We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a fine hotel. It is perfectly located for maximum enjoyment of Greenport's lovely town. But, as another review noted, the location of your room is also important. A majority of the rooms do not really face the water, so if that is important to you, ask about those. I faced the street, which was fine, but not nearly as nice as seeing that lovely harbor. The staff are really, really friendly. The complimentary continental breakfast is fine. The hotel is very clean. There is ample parking. I don't know about the pool since I was there off season. I may indeed return. It's a nice place to send a fall weekend.

Room Tip: Ask whether you face the harbor directly or at an angle. Most rooms face at an angle or face the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
166
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,736 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of greenport. It's good place to stay when visiting the wineries. The rooms are ok. Clean and plain looking. The bed wasn't the most comfortable. They have continental breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

A friend of ours has been recommending the Harborfront Hotal for the past few summers. We often go to Montauk in August, but are tired of tired accommodations. We chose the Northfork this year for our summer mini-break. The Harborfront Hotel is very clean and the rooms are well appointed. I was very happy with the room. We paid up for a view of the water. It is not a cheap place to stay, but I decided to pay a little extra for the waterview and was glad I did. It was about $50 more. The total cost of the room for one night was $423. Greenport is a nice town, but make plans during the day, visit the wineries, take a fishing tour or go on a ferry to shelter island and/or the Hamptons.

We were impressed by the free continental breakfast and the fresh vegetables from their garden always abundant. You could paper bag them and take them with you. The pool was fine for a quick dip. And proximity to town and carousel was perfect.

We felt a little bored after one day. We travelled with our 2 children. The 5th street beach is fine for a morning excursion, there is a nice little park there. The carousel is worth a ride, cash only.

We felt the hotel lacked a little in the customer service area. They were happy to help us, but the staff came across a little overwhelmed at check in. The lobby was crowded and they eventually managed to get everyone settled. We had to wait a little past 4pm cjheck in for our room, not what I expect at over $400 a night. I think the problem was an amateur staff. They were absolutely kind, but not up to par with a luxury experience.

I rate the property 'Very Good'. This is because the hotel itself was lovely, the staff lacked experience to carry a higher rating in my opinion.

Room Tip: Room 202 was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Everything about this Inn was outstanding! From the first contact making reservations, to our arrival and check in through the whole stay. The staff was fabulous, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the location was great. To top it all off, they had fresh vegetables from the owner's garden in the lobby each morning. This was just what we needed for a few days of relaxation! Highly recommend..............

Room Tip: 3rd floor towards the back...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights here to celebrate my husband's birthday. The 2 night bill came to $748, which is way more than we typically spend for lodging, but we decided to go for it since it was a special occasion. The hotel website and reviews on TripAdivsor gave us the impression that this was a spectacular hotel - much nicer than the other hotels in Greenport. And we usually get good advice from TA reviews. But in this case, we felt misled and ripped off.

We paid the extra money for a harborfront room. Our room was on the second floor - right above a marshy area. The terrace was quite small and uninviting - which was good in a way, since sitting out there felt like hanging out in a swamp except with a lot of sun beating down on you and other guests just a few feet away. But also disappointing since the harbor view is what we came here for.

As for the room, it was OK. Large enough. no bad chemical smells from cleaning products. The shower was really nice with lots of sprays and nozzles and nice bath products. But the rug in our room and the hallway was very stained. Really? You charge $350 a night for a room and can't even clean the rugs? Our second night there the parking lot was full. The desk clerk told us to park on the street. No apologies - lots of attitude. Actually. the staff here in general seemed smug and unfriendly. And that was the only thing that made me felt as if I was staying in a "luxury boutique hotel" as advertised. In the end. we both regretted having spent so much money on so little.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank srilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke,UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

From the lovely greeting we got when we arrived to the huge, comfortable bed, to the soft dressing gowns, to the beautiful view across the harbour and along the shore, to the dining recommendations to the pool and deck area. This hotel was the perfect end to our 3 week road trip. It is smart, clean and bright. Rooms are spacious with fridge, iron, hair dryer, balcony, flat screen tv, lovely beds and a the most goregous showers. The pool and deck area were lovely - yes near the parking lot, but not a problem. Our balcony was lovely with great views across the harbour (we were above the car park but the views were not disappointing - you could only see the cars if you looked down instead of across!) 5 days here with 4 children. Adjoining rooms. Friendly helpful staff who provided dining suggestions - all were great, and even gave us menu print outs. Advice on beaches and excursions. I really hope we manage to return to Harborfront Inn and Greenport. As it really was one of the loveliest places we've been to.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here three nights to visit my daughter working on Shelter Island. Great, clean hotel and nice, big rooms. We had a superior so it was on the first floor overlooking the harbor. Next time I will upgrade to the premium as the first floor did not have the ability to step out of your room. Not sure why they designed them that way it would have neen really nice, (our only disapponitment). The town has lots of really good place to eat and bars to drink. Walking distance to the ferries to go to Sag or Shelter Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rleb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
1.8 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
2.0 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.8 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborfront Inn at Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborfront Inn at Greenport

Property: Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Address: 209 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Harborfront Inn, located in the heart of the historic seaside Village of Greenport, where luxury and comfort meet North Fork’s unique rural culture. The Harborfront Inn is steps away from dining, shopping, and historic attractions. World-class wineries, ferries to Connecticut and The Hamptons, and the Tanger Outlet in Riverhead (with over 165 brand-name stores) are only a short drive away. Be able to get away while enjoying top amenities and still being in the middle of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harborfront Inn at Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborfront Inn At Greenport Hotel Greenport
Harborfront Hotel Greenport
Greenport Harborfront Hotel
Harborfront Inn At Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing