We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cut above” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Pizzeria

Main Street Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Groton
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A cut above”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Main Street Pizzeria on a trip through the Finger Lakes. It was much better than we expected. Good pizza with great crust. Very clean place with nice big booths. The owner makes soft serve non-dairy ice cream? It's actually quite good and worth a trip by itself. The coffee is strong like a good cup of Peets. Nice place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtnblue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pizza!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Restaurant was clean and the pizza was fantastic. The owner was very nice. If we pass through Groton again we will absolutely visit this Main Street Pizzeria again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So-so pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have lived in Groton for over 20 years, and for years, we patronized the Main Street Pizzeria. The pizza used to be terrific, but recently things seem to have fallen apart. There is more crust than anything else, the sauce has little flavor, and the toppings are not fresh. Service is a definite problem. On a number of occasions, they substituted items without consulting us (hot chiles instead of green bell peppers for example). Twice in a row our order was totally wrong. Instead of pepperoni, green peppers and bacon, we got anchovies and olives. When we took the wrong pizza back, we were told that we got what we ordered (not by a long shot!!) and if we wanted the order changed, we'd have to pay for the second pizza!!! This is a total turn off, so we no longer buy our pizza here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SophiesMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking out for the customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Every time I go to Main Street Pizzeria the owner is out front and talking to his customers. His menu has safe standard customer favorites and dishes that are fun, different and enjoyable for the more adventuresome; like Rosemary Feta Pizza. I love this place and the feeling that we matter when we are there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Pizza was very good and service was excellant with a smile

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Pizzeria also viewed

 
Groton, Finger Lakes
 
Groton, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Main Street Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing