We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room & good facilities - which you'd expect for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful room & good facilities - which you'd expect for the price.”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is a very nice hotel in a truly beautiful part of the world.

We had decided to stay a night in North Fork on our road trip of New England and Long Island and had a very pleasant stay.

The rooms are beautifully appointed. Wireless internet and cable with its own balcony. The TV is an LCD, although small. The bathroom is quite stunning: the basin, towels, dressing gowns are all of the highest quality. The shower was amazing: there are 5 shower roses placed at intervals down the wall!

The fitness room has everything you need and the pool, while small is nice and clean with reclining chairs and fresh towels.

The breakfast was included and continental. It was very good with cereal, bagels, tasty muffins and pastries, jams, juice, tea & coffee.

The total price was $316 which, on our budget was quite expensive, but, all things considered, reasonable for what is a very new, clean and comfortable stay.

Greenport has some marvelous restaurants and the surrounding area has beautiful vineyards, little organic farms and pretty harbours.

  • Liked — the room - especially the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AussieWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    89
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
174
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

First time out in greenport, usually spend week in Montauk. Loved everything! The Hotel itself was great. Beautiful decor, clean in and out, rooms were good size, great views, nice balcony, cool showers (only knock is TV - very small). Breakfast was great, larger than usual continental. Bread, bagels croissants, cereals, juices, granola, yogurt, coffee, tea, etc. Saved us $ on breakfast to spend on dinner! Pool was small, but not too small. regualr size for any beachfront hotel/motel. kids loved it and we swam everyday. great pool lounge chairs and they provided towel too. Would defineteyl go back. Also gave us 4th night free with 3 paid nights. Great locations, walked to virtaully everything. And drives to vineyards, orient point, etc. were very close!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price but worth it
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank riz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in a suite for our Valentines Day present to eachother. We got a package with a dozen roses and a bottle of champagne. Somewhat costly but everything was amazing. Jacuzzi tub, enormous balcony (it was cold out, but had my morning coffee out there), and great town made this weekend getaway unforgettable. We walked the town (even though nothing was really open in February) and ate at a pretty good place across from the hotel. Went ice skating at the rink next to the harborfront which was pretty cool. Again, it was really cold out next to the water!
The second day we drove to 4 different wineries and they were so much fun. Not many people were there because it was the end of February. We went back to the room and relaxed before heading to the North Fork Table and Inn where I had the best piece of meat I have ever experienced in my life. It was Wagyu? beef or something like that. Unbelieveable. The hotel gave us a 40$ gift cert. to the restaurant and the meal was still about $110 for the 2 of us. Well worth the money though!
I defnitely reccomend going to the hotel when it isnt sub-zero temperatures, but we wanted to get away from it all for the weekend and loved every minute of it.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Close to wineries.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nick91_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

My husband & I just stayed at the Harborfront in a Suite overlooking the bay & we absolutely loved it! The decor was topnotch! And yes, the shower & bathroom were wonderful!
Very comfortable & the staff was very friendly & accomodating.
The convience of walking to restaurants & shops & even a movie theater was also great! Finally tried the Frisky Oyster Restaurant & was very pleased with the menu, service & food by far. We have always loved Bruce's Cafe for breakfast, although the hotel has a large assortment for a continental breakfast included in the rates. The ferry is in walking distance to Shelter Island & just a happy stay all in all! Would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, beautiful room decor & comfort, plus the view of the bay & convenience of everything
  • Disliked — check out time could have been at noon instead of 11:00 am
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RRMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

When I last visited the north fork of eastern Long Island about ten years ago, it seemed as though decent lodging facilities were hard to come by, especially in and around Greenport. There may have been a few notable B&Bs or perhaps some hidden gems I wasn’t aware of, but for the most part choices seemed limited to older, and in some cases pretty well worn, mom-and-pop motels. So finding this modern, clean and comfortable place right at the harbor in Greenport for a one-night early summer stay, was definitely a pleasant surprise.

WHAT WAS GOOD: I’m not sure when the property was built, but the entire facility has a fresh, clean, modern look and feel about it. My room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with modern furnishings….The location, right on Front Street by the harbor, is excellent for walking. You can reach any number of shops, restaurants and activities without having to drive. Greenport is definitely a walkable town….A continental breakfast, included with the room rate and consisting of bagels, muffins, fruits, cereals, etc., is served downstairs in the main lobby….Bathrooms have exceptionally nice shower units, with multiple pivoting shower heads, a handheld piece, etc….Free in-room internet access was fast and reliable.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER: Some of the smaller common amenities you’d expect in an upscale property are lacking, like in-room coffee, morning newspaper, etc., you know, just small stuff.

THINGS TO KNOW: There’s not much space between the rooms facing Front Street and the street and sidewalk themselves. You may encounter a small bit of street noise in the rooms facing the street, as mine did. In my case the A/C was generally enough to muffle the sounds of any traffic and an occasional loud pedestrian. I didn’t notice a sound after dark anyway….Other reviewers have made negative comments about the staff but everyone I encountered was cordial, pleasant and seemed very willing to help. I’ve witnessed warmer, more accommodating service but folks here seem genuinely motivated to assure a pleasant stay….Summer pool hours are something like 10 – 8, but they keep the pool area locked down otherwise. I never got a chance to see the pool enclosure due to a horrendous late day thunderstorm.

THE BOTTOM LINE: This is a very comfortable, modern and clean facility that’s nicely suited to a brief getaway in an interesting and pleasant corner of Long Island. Pick this place if you’re looking for modern comforts as an alternative to some of the sand-in-your-shoes seventies style motels that are scattered throughout the area.

  • Liked — Very clean and up to date; excellent location.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WRC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Harborfront Inn for an extended weekend getaway. We were able to get the weekend rate with an extra day and had a fabulous time. Great location, walking distance to some great restaurants, tea shop, etc. - just 10 minutes from the Orient Point ferry.

The rooms were very clean, nice continental breakfast and outstanding staff, especially Brad who had some great recommendations for dinner. The rooms face east, so you will get the morning sun, and they have a nice view of the harbor. The only downside - very minor - is the noise from the post office when they begin work in the morning.

The hotel is conveniently located near LI wine country, including South Fork wineries and sightseeing. Take a trip to Montauk Point if you have the time - it is a nice ride and a peaceful setting.

Overall a very positive stay and would highly recommend it. We would return to this hotel if in this area again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikeOstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a nice weekend getaway at this hotel. We booked one of the weekend getaway packages...king premium. We received room 304 on the third floor...last room on the west side of the building. We were greeted at check-in by a nice woman who went over the package. The room was very clean and inviting. The weekend weather was very stormy so views weren't at their best, but the room did overlook the shelter Island ferry. We received 2 complimentary bottled waters, but they weren't replenished the next day. We thought that was a little cheap on their part.
I didn't go down to the breakfast, but my husband did carry up breakfast, juice and coffee on trays provided by the hotel. He did notice that only small cocktail type table were availabe in the lobby and people seemed a little uncomfortable eating from them. Our package included a dinner certificate ($30) and we were able to use it for lunch at the seafood barge. I have been going to this restaurant since I was a little kid in the 70's and it is still great. It keeps up with the changing times and has great food ( a bit more upscale than a regular seafood shack type place) We also went to the place right across the street...front street pub/restaurant/something to that effect...it was very nice..warm and welcoming. It was great to have a little place like that so close. You are able to get a drink and a decent snack. Because it is off season many places were closed. We hit a few wineries...our fav's are Laurel Lake, Bedell and Corey Creek. We also enjoyed the wines at Lenz this time. We use to frequent the wineries 10 years ago and a lot has changed. Tasting fees of $5 per person are the norm now. Overall, it was a great weekend despite the weather. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well appointed clean place to spend some time.

  • Liked — cleanliness and comfy bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
1.9 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
482 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
67 reviews
2.8 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
114 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborfront Inn at Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborfront Inn at Greenport

Property: Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Address: 209 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Harborfront Inn, located in the heart of the historic seaside Village of Greenport, where luxury and comfort meet North Fork’s unique rural culture. The Harborfront Inn is steps away from dining, shopping, and historic attractions. World-class wineries, ferries to Connecticut and The Hamptons, and the Tanger Outlet in Riverhead (with over 165 brand-name stores) are only a short drive away. Be able to get away while enjoying top amenities and still being in the middle of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harborfront Inn at Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborfront Inn At Greenport Hotel Greenport
Harborfront Hotel Greenport
Greenport Harborfront Hotel
Harborfront Inn At Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing