We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at The Harborfront. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very clean, which has to be hard because the linens are all white. What we liked the most was its proximity to everything. We've been coming to Greenport for the past couple of years now. We love the quaint village, and it's really nice to stay somewhere that is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. We read some of the past reviews, but from our personal experience, the hotel staff was very kind and helpful. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Babyblueeyes0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Harborfront Inn at Greenport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 290 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2008

My husband and I (both 30 yo) stayed here in October which is about the end of the season out there. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location (right on their main street). We looked into some b & b, but decided that wasn't quite our style. I was so happy we decided to stay at the Harborfront! It is very modern and has a comfy Pottery Barn feel with an ocean front view. We did upgrade for a room with a view. It was great drinking wine on our balcony watching the boats come in and out. Very friendly staff as well. Would definitely stay here again. Close to lots of wineries too!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Play_Hard_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

Just returned from a 2 night weekend getaway at the Harborfront Inn. The rooms were spacious and clean. We also had a balcony view of the harbor and town. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was pretty good. My only gripe is that the entrance and back door was hard to open. I thought the place was closed until we called and was let in. Just pull hard =)
Other than that, I would recommend to others and definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shampoo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Just returned froma 2 night stay for our 10 year wedding Anniversary. So glad we chose Greenport and the Harborfront. At first glance it is not the most luxurious of boutique inns but it is very tasteful and has lots of extras. The rooms were ddecorated nicely but the bathroom is worth the trip alone. I loved all the jets in the shower! The beds were very comfy and the temperature in the room was perfect even with howling winds outside. The bottle of wine in the room was an added bonus.
The staff was very accomodating as we needed a VCR to watch our wedding video (I know, chessy) but they immediately brought us one and set it all up. They even cut the roses and put them in a vase for me when my husband had them box delivered. The continental breakfast was quite ample and good with fresh muffins, bagels, scones and a variety of cereals. I would recommend splurging for a Premier room, it is the same size as the luxury rooms, however for an extra $20 you get an incredible view. I would also recommend staying one weekday and atleast one weekend day as it is two different experiences. We checked in on a Thursday and it was ghost town until Friday night. We had all the wineries to ourselves which was nice but on Saturday the places were packed and it was kind of nice to see all the activity in Greenport. It is a nice walking town.
We ate at The Frisky Oyster and the North Fork Table and Inn - they were both excellent. Also, Bruce's Cheese shop is great for picking up a picnic lunch of sandwiches or assorted cheeses to take with you when you vineyard hop. The vineyard's that stand out were Lenz, Castello di Borghese, Macari, and Baiting Hollow Farm. We heard Corey Creek , Bedells, & Roanoke were good too but we hit so many we could not get to them all. Overall, wonderful stay in Greenport and at Harborfront.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smlev02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We recently returned from a weekend spent at the Harborfront Inn.

I have to agree with other reviews that while it was clean and pleasant enough, it was in no way shape or form a luxury boutique hotel as advertised.

One male staff member we dealt with was pleasant and helpful, while the interaction with the older female one with short hair was almost laughable.

We came down to get a recommendation for lunch, she was the only person at the desk and was speaking to what sounded like a potential guest on the phone. We waited in front of her patiently for about 10 minutes.

She never once stopped to acknowledge our presence, or ask what we required, or tell use she would be a couple of minutes. We finally walked out and found a place on our own. When we returned, she didn't ask to see why we had been waiting to speak with her or even apologize
for not being able to help us.

The room had nondescript furniture that in no way says boutique or luxury. The minibar had exactly 2 waters in it and nothing more. In this day and age, most boutique luxury hotels that we have stayed in do not charge you $10 per day for internet access, nor do they have vending machines on each floor.

The shower gels and soaps were also not what one expects from a luxury
boutique hotel.

The breakfast was ok, though the pastries and breads were subpar. The hotel has no bar or comfortable area to really hang out publicly, so you are left with either your room, or somewhere outside of the hotel.

I will say that the location was good, but the room had inadequate sound insulation from front street, many of the balconies overlook the
parking lot, and the walls and floors between rooms were paper thin.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jmfangio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

This hotel was great. The bathroom is really modern and beautiful with a great shower and Frette towels. The bed had a comfy down comforter and pillows. We also had a balcony with a beautiful view of the harbor. The hotel is in a great location. Close to the vineyards and walking distance from good restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the North Fork.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank love2travel92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Stayed at the Harborfront Inn from 11/3-11/5. The hotel is very clean and new in appearance, which strangely made it stick out a bit amongst a very homely and classic looking town. Our suite was very spacious and bright with several windows looking out to the village of Greenport, as well as Peconic bay (and also not so noteworthy, the hotel parking lot). The bed was very comfortable with fluffy pillows and soft covers and the shower in the bathroom was truly an unforgettable experience. The complimentary breakfast was full of tasty pastries, fresh juices and coffee and for the most part the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly (although there was one woman who just came off as bitter and unhappy to be there). My only complaints were that the TV in the bedroom was somewhat small and there was a charge for the internet (which I was under the impression was free as well as wireless). However, these small problems aside, the Harborfront Inn was a beautiful and relaxing retreat that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scruzin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
1.9 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
596 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gallery Hotel
The Gallery Hotel
#7 of 10 in Greenport
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborfront Inn at Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborfront Inn at Greenport

Address: 209 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: $276 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Harborfront Inn, located in the heart of the historic seaside Village of Greenport, where luxury and comfort meet North Fork’s unique rural culture. The Harborfront Inn is steps away from dining, shopping, and historic attractions. World-class wineries, ferries to Connecticut and The Hamptons, and the Tanger Outlet in Riverhead (with over 165 brand-name stores) are only a short drive away. Be able to get away while enjoying top amenities and still being in the middle of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harborfront Inn at Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborfront Inn At Greenport Hotel Greenport
Harborfront Hotel Greenport
Greenport Harborfront Hotel
Harborfront Inn At Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing