We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great view, bathrooms terrible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenwood Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Continental Hotel
USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, bathrooms terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just went to dinner last Sunday and the food was good. The service was great and the view was wonderful. The downside was that my husband went to the men's room and when we left the hotel, we said it was terrible. Pipes and sink were rusted, no ventilation and it smelled terrible. This should have been the first thing the hotel renovated. Hopefully they will fix this problem asap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood Lake, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel, just went there for dinner. Interesting is that it is owned by the same family since 1928!!! Food was good, portions are somewhat small for the $$. Outside patio is lovely and there are private dining gazebos. Inside dining decor could use some work....more plants would help, it looked kind of like a hotel dining room, which it is. Choice of music playing was not good and the lighting could be softer. People were very nice and friendly. We will go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

terrible hotel. holes in floor in the bathroom. small room. terrible beds, made my back hurt. uncomfortable sheets from 1900's. Bad smell. Room is depressing. the only good thing iss that you are right on top of lake, but spend a little more money and get a better place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Greenwood Lake hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Continental is a family run historic hotel currently undergoing renovations to restore its past charm. The room was cozy and clean. Our host, Diane, was personable and pleasant to deal with. The view of Greenwood Lake from the dining room is amazing.If you are looking for a hotel with a more home like feel, check out the New Continental.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find this place last minute. The price was reasonable and the owners/staff were pleasant and gracious. The hotel is right on Greenwood Lake with a spacious patio (finished the day we arrived), several gazebos, and a walk out deck to sun or swim. They're in the middle of renovations, but it seems it will maintain older charm with refinement (including flat screen TVs and free wifi). When all the renovations are done prices may go up, but as of our visit it was a GREAT affordable getaway in beautiful Greenwood Lake.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with ac if you are coming during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevieboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was my boyfriend and my 4th stay at The new Continental and we keep coming back because of the excellent service, charming rooms, amazing food and the peace and quiet. this hotel is in the perfect location- situated on Greenwood Lake. We ate breakfast and dinner overlooking a great view, hiked on a great trail in the area and came back to the hotel to relax in the lounge and enjoy a cocktail by the lake. The next day we drove to near by towns to look at some art and antiques. Dianne, the owner, and her staff prepare delicious meals (definitely try the homemade blintzes for breakfast). I love that the rooms each have their own color theme and style. Great value for the rate they charge. They were renovating parts of the hotel and the pier while we were there- cant wait to come back and see the results!

Room Tip: Room 12 was our fave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have been enjoying our stays at The New Continental Hotel for several years..Its charm and and beautiful views of Greenwood Lake pull us back here as often as possible,On our recent weekend getaway we were pleasantly surprised by all the renovations going on.... Newly decorated rooms.. the patio has been redone and has enhanced the view.... the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail, read a book or just take in the moonlight.......My husband enjoyed fishing from the dock..I am looking foward to an early morning swim comes the summer.. We were told there are lots of surprises coming...A private dinner served in the gazebo steps from the lake has us very excited.I will be checking my calander for a full moon!!! We are a little biased as we were married here 11 years ago,and always consider it "our place" However there is enough beauty and charm to go around....I highly reccomend a visit...Ask Diane for some info about the wineries,shopping, and the farmers market in Warwick....This is a great place to make your place....We don't mind sharing :)

Room Tip: We love room 12
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwood Lake
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
11.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Antons on the Lake Country Inn & Marina
8.2 mi away
Appalachian Motel
Appalachian Motel
#2 of 2 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
8.3 mi away
Inn at Stony Creek
Inn at Stony Creek
#2 of 8 in Warwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Property: New Continental Hotel
Address: 15 Leo Court, Greenwood Lake, NY 10925
Location: United States > New York > Greenwood Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greenwood Lake
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing