We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Scrimshaw - CLOSED

Scrimshaw
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Front Street
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was such a cute restaurant. Great ambiance. We initially requested a table outside on their dock, but it got too cold so we moved inside. The servers were young but very nice. I had the bouillabaisse but. It was more of a fish stew than a traditional bouillabaisse but still very good. My boyfriend got the special pork loin which was also very good. If you are in greenport you should definitely try this place.

Helpful?
Thank jjroehrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    15
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth paying a bit more for”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pricey, but the food was delicious, the waiting staff helpful and the location (away from the main strip and at the end of a small jetty looking out over the ocean) pretty unbeatable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view, wonderfully romantic and the food was quite good too!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was the only restaurant we didn't look up the reviews for before we went out there and I'm so glad we took a chance on it. The other waterfront dining options in Greenport had a bit too much of a frat boy vibe going on. This seemed like a little tucked away restaurant for adults. The outdoor deck was gorgeous, though inside looked lovely too. The service was outstanding. Our meal was really good and not just the same old run of the mil seafood options. We had a curried calamari appetizer that was fantastic!

Yes, it was pricey, but isn't everything out there? At least you are getting an amazing view and really good food for that price! The sunset alone would have made it worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marisapNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Food; Slowwww Service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We had 7:00pm Reservations and didn't finish our dinner until 10:00. There was one waitress serving 8 tables and she was very sweet; but she's only one person!
One large party got up and walked out because they waited too long between appetizer and entree. No excuse for not having enough staff on the busy vacation period the weekend before Labor Day...
That being said, the food was great and the ambiance is even better on the dock in Greenport.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weezy722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A most amazing experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I cannot say enough about how amazing was the ambiance, the service (especially, the service), and the quality of the food. We were recommended Scrimshaw's by a friend and to that friend we are ever so grateful.

We decided to eat on the dock - it's one of the best views you could ask for in this town. The service and the food, however, reign supreme. (Thank you, Gustavo). While this seems like a minute detail or something that is expected, it is still so refreshing when the server knows what he or she is talking about, when it comes to the drinks, and everything that is on the menu. Gustavo had it down. We ordered a full course meal: from oysters, appetizers, our entrees to dessert. Across the board, they had it covered. They had the timing down, presentation, and all the courses tasted amazing. The only thing I was taken aback by was the consistency of the seafood chowder. It was expecting a thicker soup. It didn't matter, though, because it tasted amazing. Flavors were layered and savory. I ordered the key lime pie for dessert - it was devoured. Enough said.

We had a great stay in Greenport, and if we go back - I'm hoping we go back - we will most definitely be dining at Scrimshaw's again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scrimshaw also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Southold, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing