We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Fall Get-away”
Review of Benn Conger Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benn Conger Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Groton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fall Get-away”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was the most unexpected delightful way to spend Parent's Weekend at CU. We loved everything about this place! The gracious hosts were so much fun and the decor and food were wonderful. We shall most definitely return!

Room Tip: The Peach Room is wonderful! Fireplace, jacuzzi and breath-taking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amzoo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
124
104
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We certainly agree with all the prior terrific reviews of The Benn Conger Inn. It was a wonderfully peaceful and "gorges" oasis just outside of Ithaca. Peter and Doug make you feel at home and help in any way they can with whatever you need. There breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We recommend a stay here if you are visiting the area. We certainly would love to go back!!!
Elaine and David

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It is difficult to say what we enjoyed most: The Inn, the food, or the hosts. Our daughter planned a destination wedding at The Inn last summer and Peter and Doug ensured that everything ran flawlessly! They are low stress, accommodating and way too much fun. We love these guys!

The Inn and Victorian House combined have ten beautifully appointed rooms with private baths. The artwork and antiques provide the perfect blend of sophistication and whimsy. The restaurant consists of several dining rooms providing the ability to accommodate numerous guests while maintaining an intimate quality. The lounge is cozy and inviting.

Add in the gazebo for your special occasion and the ultimate croquet lawn, this is undeniably the perfect wedding venue!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Benn Conger Inn is a lovely romantic setting for couples--for a wedding, honeymoon, or romantic getaway. The Inn itself is a lovely classical mansion, beautifully furnished with large bedrooms and private baths. The original study now serves as the bar. The restaurant can accommodate large parties, and like the rest of the mansion, is well-appointed. The owners Peter and Doug are consummate hosts and made sure all our needs were anticipated and promptly taken care of. The staff is friendly and courteous, and they keep the property meticulously clean.

The Victorian House adjacent to the Inn has also been beautifully restored with spacious bedrooms and private baths. The Facilities are nestled amid 18 forested acres with deer roaming the forest.

This lovely old mansion, located near Cayuga Lake, Cornell, and local attractions is well-worth a second visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RetroBeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Peter and Doug were very hospitable. Lovely hosts and I will definitely be back. Stayed there while seeing my off at Cornell University. They helped us with bus routes and also offered to drop us at the Ithaca Bus station while we were leaving. I recommend this to anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolanle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked both houses of Benn Conger Inn for our family and friends to stay during our son's wedding over Labor Day weekend. Peter and Doug were a delight to work with from the very beginning. They are the perfect blend of professionalism and friendliness. We were seeking a place that could accommodate many different types of gatherings with our family and friends and also offer privacy and a sense of retreat for our guests. Peter and Doug accommodated and anticipated our every need from a wine and cheese reception the first evening, to dinner for all the guests, a campfire with s'mores, delicious breakfasts, informal gatherings on the balconies and in the lounges, croquet on the lawn. Our only disappointment was that there weren't more rooms so everyone could stay there! Our guests all commented on how much they enjoyed their stay and the opportunity to have great places in which to gather and visit. Peter and Doug exceeded our expectations in all aspects of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Peter and Doug saw to our every need. We stayed at Benn Conger as part of a family wedding and they were able to bring special attention to our party. The accommodations were great and the meals delicious. They even set up a fire pit so we could reminisce about the good old days while we roasted marshmallows for smores. A truly delightful time for all!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are themed so just ask Doug or Peter for a suggestion
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
9.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
14.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
8.9 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benn Conger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benn Conger Inn

Property: Benn Conger Inn
Address: 206 W Cortland St, Groton, NY 13073-1008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time....Celebrate the spirit of a bygone era...Built by a captain of Industry.Hideaway for a notorious mobster....Our Colonial Revival mansion awaits you.Benn Conger Inn is located in the quaint town of Groton, NY, nestled on 18 acres of pure peace & tranquility. 10 guest rooms each with their own private bath & shower.Restaurant on the premises with 5 Dinning Rooms. Inclusive of a Glass Atrium. Whether it is a romantic dinner for two or group event; Benn Conger Inn is the perfect venue.Specializing in:*Indoor/Outdoor Weddings*Bridal Showers*Baby Showers*Birthday Parties*Retirement Parties*Corp. & Private Holiday Gatherings*New Year's Eve Celebrations*Holiday Buffets*Sunday Brunches*Funeral Breakfast & Luncheons*Full Service Lounge & Restaurant ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing