We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

From our 1st contact with Renate she was wonderful, and we had a lovely 2 nights here at the beginning of October, its an easy drive from JFK and is a beautiful area to visit and combine with a couple of nights in New York. The room was really really clean and well decorated and thoughtfully laid out. Breakfast was served in the main room on one table, so everybody met which was really nice. Renate had also sent suggestions of things to do and we did the wine tour which visited 3 vineyards and was a highlight, but the weather helped :-)
i will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adsandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful review. It was a joy to read. We are so glad your stay was just what you wanted. Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology.

Please come visit us again; there are many great additions to the town since you were here last.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

We spent two nights in Greenport at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, and enjoyed our stay immensely. Renate and Klaus were very gracious hosts and gave us great recommendations on wineries and local restaurants. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed with all the comforts of home. Breakfast both mornings was delicious, as were the homemade treats left out to sample. Sitting with a cup of tea on the front porch one afternoon it felt like we had been transported to California or Europe, and yet we were only a few hours from home. Overall, it was a wonderful little getaway made perfect by the hospitality of Renate and Klaus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wormvane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thanks for your gracious review. We are so glad your stay was a relaxing getaway. Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology.

Please come visit us again; there are many great additions to the town since you were here last.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Morning Glory the weekend of the hurricane in NY, which also happened to be our wedding weekend. What could have been a horrible situation, was turned into a celebration thanks to the unending generosity, support and love given to us from the innkeepers. They did everything in their power to make our wedding possible-- offering the inn as a last minute venue, driving all over town to find food, donating two delicious home-baked pies... all voluntarily and from the kindness of their hearts.

The inn itself is first class. It feels warm, inviting, relaxing and private. Gorgeously decorated and perfectly kept. The breakfast is incredible.

The Morning Glory is a gem, as are it's innkeepers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful review. What a great wedding story--in the middle of a hurricane no less! So glad your stay was just what you wanted and thanks for the many compliments. Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology.

Please come visit us again; there are many great additions to the town since you were here last. An anniversary bottle of wine is on us!

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is our second stay at the Morning Glory and our third stay on the North Fork. From the moment you arrive, you feel pampered. One of the other guests, at breakfast, said that they felt that Martha Stewart was serving her breakfast.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, well decorated and make you feel relaxed. Our room, Love Deeply, had a king size bed and a separate area with a couch, to watch TV,
DVD's, or to just rest and read. It was kept very clean and well stocked. We had more than enough towels, something you usually have to ask for. There was both good A/C and a ceiling fan.

The other part of the bed and breakfast is the breakfast. Breakfast is at 9:30 and with a max of 3 rooms, 6 people, per weekend, the dining room table is large enough for everyone to have enough room to eat comfortably. Coffee was served in a silver set, table set beautifully, and service excellent. We were there for three days and each day we had a unique delicious meal. One of the other guests was a vegetarian, and her meals were prepared separately for her, but still just as good. Fresh baked goods, eggs, quiche, french toast, breakfast meats (regular and turkey), etc. all MMMMMMMMMMM.

The owners were not intrusive and were in their separate part of the house, but available if you needed them. We asked them for recommendations on restaurants, shopping and some of the wineries. They were always able to provide varied selections.

Overall, an extremely relaxing and enjoyable weekend! We are definitely going back next year to the Morning Glory!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler2121212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful and detailed review. It was a joy to read. We are so glad your stay was just what you wanted and thanks for the many compliments. Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology.

Please come visit us again; there are many great additions to the town since you were here last. A bottle of wine is on us!

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We spent one night with Renate and Klaus and couldn't fault it. They were charming hosts, our room was extremely comfortable and they organised a taxi to take us to our restaurant and cooked a scrummy breakfast which kept us going for the whole day. Find a reason to go to Greenport to stay with them. The restaurant by the way was North Fork Table - also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thanks for your review. Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology.

Please come visit us again; there are many great additions to the town since you were here last.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the Morning Glory Inn B&B for our 5 year anniversary. What a wonderful place to stay with the most incredible hosts.

When we first arrived we were notified of a room upgrade to the Love Deeply Master suite for our anniversary which was a very pleasant surprise.

From the minute we entered Klaus and Renate's home we were welcomed like family. The Morning Glory is beautifully decorated with very clean, subtle European design and decor which suited us perfectly. The Love Deeply room was very spacious and also had a nice couch to relax on when you are not in the cloud-like bed. A large bathroom in the suite was great and made getting ready for dinner together pretty easy.

What made the Morning Glory Inn B&B great for us:

1)Very clean room/bed/bathroom - everything was spotless!
2)Warm and accommodating hosts Klaus and Renate - Very sweet couple and totally unobtrusive.
3)Close proximity to everything in the town of Greenport - walking and biking
4)Unbelievably delicious gourmet breakfast - Consider yourself lucky if you get the German Apple pancake with warm berry compote (also served with herb eggs and smoked bacon, fresh croissants, almond coffee cake, berry yogurt parfait, etc.).
5)Klaus and Renate were extremely knowledgeable about the local restaurants, bars, beaches, produce stands, etc. Every one of Renate's recommendations for a winery tour, restaurants, and general things to do were spot on. We actually booked our entire trip using their recommendations for every single lunch, dinner, and winery tour (we went with JoAnn Perry from VintageTour1) and we loved everything!.
6)Beautiful front porch to sit on the swinging chair and read while having some coffee.
7)A very well run business by people who meticulously care for their guests and home alike. You can tell how much they care about everyone that stays with them.

Stay with them once and you will never want to stay any place else on your next trip to Greenport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful and kind review. It was a joy to read. We are so glad your anniversary stay was just what you wanted and thanks for the many compliments. Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology.

Please come visit us again; there are many great additions to the town since you were here last. A bottle of wine is on us!

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our experience at The Morning Glory B&B was absolutely lovely! First off, Renate was very pleasant and accommodated us for a last minute trip to the North Fork. We were only looking to stay for one night even during the peak summer season. The house was very charming & very tastefully decorated and the grounds around it were beautifully manicured with flowers and plants. It was so peaceful to sit, read, and take a nap in their backyard! We stayed in the "Love Deeply" room. It was a pretty large room with a sofa, private bathroom, and very comfortable King sized bed! The room was very clean and and the linens and towels so soft and fresh!
I could not have asked for a better bed and breakfast! Renate and Klaus are very warm and welcoming. They gave us great advice on beaches to explore, wineries to visit, and restaurants to eat! The beach by their house was very private and breath taking. I felt like I was at a beach in Greece! They even provided beach chairs, an umbrella, and towels for the beach.
The breakfast in the morning was simply the best! We were served fresh fruit, fresh squeezed OJ, herbed eggs with bacon, and freshly home baked croissants! To top it off, Renate made an amazing pancake with apples and a mixed berry coulis!

I wish we could have stayed longer!
Renate & Klaus- Thank you for providing a perfect stay on short weekend! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcianne801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful review. We are so glad your stay was just what you wanted; thanks for the many compliments. Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology.

Please come visit us again; there are many great additions to the town since you were here last.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenport hotels
2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
American Beech
American Beech
#9 of 10 in Greenport
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Address: 912 Main St, Greenport, NY 11944-1241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: $200 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast is a beautifully renovated 19th-century home in Greenport, New York, part of the charming and historic North Fork wine country region of Long Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing