We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Frankly, Scarlet, they DO give a damn!"”
Review of Benn Conger Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benn Conger Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Groton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2010

What an amazing place to stay. I have never felt so at home away from home. We traveled to the Benn Conger for a family wedding, and it was magnificent. The Inn Keepers/Owners, Peter Zon and Douglas Yurubi, made us feel so at home. The rooms were absolutely magnificent. I recommend the original building. The attention to detail in the arches, windows, eclectic furnishings, etc., is unsurpassed. The newer building features things like jetted bathtubs and separate showers, but I so prefer the older with character. Peter and Doug rescued this property from foreclosure and destruction and have painstakingly restored it to its former magnificence. Mr. Conger would be pleased. It's only about 20-25 minutes from Cornell University. They even have a vegetable garden - what can get fresher than that. I would absolutely, without a doubt stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to that area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinders19446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 314 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our Dragon Boat Team traveled from Ottawa Canada to participate in the Ithaca dragon boat festival. Our hosts Peter and Doug went over and above anything you could imagine innkeepers could do. They had our breakfasts bagged and coffee ready for our early morning departure. Upon our return they had a feast ready for our team, including a special cake. The food quality, service, decor atmosphere and hospitality was outstanding!

I had the pleasure to stay 3 nights in the Jr. Suite, purple room with beautiful antiques and lovely duvets. The room was very spacious with two bedrooms and a lovely sitting room.

If you are looking for an Inn that's extra special and reasonably priced with Inn Keepers who go the extra mile to keep you happy, look no further you have found the perfect home away from home.

Thank you Doug and Peter for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunOnTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The owners and staff at the Benn Conger Inn provide excellent service - they really care about your stay. If you are a fan great food and wines in a beautiful dinning room, this is the place for you to go. The bed rooms are also excellent - spacious and very comfortable. Some rooms have balconies and patios that are perfect for relaxing, particularly with friends or groups.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This place is a gem! I was so impressed with how kind and friendly our hosts were especially given how luxurious the accomodations were. The rooms are gorgeous, every little detail is beautiful, especially the furniture. But most special about the place are the hosts, they made sure we were always taken care of, always available and are just naturally generous, nice people. It really is the whole package! The food was phenomenal too! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I was impressed with my whole experience at the Ben Conger Inn. My family (5) was traveling as part of dragon boat team to participate in the Ithaca dragon boat festival. It was one of the best weekends i have had in a very long time. The owners were wonderful; courteous, helpful and accommodating, they worked so hard to ensure that our weekend was perfect.

Traveling with my family of 5, and a large team we were asked to share a room so that as many of our team as possible could stay at the same Inn. I was skeptical about how comfortable the 5 of us would be (4 adults and 1 pre-teen), but when i walked into the room they assigned for us i was taken back by the size, and beauty of the rooms (it was two full bedrooms, with full bath and separate large area off the rooms). It was so beautifully decorated we felt at home. The room service was amazing - on Saturday we had to be up and out of the room at 6:30 am to be at the dragon boat site for 7:30 - well with 5 people trying to pack for a day away our room looked like a tornado hit it when we left. When we came back from a full day of dragon boating, we were exhausted - when we walking into the room they were made up / cleaned up so well that it just set the tone for a wonderful evening.

The food for the buffet for our team was spectacular. There was a variety of food offered and plenty of it. It was all prepared so well. My favorites were the chicken stuffed with artichoke and the mango tilapia (it was sooo yummmy). The owners went over and above for our team, having a cake made up for us with our team logo on it. It was such a wonderful gesture, and the cake was amazing to eat too.

The site is so beautiful. Sitting outside in the morning with your coffee listening to the birds under very old trees was so relaxing and peaceful. It was a great way to start your day.

Thank you for a wonderful time, and I highly recommend this Inn.

Cynthia, Jason, Nicholas, Tabitha, and Shayne

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthialabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The Benn Conger Inn and the associated Victorian Cottage are beautifully maintained and decorated residences exuding elegance and at the same maximum comfort with modern amenities such as spa bathtubs, standing showers, television, air conditioning and all of the comforts of home. The hosts, Doug and Peter, are so welcoming, that you feel right at home in this beautiful B&B. Staff are pleasant and efficient, rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels, and breakfast is varied and plentiful. Arrangements can be made to have dinner at the residence. The menu is varied and the food is excellent. The hosts were very accommodating to our group of 35 plus and arranged for bagged breakfasts when we had an early event in Ithaca. The B&B is strategically located for visitors who wish to tour the finger lakes area and local wineries. The hosts are knowledgeable about area attractions and events and happy to share information and make arrangements.

I would return again any time.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottdragongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Our family stayed at the Inn for a family gathering in Groton. We had a family luncheon for 20 at the Inn during our stay. Everything was perfect! Our rooms with lovely views over the lawns & gardens were clean, comfortable, spacious and beautiful. The food at breakfast & dinner was wonderful! At our luncheon buffet everyone talked about the delicious food and beautiful setting of the Conservatory dining room. The setting of the Inn makes you feel like you are in a gracious home with equally gracious hosts. The service was everything we could ask for and during our entire stay, Peter & Doug accommodated our every need. We felt truly pampered and will definitely return.
The Davis Family
Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmdavis19512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benn Conger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benn Conger Inn

Address: 206 W Cortland St, Groton, NY 13073-1008
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Groton
Price Range: $125 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time....Celebrate the spirit of a bygone era...Built by a captain of Industry.Hideaway for a notorious mobster....Our Colonial Revival mansion awaits you.Benn Conger Inn is located in the quaint town of Groton, NY, nestled on 18 acres of pure peace & tranquility. 10 guest rooms each with their own private bath & shower.Restaurant on the premises with 5 Dinning Rooms. Inclusive of a Glass Atrium. Whether it is a romantic dinner for two or group event; Benn Conger Inn is the perfect venue.Specializing in:*Indoor/Outdoor Weddings*Bridal Showers*Baby Showers*Birthday Parties*Retirement Parties*Corp. & Private Holiday Gatherings*New Year's Eve Celebrations*Holiday Buffets*Sunday Brunches*Funeral Breakfast & Luncheons*Full Service Lounge & Restaurant ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing