We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous 70th Birthday Celebration”
Review of Benn Conger Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benn Conger Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Groton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fabulous 70th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My brother and I selected the Benn Conger Inn as the site for our mother's 70th birthday celebration weekend. We were immediately drawn to the period elegance and wonderful dining spaces on the main floor which allowed for our many guests. The well appointed guest rooms & suites located onsite was a rare find in the greater Ithaca area. Our special occasion was made memorable and yes... fabulous by Peter & Doug and their staff. Peter with his creative and flexible menus, food and beverages were delicious and beautifully presented. Doug handled guest check in, special requests, details... and cocktails flawlessly! Wendy created the most stunning birthday cake and Andrea pampered mom with make-up, hair & nails. Katelyn along with the wait staff and housekeepers were EACH an absolute dream and the truest example of hospitality we had ever experienced. The Benn Conger was without question the most stunning back drop and perfect place and for an occasion we will now treasure for the rest of our lives!
David J. Carpenter
Director, Catering Sales
Rochester Riverside Convention Center

Room Tip: All Rooms are excellent; very quiet and have their own baths. Guest rooms at the Inn feel very auth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpenter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    22
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
125
104
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Working three jobs and all the usual life challenges can add up and a weekend in the country at a Bed and Breakfast was much needed. THIS was our best weekend away ever!! TRULY!!!
Peter,Douglas, and all their caring staff made our stay amazing! We had world class breakfasts each day and even a gourmet dinner Friday night when we arrived. I had prime rib and Mark had a roasted duck dinner with current conserve. WOW!!
Our room was deluxe and even had a whirlpool bath and the BEST bed I have ever slept in!!! We also were allowed to bring our two small non shedding dogs and they enjoyed the visit as well!
Thank you so very much Peter and Douglas!!!!!!!
The main house is a beautiful historic treasure!
Paul and Mark
Rochester NY

Room Tip: Garden Suite is AMAZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1965Paul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dip into luxury at the Benn Conger Inn. Come for the peaceful elegance, stay for the relaxation and hospitality. Amazing last minute stay with helpful and very accommodating hosts. Beautiful surroundings in the middle of nowhere aid in the ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a two-day stay here last weekend, and though we had some chilly March weather, the hotel was just perfect. Peter and Douglas are the friendliest hosts: they gave us ideas for day trips, served us tasty gin and tonics, and basically treated us like we were cousins from out of town. Their attention to us was especially impressive considering there was a wedding party occupying the rest of the rooms. We stayed in the cottage next door (yellow room, I think) which was very clean and included a cozy gas fireplace. Highly recommended -- we place to return in the summer! --Patrick

Room Tip: Call Peter and Douglas on the phone and then recommend the best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick46531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After the lights went out from lower Manhattan, we took our car and drove upstate to visit friends. We chanced upon this delightful little place and, with small kids in tow, spent a few days exploring the Finger lakes region vineyards while waiting for ConEd to get the power back up. Our hosts were unfailingly kind and considerate, putting us to a very nice suite and serving us good food in heaping portions. The hotel is a very nicely kept old mansion that has been spared the horrendous renovations that plaque so many of the period pieces. That said, the wifi works and there is really nothing you miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RasmusDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District Of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had enjoyed dinners at this B&B, but this was our first overnight stay. Last weekend we spent two nights in the Blue Room which was delightful. It's appointments were obviously chosen with care - from silver/gold bathroom fixtures and electric fireplace, to a refreshingly comfortable king bed and white lace curtains that allowed morning sun to wake us up! Breakfast was included, and they were delicious. One breakfast was french toast with a banana foster and walnut topping! Yum!
The owners, Peter and Doug, were so welcoming that we felt at home immediately! We decided that this is the place we will stay whenever we are in the area. The Inn is located in a quaint town located near the beautiful finger lakes with wineries and interesting activities and site-seeing. The Benn Conger Inn is a great find!

Room Tip: Loved the Blue Room, which is in an adjacent building. Next time we'd like to try one of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Husband and I had a wonderful evening at the Benn Conger. We were married there 10 years ago, and decided to celebrate our10th anniversary there with dinner and a stay in one of the suites. Although, under new ownership since we were married, I have to say the changes are for the better. Staff/Owners were great and hospitable, the atmosphere was warm and welcoming, I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Am looking forward to going back again and again. Would recommend a stay to anyone in search of a beautiful place, off the beaten path. Food was fabulous and our room was remarkable. Thank you so very much!

Room Tip: Very nice couples retreat, rooms are clean and well decorated. Welcoming B&B feel with great ene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajdevilish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
9.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
24.8 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
8.9 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benn Conger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benn Conger Inn

Property: Benn Conger Inn
Address: 206 W Cortland St, Groton, NY 13073-1008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time....Celebrate the spirit of a bygone era...Built by a captain of Industry.Hideaway for a notorious mobster....Our Colonial Revival mansion awaits you.Benn Conger Inn is located in the quaint town of Groton, NY, nestled on 18 acres of pure peace & tranquility. 10 guest rooms each with their own private bath & shower.Restaurant on the premises with 5 Dinning Rooms. Inclusive of a Glass Atrium. Whether it is a romantic dinner for two or group event; Benn Conger Inn is the perfect venue.Specializing in:*Indoor/Outdoor Weddings*Bridal Showers*Baby Showers*Birthday Parties*Retirement Parties*Corp. & Private Holiday Gatherings*New Year's Eve Celebrations*Holiday Buffets*Sunday Brunches*Funeral Breakfast & Luncheons*Full Service Lounge & Restaurant ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing