We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few choices on the north fork” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sound View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sound View Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Centerport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Few choices on the north fork”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location,location,location.thats what the sound view offers.been going to the sound view for decades.usualy with a large family group.the guys fish while the moms take the kids to the carousel in town.very good restaurant.the suites are roomy and clean.the staff very helpful.the bad very overpriced.the one and a half and two and a half room suites are priced for an occupancy of one and charged 25$ for each additional guest per nite.cost me 502.25$ for two nites in late October for two people.we have a lot of fun so it's worth it.going back next year.they appreciate our business and welcome us back every year.the worst is its very close to a very busy road and very noisy.especially when the early morning ferry arrives in orient.beautiful sunsets

Room Tip: The suites are furthest from the road it helps a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    159
    75
    43
    36
See reviews for
128
218
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Soundview many times and always enjoy the beautiful scene from the back deck. When we booked for last weekend we did not request a handicapped room, but I noticed that there was an accessible room that would be very comfortable for him. I met Ellen outside the room and asked if it was available. She said no, but that she would see what she could do. 10 minutes and a few phone calls later, we were able to have the room for our entire stay.
It would have been easy for her to say "sorry" and we would have been fine with that, but she really extended herself for us and made our stay much more comfortable. The room was clean and neat - not luxurious, but we go to the Soundview for the wonderful views and the proximately to Greenport.
Ellen's generosity really made our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the SVI after a wonderful winery wedding. It was downhill after that.
The Good: the Inn (motel) is directly on the water! Through dirty windows one can see nature at its best, listen to the waves and feel yourself decompress, especially if the weather cooperates and you can sit outside. Lovely!!
The Bad: the Inn (motel) is DIRECTLY on the main thoroughfare with non-stop (all night) traffic noises; the room is dated, no microwave.
The Ugly: the bathroom is in serious need of demolition. Wooden toilet seat pitted and peeling, fixtures were rusted and neither the sink nor the shower had drain stops-just gapping holes; lots of cracked, mildewed epoxy around the shower.
I do not write a negative review easily, understanding that the inn represents someones livelihood. But operating a business with these flaws, charging a hefty sum, makes one wonder...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 2nd grd tchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Greenport hotels

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Sound View Inn: Sound stands for the highway that is located about 50 feet - that's right, feet - from your bed. View stands for the view of Long Island Sound off the other side of your room. Since Route 48 is the main route to the eastern end of the North Fork, the noise from the trucks, motor cycles and cars is deafening and does not let up until 2 am. The fact that neither the door nor the windows close tightly only adds to the misery. Don't try to sleep without ear plugs.

The deck/balcony alluded to in another review is less than 4 feet wide and runs the full length of the building without any barriers. Each room has two chairs and 1 lounge chair. Privacy? Forget it.

The bath is small leaving no space for toiletries. The towels must be made from some innovative fabric that looks like cloth and feels like steel wool. The shower was good, however, but since the front walkway between rooms is right outside the bathroom, the blinds must be closed.

The room itself is clean and is a perfect replica of mid-century motel. WiFi is available but service is erratic.

The continental breakfast in an absolutely ghastly space provides nourishment. Period.

Room Tip: Another hotel, maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FendelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed 4 days at the Sound View. We found the deck/balcony right outside our "back" door to be really wonderful. The view of the coastline, beach and the sunsets there are glorious. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast good. The nearby towns of Orient and Greenport are charming and lots of shopping and nice restaurants in Greenport. The Orient General Store is worth a stop for lunch.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Soundview Inn sits atop a small bluff overlooking Long Island Sound and the view is spectacular. Walk down s few steps and you can relax on the beach or swim in the usually calm waters. While this is a family and fun based location, it doesn't cater to snobs, nor should it. Given the continental breakfast, comfortable and clean rooms and cheerful staff along with the magnificent location, I believe it is reasonably priced. It is a beach motel and these tend to be a bit less fancy (wet bathing suits, fishing poles and kids) than other resorts. However the Sound View is better maintained than most of these facilities and given the location and convenience to Greenport, the wineries, golf, and other North Fork attractions, I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was the worst room I have ever stayed in on the North Fork. The section I was in was not part of a renovation and was filthy. If we did not have a view of the sound, it would have been a complete disaster. I did not expect the room to be updated but I did expect it to be clean and in addition if you have wall paper curling up just remove it and paint the room. It is insulting to pay such a high price for a room that looks like a slum lord's apartment. Shame on you Soundview for being lazy owners and taking advantage of consumers and your location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nola201272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
1.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
0.4 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
3.3 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound View Inn

Property: Sound View Inn
Address: 58855 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sound View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sound View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound View Hotel Greenport
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Inn Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing