We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and loved the inaugural Viking Race”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Shelburne, Vermont
1 review
“Great place to stay and loved the inaugural Viking Race”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I can't say enough good things about my race experience last weekend at the Viking Race, but I'm going to try. After every sporting event you share your experience, excitement and stories about the race with your fellow competitors. In obstacle racing, it is usually about near falls, mud and cold pits and accomplishments of conquering a hard obstacle. After we all did that during dinner at Sunny Hill, we couldn't stop talking about what a perfect venue this was to have an event. Whatever the reasons you might have to not attend an obstacle race, we think Sunny Hill has a good solution. "OCRing is to expensive." Sunny Hill's race was $50 with no parking fee nor spectator fee. "Don't like finding a hotel and driving back and forth." Sunny Hill is a great resort with plenty of clean, quality rooms. "It's always hard and a pain driving around to restaurants.". Again, Sunny Hill has quality meals right on site. "Always have trouble finding a baby sitter". Sunny Hill has day care for little ones and plenty of activities for older kids (putt-putt, pool tables, swimming pool, monster truck rides, shuffle board, etc). "I'm afraid it will just be a mud run with silly obstacles". Check my pictures or theirs, www.sunnyhill.com, you won't be disappointed and they are building more. The biggest point is that everything is on site. No more hosing off with cold water from a garden hose, go back to your room and take a warm shower. No more chowing a power bar after the race, just walk over to lunch. We think this is the future (fixed obstacle course at a resort) of obstacle course racing and Sunny Hill has started it out on the right foot by setting the bar pretty high! The staff was very friendly and responsive to our needs. Thanks again to Sunny Hill, I’ll be back as many times as possible! www.sunnyhill.com

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Completed our second annual visit with a group of friends last month, and I am pleased to say that this place is wonderful: it's clean, activities are fun and plentiful, the staff are really friendly, and, best of all, you get a sense that you are a valued part of the Sunny Hill extended family. When we go, it feels like we are back in a simpler time. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafterpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stopped at Sunny Hill Golf Course to squeeze in a round on my way back to Long Island from Albany on business. The staff was great--especially Deana, who was so friendly and hospitable, and had some good laughs with the course ranger Scotty. The course is fun with some simply stunning views--see my photo from the 12th green! Will definitely recommend to friends and try to get back with my family for a resort stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRgolfer702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited overnight with 9yo daughter. Views of mountains are very beautiful. Housing is a group of motel units which are definitely dated and small, but truly spotlessly maintained, inside and out. Family style meals were served in the dining hall on a strict schedule that we couldn't take advantage of due to late arrival. However Friday evening party at the small lake on the property featured hot dogs and ice cream so we did not go hungry. Band played very gentle 50s music appropriate for the older folks. Little kids were well entertained by four caged goats, ok but not amazing pool, play area with swings, paddle boats and funny car rides around the property. My 9yo was less than impressed. Fireworks display at end of the evening was nice. Morning breakfast options were kind of limited - main meal was pancakes with sausage, or boiled eggs or cereal, rather similar to continental breakfast at chain hotels. We were charged over 300 dollars for our overnight stay, which was not a good value for us. But for families staying multiple days with grandparents and small children, I'd say this place is a total winner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesnail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
400 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Now our families 24 th year attending, my parents 55 th year and the Nicolson family continues to be great hosts to us. We look forward every year to connect with our family, to connect with our Sunny Hill friends and to see the changes each year that the SH management makes to the facilities.
.

Thought we saw a bit of drop off in food quality but service made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spent last week at Sunny Hill. This was our first visit for myself and my son 10 years old. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. There are playgrounds everywhere. Tennis Courts, basketball courts and so much more. The pools are impeccable as well as the kiddie pool area. I do not golf, but the courses are beautiful as well. My son did not want to leave. They have activities day and night and alot of fun for the kids. It's totally a family resort. I met people that have been going there for 4 generations. The lake is nice for fishing and riding the paddle or row boats. They had a BBQ at the Pavilion by the lake on Wednesday night which was really nice. The BBQ food was really good. The music added a nice touch. We had to leave on Thursday so I missed the great Friday night BBQ with Fireworks etc. I heard it was awesome. The rooms were very clean as well. It's a must to visit with your kids and extended family. We will return again next year. Now for the bad news...
The quality of the food absolutely needs to be upgraded in the dining room. If the food was upgraded, it would be the most fabulous place in the Catskills to stay. Breakfast was always good.

Room Tip: Try and ask for the newer building to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Each year Sunny Hill impresses us with it's beautiful scenery, amazing staff and fun galore. This year we were equally impressed with a makeover to our rooms, including wall mounted flat screen tv's, fresh paint and beautiful new decor. Family run and operated, this resort provides everything a family would want or need for a true "family" vacation. For those who enjoy activities, there is the pool, shuffle board, lawn bowling, golf, fishing, tennis, paddle boats and more and for those who just want to relax, the beautiful scenic mountains and Catskill sunsets are enough to make you forget your worries and enjoy today! This most recent trip marked our 13th summer spent on the 'Hill and our family wouldn't have it any other way!!

Room Tip: With a variety of sizes, there are rooms to accommodate all families. I am a family of 6 and we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyhillerJeannieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
23.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
12.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
14.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

Property: Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Address: 352 Sunny Hill Rd, Greenville, NY 12083-4521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Greenville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Hill is a 600-acre, all-inclusive, family resort, set in the picturesque Great Northern Catskills. Many of our guests are friends and families who return year after year to commemorate a special tradition, celebrate an annual event or simply relax and unwind amid the splendor of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskills Hotel Greenville
Sunny Hill Hotel Course Catskills
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskill Region, NY - Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing