We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
110
20
0
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
20
0
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boats lake george ping pong full kitchen living room modern appliances short drive wood fireplace both bedrooms trout lake route north paul revere shuffle board the eagle's nest flat screen family room beautiful cabin
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 137 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

It's all we wished for - be away from it all in the middle of nowhere. Trout House is a really beautiful place located right on Lake George - the view is unforgettable. We would recommend Hill House or Cozy Cottage because they are kinda apart and on top of everything else, single occupancy cottages that you don't have to share with anybody else. It's really quiet in winter, but we would imagine there would be much more action in summertime. We would highly recommend this place. Really enjoyable, and the view from the hot tub is worth all the money.

Bruce and Olga

Room Tip: Log cabins are actually two-unit, cottages are single occupancy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My family and I just spent a weekend at the Trout House Village at Lake George. We stayed at the Cozzy Cottage and LOVED IT! The reception employees were extremely helpful and accomodating, the housekeeping staff was great and friendly and the Cottage itself was clean and very spacious.
Thank you again for a great experience. We hope to be able to return during the summer time and again during winter 2012 for the Polar Bear Dive (which was very entertaining by the way)

Ps. We loved your dogs too! Emma was super sweet!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiniguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I visited Trout House Village Resort on the off season hoping to find solitude, and I was not disappointed. I spent a relaxing Christmas weekend writing my novel and being inspired by nature’s beauty. The grounds are immaculate, the owners friendly and helpful, and the Adirondacks breathtaking. I highly recommend the Trout House Village. It’s become a favorite place of mine, and I intend to visit regularly.

Room Tip: Visit their Website. There are so many great rooms to choose from. Find the one that suits your needs.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We just returned from a stay at the Trout House for 5 days & 4 nights the last week of October for a quick getaway, which was off-season. We were a bit concerned at first about finding places to go to eat, shop, etc; however, we quickly found many things to do in the area. We stayed in the Ethan Allen Patio and could not have been more pleased with the friendliness of the hosts and the cleanliness and location of the cabins. Check in went smoothly and at that time the host explained all of the things to do in the area, including restaurants and shops in the little towns surrounding the cabins. This was really helpful. Upon getting to the cabin...it was fully stocked with everything needed (including hairdryer, shampoo, soaps, fully equipped kitchen, towels, linens etc) so you really could just pack your clothing and arrive on their doorstep and be well taken-care of. The hosts have also prepared a very detailed book with the history of the resort, local hikes, fishing information, and restaurant information, which we absolutely loved. Also, the Trout House offers all kinds of other things to do for families besides boating, like a putt-putt course, half-court basketball, corn-hole, if you decide to hang out at the Trout House for a few days. We had planned to use Trout House as a base camp for exploring all of the things to do in the area; however, ended up spending one full day around the resort just relaxing and exploring all the things the resort had to offer.
OTHER INFORMATION about the area/things to do (To the south)--- We flew into Albany airport and drove to the resort. If you have time and are looking for a scenic route...take Route 9 North out of Albany (instead of I-87). Route 9 hugs I-87 the entire way but takes you through all of the small towns, like Saratoga Springs, Glens Falls, etc. Traveling via Route 9 takes about 2 1/2 hours to get to the resort and via I-87 is about 1 1/2 hours. Spend some time exploring Saratoga Spa State Park, which offers lots of hikes, spa services, golf and is the summer home to the NY Ballet so there is something year-round. Glens Falls has outlet malls, which would be a great way to spend a rainy day. Lake George is just about the last place to get gas on your way to the resort; however, don't bother with groceries in Lake George. Its about a 45 minute trip from Lake George to Trout House along Route 9N.
Other Information (to the north & west) & things to do---Ticonderoga is approximately a 10 minute drive to the east on Route 9N from Trout House and offers many family-owned restaurants, in addition to Wal-Mart for stocking up on basic munchies, drinks, etc. There is also a Meat Market in Ticonderoga on the main street for grilling purposes. Ticonderoga also has a nice public park with a waterfall and covered bridge, in addition to Fort Ticonderoga. Also, it is home to Mt. Defiance, which provides spectacular views of Fort Ticonderoga, Lake Champlain, and the Green Mountains of Vermont. You can drive it or walk the road (about a 30 minute walk). If you continue to follow Route 9N through Ticonderoga it will take you on some really scenic drives overlooking Lake Champlain. Also, about 20 minutes north of Ticonderoga there is an orchard and farmer's market supplying baked goods, candy, etc. There was literally a line out of the door when we arrived and the baked goods were phenomenal. If you continue to follow Route 9N it will eventually put you about 15 miles outside of Lake Placid. I would definitely recommend seeing Lake Placid as its a quaint village with a lot of stuff for kids. They have the 1932 & 1980 Olympic hockey arena with a hall of fame and guided tours...all for free. You can just wander on your on time through the complex which was nice. Also, we found the arena to be the hub of activity with information about things going on at the Olympic village & Whiteface mountain. We happened to be there on the weekend when they were running U.S. Team time trials for the skeleton and luge and were able to watch. There was not a large crowd and it was also free. I would definitely recommend as we, as adults, were impressed; therefore, I can only imagine that a kid would also be entertained. Also, in Lake Placid you should make a point to visit the Lake Placid Lodge, which is open to the public for free as well. We received this information from talking with an antiques dealer as he mentioned this was the place where he would go to relax and read a book. The Lodge contains a private art collection and a bar that serves decent food. You should also ask for a private tour of the wine cellar, which boasts a wine list over 30 pages long. Its definitely worth while. Overall its a good place to explore and relax.
Things you should not miss---Saratoga Spa State Park, Mt. Defiance, the park in Ticonderoga, the farmer's market/orchard north of Ticonderoga, Fort Ticonderoga, Lake Placid hockey arenas, Lake Placid Lodge, and of course...relaxation on the water at Trout House.

Room Tip: A few of the cabins are split to offer more units (Ethan Allen Patio (bottom floor) & Ethan Allen Log (top floor); Lord Howe Patio (bottom floor) & Lord Howe Log (top floor)); however, we did not have a problem but it would all depend upon who your neighbors above/below were.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bree9107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were just at Trout House this last weekend for our one year wedding anniversary and it could not have been more beautiful and peaceful. What an amazing and secluded way to capture all of the romance you need. We stayed in the Eagles Nest cabin and it was so rustic, clean and picturesque we still can't believe we got to stay there. The bed is warm and comfortable, the showers and tubs are roomy and clean, and the balcony's view is not to be missed.
We took a small rowboat onto the lake and took more pictures from there! I couldn't believe all of the boats they had for their guests to use. The beach is small but exactly what you expect from a lakeside beach. It was cold this last weekend but for us that only added to the beauty. The outlying area is just as breathtaking, and every sight was incredible.

The cabin itself was very spacious for a couple, we would definitely be comfortable bringing another couple along and splitting the top and bottom floors. The kitchen was very workable with the bar seating (although the knives could be sharpened or replaced) - we cooked every single meal from scratch so we made a lot of use from the kitchen.

The fire place is perfect, and makes the cabin even cozier than before. We had a fire going the entire time. The property has a lot of buildings on it but it was so quiet and peaceful it is like you are entirely alone. We heard no other noise at all from other guests at all.

We will DEFINITELY be back - although maybe a TINY bit earlier in the season. I am still smiling!

Room Tip: Call the resort directly about availability - the website might not be updated - we got different information from the front desk than what the website had indicated!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews