We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Happy Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
“My Happy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have been going to Sunny Hill with my family for 29 years (I'm 30). I've never missed a year and never plan to. Sunny Hill has grown tremendously since I started visiting every summer. Last year they added the Viking Race obstacle course and my friends and I LOVE it. It gives younger people something fun and challenging to do while on vacation with your family. I have so many memories of fishing, swimming in the pool, spending time with my family and my friends (aka my extended Sunny Hill family). On top of that, the Nicholsen family makes you feel like one of their own. They are all wonderful people who make the Sunny Hill experience truly one of a kind. I can't wait for the time when I can bring my own kids up there and make new memories!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Another great vacation at Sunny Hill...Each year we look forward to our "Family Week at Sunny Hill". The owners are wonderful people who go out of their way for the guests. Yes, we were one of the EO groups that started to go to Sunny Hill "5" years ago when EO closed. They opened their doors with such warmth and hospitality and set us up on a wonderful week with other wonderful families. My son has made such great friendships since coming here. They have something for everyone....Dont miss out, give it a shot - you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: They have may types of rooms that will suit everyone's needs. I like the Edmonton, because it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMcCrorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This was my 32nd year visiting and my children's 3rd. So many great memories here with great additions to their activities each year for grownups and children. You know how kids are so excited to see Mickey at Disney? Well that's equal to my excitement when I see the Nicholson family!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Planning another family reunion at Sunny Hill. And again The Nicholson family is so very pleasant and accommodating. The resort is perfect for family reunions with activities for all ages. Four generations plan to show up - from as far away as Alaska! The resort is meticulously maintained and every year something new is added. We are all eager to see each other and also to discover what is new this year at Sunny Hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scgrosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Next week marks my 28th year coming to Sunny Hill. It's not only a great place to vacation but a great place to get married. It truly is my happy place. There's a never ending list of activities for both adults and children. The staff really make you feel like family. Ill be coming back for many more years to come. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenndoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family and I just returned from another memorable stay with the Nicholsen family at Sunny Hill. My children are 4th generation visitors and this was our 17th visit. All of the reviews are right on the money. There is a charm to the bucolic setting, the meals are hearty for sure and there are activities that will keep you as busy as you'd like to be throughout your week's visit. Most importantly, however, Sunny Hill is the perfect stage to create irreplaceable and everlasting family memories. There's something very special about The Hill!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VIrginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just did a family celebration and four families had rooms together in a unit. We had a wonderful time. The owners have run the place for 95 years and truly put there heart and soul into everything to make your stay a memorable one. Have not gotten on the scale yet, but certainly gained weight after eating three hefty meals a day. Plenty of activities including golf. The highlight for the kids is their love for all the vehicle rides and various kiddie rides. And the finale....fireworks every Friday night.

Room Tip: It is worth a few extra hundred dollars to upgrade to rooms in the Grimstad because the bathrooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
12.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
20.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
8.9 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#2 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

Property: Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Address: 352 Sunny Hill Rd, Greenville, NY 12083-4521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Greenville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Hill is a 600-acre, all-inclusive, family resort, set in the picturesque Great Northern Catskills. Many of our guests are friends and families who return year after year to commemorate a special tradition, celebrate an annual event or simply relax and unwind amid the splendor of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskills Hotel Greenville
Sunny Hill Hotel Course Catskills
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskill Region, NY - Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing