We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have that burger you are always hoping to find!”

Murphy's Tavern & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
267 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“They have that burger you are always hoping to find!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Popped into this tavern/restaurant yesterday afternoon for a late lunch while watching a NFL game. The ubiquitous TV screens were all following the local action, and the place was mostly family and friends gathering. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed some of the best burgers we've had recently: mushroom Swiss was delicious, served with steak fries and cole slaw. It was a leisurely Sunday afternoon lunch, and the price was very reasonable. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very pleased with the food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Despite looking like a standard pub, this place does have a lot of charm. Sat out on the front porch area and enjoyed the nice autumn evening. Service was a little s,low, but the place had a pretty robust crowd on Friday evening. The Grilled Chicken over Penne a la Vodka was absolutely delicious, and a very hefty portion as well. Prices are fairly reasonable, especially for draft beer.

Definitely recommend going if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, reliable, but average.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I want to like Murphy's because they have a wonderful porch in the summer, and they frequently contribute their outdoor area and food for community events ... but inside it is just a little bit tired and the food is a little tired too. The staff are very nice, and sometimes in the winter the soups will be amazing! I hope that they continue to to step up their game and cook their good and friendly food better and better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harborhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick ny
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Visit the updated Tavern and Restaurant.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've gone to Murphy's for years, but recenly they remodeled. The original owner (Danny Murphy) had the longest family run tavern in Orange County. When it was sold we were disappointed; however the new owners took the place apart and remodeled in fine fashion. The dining room is great, and the sport's bar is loud but friendly. The food is not gourmet, but consistent and very good. The prices are OK but look for specials, including the Saturday Brunch.
It's on the main street in the village; you can't miss it. It's worth a go..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justthefaxmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food is very good and consistent. I go there almost every Thursday night I get the mussel appetizer. The mussels are very good for an Irish place. The service is very professional and that bar tender is great. Thumbs up Great place

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing