We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stay in Vermont”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trout House Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I realize I am definitely in the minority after reading other reviews. First of all, there was some disagreement as to which unit I had requested. We ended up in a unit that was $40. a night more than I thought I was going to pay. It was nice but to reach it you have to drive up a steep and rutted driveway. We were there 10 minutes and lost power due to a terrific storm. We were informed that there was a plug-in flashlight(!) if we needed it. No offer of ice or anything. We are not novices at renting places with kitchens. Usually there are some basic pantry items(sugar, oil, paper towels etc.) to supplement what you bring yourself. We had a salt and pepper shaker. We finally found matches on top of the refrigerator(well marked as their property :)) to light the gas stove. And I really appreciated the cheery reminder that $10-20 a night would be appropriate as a gratuity for the maid service! As this was our 45th wedding anniversary trip, I must say it was a disappointment. And lastly, route 9A runs through the front of the property. If you look really closely at the web site I guess you can see this, but it is really deceptive! I give it 2 circles for the view and cleanliness!

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you ask for!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetpea1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TroutHouse, Front Office Manager at Trout House Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We take a lot of pride in our property and providing services to our guests. Power Outages are unfortunate for our guests and certainly taxing for our staff as well, so we are sympathetic to these situations. In fact, we sent each guest during the outage a $100 credit for lodging as a good will gesture. Unfortunately, in the Adirondack Park, power outages are the "Nature of the Beast", as there are strict regulations against clearing trees around power lines. As a small resort, we do not have a central backup generator system, and therefore provide only emergency lighting and flashlights in the units. Our kitchens come fully stocked with full sized gas range, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender, pots, pans, dishes, utensils, as well as coffee and condiment packs. The "basic pantry items" described open up a whole new set of issues with concerns to the Health Department, so we are surprised to hear they are normally provided anywhere. We are indeed right on 9N, not 9A, as described, and we do try to make this clear to everyone. We have beautiful views, a beautiful beach, and lots of activities included! ~Trout House Village Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Trout House Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here with my wife Labor Day week 2012. Found this place using trip advisor and google. We wanted something similar to the Vermont cabins we usually stay in this time of year. Never been to Lake George area, so we gave it a try. We stayed in the Adirondack Cottage which was suggested by one of the innkeepers due to fact that we wanted a little more seclusion. Upon arrival, was pleasantly surprised by the size of the property. Beautiful lake view, friendly staff and nice grounds with plenty to do. Private beach, use of boats and kayaks, private dock area, bikes, sports and use of grills. Cottage was very clean and perfect for two. Located in Hague, you are kinda far from main area and restaurants which we did not mind driving in either direction on route#9N. We did drive to Bolten Landing and Ticonderoga. Overall, excellent place to stay if you want to be away from the tourist trap areas in southern Lake George.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank grabom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband (44), myself (38), my daughter (13), and son (9) visited the Lake George region for the first time after traveling to NYC for my brother's wedding. After 5 days in the city we rented a car and drove to Hauge to stay at the Trout House Village in the Hill House Cottage from June 18-June 22. It was a wonderful place to relax and unwind after a busy time in the city. The cabin looks like it has recently been updated, it was spotlessly clean, all the appliances looked brand new (the stove is really awesome, looks like an old style stove but is actually brand new). The screened porch is roomy and has a beautiful view of the lake. There is a charcoal grill outside the front porch. Downstairs the kitchen has plenty of room, lots of dishware and cooking utensils and pots, everything you need, we cooked full meals every night that we were there. The living and dining area is large, comfortable pull out couch and table that seats 4. Flat screen TV. Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms very nice, jacuzzi tub in the master bath. Extra blankets and pillows and plenty of towels. There is a small washer and dryer in the second bedroom and there was a small box of laundry soap supplied. There were window unit air conditioners in both bedrooms, which were great because it was unseasonably hot, in the 90s, while we were there. There is an open sun deck outside the master bedroom.
The resort itself is great, especially for families. There is a small putting green, a shuffleboard court, an area set up for badmitten and/or volleyball, there is a small equipment shed that has croquet, lawn bowling, and bocce ball that can be used on the lawn. There are also bikes available for free use for guests. Across the street is the lake, the view is unobstructed and the beach is private for trout house guests, there is a crosswalk that is well marked, we had no trouble crossing the street. On the beach are lounge chairs, a toy box that holds sand toys, a shed with life jackets and boat paddles, plenty of canoes, kayaks, and paddle boats that are free to use. There is a fishing pier with adirondack chairs on the end (fishing poles and bait are 5 dollars a day at the office to rent). There is a floating swim platform in the roped off swim area. the water was crystal clear, a bit chilly that time of year but the kids did not care! There is also a teher ball pole and a shed that houses a ping pong table. There was so much for the kids to do, all free, that we really could have just never left the resort (although we did go to fort ticonderoga, six flags, and Lake george village) and had a great time.
The office staff was friendly and full of information about the local area. There were other guests but it was always quiet at night and in the early morning and there was never a wait for use of any of the equipment.
This resort if about 40 minutes from Lake goerge village, 25 minutes from Bolton landing, and approximately 10-15 minutes from the town of Ticonderoga (there is a large Wal Mart with a grocery in Ticonderoga). This was a perfect place for our first trip to this area!

Room Tip: There are several different types of accomadations available. We loved the hill house because it is...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nolatrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I have never been to Lake George and wanted to check it out for our anniversary getaway. I looked at countless websites for other cabins and motels and things in the area and none of them looked anywhere near as nice as the accomodations at the Trout House. Plus - they are dog friendly!

The pictures on their website are beautiful, but it's better in person. We stayed in the Paul Revere and it was great. Plus we were pleasently surprised to walk in and find a ridiculously huge flat screen tv in the living room (In the pictures, there was an old small tv). Plus they have free wifi, which was another nice surprise.

The views from all the cabins are spectacular. Our kitchen had a full size fridge plus tons of dishes and things and a dishwasher. And there was a wetbar. The 2 sided fireplace was great - and they made sure you always had plenty of wood for your stay!

They also have lots of ammenities like boats available and activities like basket ball, badminton/volley ball, putting green and things which I was please to see that many guests took advantage of during our stay.

The best part was though that they are totally dog friendly. We were greated by 2 friendly golden retreivers and we knew we were in the right place. I think every single guest had a dog with them during our stay. It was great to have our dog with us for the weekend.

The staff is very friendly and are very helpful suggesting restaurants and finding things in the area.

The only small down side was that there isn't much in the area. The nearest grocery store (not counting the awesome General Store around the corner) that we could find was hte super walmart in Ticonderoga. We didn't see many restaurants, so instead we chose to eat dinner (and breakfast and lunch!) on the balcony every day to take in the view.

It was a great place, and we can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: They have so many different room options, and the staff is so helpful, if you can't find somethi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank F0lkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I had found Trout House by searching for a log cabin with fireplace in the Adirondack Region. What a find! The reviews found in TripAdvisor accurately reflect what you will find here. THVL is located far enough up Lake George that you are away from the hustle and bustle of the Village and far enough that you have a beautiful drive along the shoreline. The Town of Hague is a quaint town with a nice counrty store. When you drive up to THVL, your first reaction is OMIGOD! It is quiet the impressive compund. The owners have done everything with attention to detail and quality. I stayed at the Lord Hale Log which has a great view of the lake (see pic). The cabin is spacious with two bedrooms upstairs. The fireplace is awesome and there is plenty of wood. The porch provides a great venue for taking in the beauty and the activity around the property. It is a great place for families or a romantic getaway.
The owners were friendly and welcoming. It was a fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: The Log Cabins face the lake. Check their website for best views of what is offered.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belowtheradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

It's all we wished for - be away from it all in the middle of nowhere. Trout House is a really beautiful place located right on Lake George - the view is unforgettable. We would recommend Hill House or Cozy Cottage because they are kinda apart and on top of everything else, single occupancy cottages that you don't have to share with anybody else. It's really quiet in winter, but we would imagine there would be much more action in summertime. We would highly recommend this place. Really enjoyable, and the view from the hot tub is worth all the money.

Bruce and Olga

Room Tip: Log cabins are actually two-unit, cottages are single occupancy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My family and I just spent a weekend at the Trout House Village at Lake George. We stayed at the Cozzy Cottage and LOVED IT! The reception employees were extremely helpful and accomodating, the housekeeping staff was great and friendly and the Cottage itself was clean and very spacious.
Thank you again for a great experience. We hope to be able to return during the summer time and again during winter 2012 for the Polar Bear Dive (which was very entertaining by the way)

Ps. We loved your dogs too! Emma was super sweet!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiniguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hague
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
16.6 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
23.8 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Hague
37 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#4 of 6 in Ticonderoga
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout House Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout House Village Resort

Address: 9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836
Location: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Price Range: $59 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout House is located on the peaceful shores of northern Lake George, and has been a popular summer destination for generations of families. The sleepy village of Hague is surrounded by the lake's majestic Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trout House Village Hotel Hague
Trout Hotel Village
Trout Resort Village
Trout House Village Resort Hague, NY - Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing