub.... And everything was made from pines and wood from the local forest. Seriously amazing.
It's about a ten min drive from the center of Hague, but we actually really liked the seclusion that offered. It's very private, down a short dirt road. We were still able to use all the facilities at the Trout House and took the kayaks out and went swimming a lot.

Overall and incredible experience. Great costumer service, and the owner was wonderful and personable. Hague is easily my favorite town in Lake George and we will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allielibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Trout House at least 5 or 6 times to fish in the spring and once to ice fish in the winter. This is one place where the internet pictures don't do it justice! Every cottage we've stayed in (4 different ones) has been immaculate. The woodwork is beautiful, the beds great and the views beautiful. Not to mention great fishing! Very pleasant folks to deal with as well. The kitchens are spacious with plenty of utensils and pots and pans..and I'll say it again...very clean. My friend Mark and I plan on going here every year as long as we are able. It's a great spot!

Room Tip: Many rooms and cottages to choose from depending on the size of your group. All very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this resort but one of their four bedroom houses right next to the resort with full access to the beach and resort activities. Amazing view from our back yard of lake George. Beach was perfect with access to kayaks. Boat rental next door which we used for a day. Little far away from the main town of lake George but we knew that. Still able to go to a few towns in between with good restaurants. One great one was alquonquit about 20 minutes south. We drove 45 minutes or so north to the gorge which was a nice day.

Room Tip: We were able to go right before the busy season in June which allowed us to get the four bedroom house pretty cheap. Worth it if you could do it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My stay at the Eagle's Nest was fantastic. The cabin was so cozy and gorgeous. It had everything we needed for a few days away from the "real world." When we went it was chilly but sunny and the view to the lake was stunning. We went on the little hike and the view there was even nicer. The hike was an easy one and totally worth the few minutes it took to get up there. The staff was nice enough to let us have a late checkout since no one else was coming that day. The cleaning staff was also very professional and made sure the place was in tip top shape and we had all the supplies needed. There was plenty of wood for the fireplace and the grill was very nice. Same thing can be said for the flatscreen TVs, DVD players and all the kitchen appliances. It as nice to have a washer and dryer to clean the smoky smell off our clothes before leaving. Overall, my experience was great and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Trout Lake Lodge with 11 other couples for a three day week-end and had a wonderful time. The owners allowed us to cook meals and have full use of the lodge and two cabins. We had a delightful time together for the second time at this location. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Parking was available close to the lodge and cabins. We felt as if we were staying in our own home. We played games, watched movies, and walked to a local country store. Some hiked at Putnam Pond. It was a fabulous way to spend time together with old friends. The owners couldn't have made this easier!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews