We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
268
23
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
23
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages year after year splash pad sunny hill resort extended family family vacation monster truck family style paddle boats every summer kids and adults fire engine dining hall whole family columbus day weekend disney world vacation spot
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 297 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This place is a hidden treasure! First of all, it is all inclusive. All of your meals and activities are included and everything you need is right there at the resort. It's like a cruise on land. There's something for everybody in the family. Beautiful golf courses, lake for boating and fishing, swimming pool and splash pad, walking trails, numerous playgrounds, tennis, spa, nightly entertainment, fun rides for the kids and adults, and of course, breathtaking views of the Catskill Mountains. My family has been going to Sunny Hill for 35 years and we all love it!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The only question you need to ask about a place like this is would you go back? The answer is we are already looking at dates for next year! We went the week AFTER Labor Day which is suppossed to be the off season. There was still plenty to do as Sunny Hill was running day trips to the Baseball HOF and apple picking. My three year old daughter loved the pool/splashpad and playgrounds. I even took her out on the golf course for the first time! I thought the food was very good and the service was great! My year old daughter has a milk allergy and the staff was so helpful in dealing with this. That went as far as printing up a chart showing us everything they made that contained milk. Needless to say this made our stay much more enjoyable and stress free. Sunny Hill may be a throw back to another era...but believe me it is a keeper!!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I cannot recommend Sunny Hill anymore than to say it is the best place I know of to go for a relaxing and fun family vacation. The resort is run by a great group of people who make you feel at home the minute you arrive. There is constant activities for children of all ages and everything is set up so that you can get the most out of your time. My daughter (who just turned 3) smiles at the mere mention of sunny hill.....

I am 36 years old and this place is what i remember vacations to be like when I was growing up. Everything is in one place so you arrive, unpack your car, and you have no reason to leave again.) My recommendation is to bring a radio flyer to bring the kids around in.....also useful for toting the kids and supplies down to the pool.) The food is good but more important (if you have little ones) is brought to the table quickly. It is as if the staff has been trained to make the parents lives easier. The rides that they bring out during the day make sure the kids are never bored and the day camp from 9 - 12 mon - fri is perfect for giving the parents a break between breakfast and lunch (My wife and I used this time to sit at the pool and do nothing.) The rooms are clean and I recommend getting one that opens up to the outside. Sitting on the porch at night with a drink watching the sun go down is an absolute pleasure and the surrounding scenery is beautiful.

Best of all, the people who run the resort (Gary, Gail and co) seem genuinely interested in making your stay as pleasant as possible and are as accomodating as anyone could possibly expect. I talked a bunch of friends of mine into coming up for a 3 night stay this year and all of them plan on coming back for more time next year.

You cant go wrong with this place......

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saugust36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Sunny Hill is a great place for families to connect with each other and make new friends. This is like a family camp with meals together and plenty of activities for everyone of all ages. The owners have done an awesome job of providing activities for kids and adults. We were extremely impressed. As a couple it was a fun time and we really could see what a fantastic place for families. The ones we met had been returning year after year. In once case for over 50 years. Most impressive was the children/teens who were thrilled with the activities and reconnecting with the same friends each summer. A great place for families away from the "theme park" era.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENDLESS-TRAVELSCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I'm a little late on this review, but just wanted to remind everyone what a wonderful place Sunnyhill is. In my book...it's better than Disneyland! We had a fantastic week with friends and family alike, the food was great, the staff wonderful and the activities even better. With some new additions (the rock climbing wall and the giant slide), the kids were kept even more entertained. There is just something that happens at Sunnyhill that doesn't happen anywhere else, you feel like you and your "week" are the most special group because THEY make you feel that way. They are truly like family (Gary, Wayne and Gail) and you actually feel like you are visiting family when you are there. We will be back in a few weeks for our annual apple/pumpkin picking weekend and we just can't wait to get back there. See you in the fall!!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews