We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sound View Greenport
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Soundview for a friends wedding. We had stayed there before off season so I sort of knew what we were getting into but this time felt compelled to write a review. First off, the room was $215 a night which is not too bad for August on the North Fork, but it is still a steep price for a rundown room with stained carpeting, chipped paint on the walls and crank windows that don't work. One of the other people staying there for the wedding had to contend with ants streaming out of the drain in the bathroom sink. When he complained the hotel was not very helpful handing him a can of raid and offering windex (not sure for what). On top of this, the rooms are about 50 feet from the North Road (Rt 25A) and you could swear that you are sleeping on the median with the cars passing on each side of the bed it is so loud. What you are paying for are the views on the other side of your room. Each room has two doors, while the one door opens to Rt 25A, the other door opens onto a nice deck and beautiful rocky beach along the Long Island Sound. The beach is what allows them to charge what they do. fortunate for them (but infortunate for those of us paying to stay there) the place is full every weekend during the summer so I guess they are not too motivated to make improvements. We did enjoy the bar and the food at the restaurant was very good. We love the North Fork and make two to three trips a year out there but all in all I would only stay at the Soundview again as a last resort.

Room Tip: Go for the suites, request the 2nd floor and hope it is quieter than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BKPSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 685 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night (without our 5 children!) getaway, and I must say I miss it already!

I found that the value for the room was very reasonable, and there are no words to describe having the water right outside your door.

I will admit I was a little worried when we pulled up, seeing how close to the highway it was; however, once we closed the front windows and opened the back ones, all we heard was the lapping of the water on the shore, which was all we needed!

The ladies in the office were extremely helpful and pleasant; the restaurant was great (a little pricey for us but delicious food); and you just can't beat having the Sound as your backyard. The location is great; very easy to get to the vineyards, Shelter Island, shopping, etc.

We plan on coming back often!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Inn is old but well kept, the beach is mostly stones with numerous large rocks in the water, many hidden at high tide. Nice restaurant on site. Close to the road so it can be noisy. Ice and vending machines at far end of motel depending on your room location it can be a long walk

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richiepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My friends and I have been going out to the North Fork every summer for a few years now. Our usual hotel was booked, so we took a chance on the Sound View Inn. We were a little nervous about this place, as we had read some negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised by the SoundView. After a day of wine tasting, there is nothing like lounging on a beach or hanging by the pool, and this hotel had both of those options. The rooms were nothing fancy, but they were clean and had refrigerators- though ours wasn't working so well. All rooms open up to a private beach, which was fantastic, and there were plenty of lounge chairs for guest use. The sunsets were amazing, as well. There are a few negatives; the pool closes by 6, the beach is quite rocky, and the hotel is right on the side of the road, so you constantly hear cars whizzing by. Overall, as long as you're not looking for the Hilton, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

and it has improved immensely over those years. I am originally from this area and over the years since about 1990 I have stayed here for family funerals, hometown events and to sell/manage property in the area when I could not stay in the property itself. They have always happily accomodated me. The new rooms are quite lovely as is the new lobby. The view over the Sound cannot be beat and this time it was as clear as a bell for the days that we were there - a little unusual. The addition of the breakfast bar is welcome as well. I was here for a class reunion that was actually held in the Sound View restaurant so this was a wonderfully convenient place to stay. My husband and I greatly enjoyed the back deck area outside of our room for evening sunset viewing. It is a little pricey, but everything in the area is, particularly during the summer. And when I heard that one of my classmates had paid $100 MORE for a room in Greenport...

We plan on going back and taking some of our friends from this area to that beautiful place that my California-born husband calls Baja New England. And we will stay at Soundview!!!

Room Tip: Keep in mind things are expensive out here. And in comparison to city environs, it may be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seashell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

just the views and sunsets are enough to come back here again and again,but there is more.The two ladies responsible for running this hotel restaurant are always around if assistance is needed and they try to be as accomodating as possible.I always look forward to return trips and try to get here as often as I can.I think the food has always been good but the maybe even better the last few times.Nice bar, great pool,or just walk the beach ,we love it.Thanks so much,definitely see you soon.In season or not,a great place to be.

Room Tip: Call early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenny235469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Beautiful beach. Lovely staff - very helpful. We would love to come back.
We stayed in an appartement with 3 teenagers. Even they relaxed... So peaceful. Nice food in the restaurant. Greenport is very special. North fork really grabbed us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Bente H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
3.4 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
257 reviews
21.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound View Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound View Greenport

Address: 58775 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2280 (Formerly Sound View Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: $181 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sound View Greenport 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sound View Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound View Hotel Greenport
Sound View Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing