We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant with fabulous view”
Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Greenport
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Porto Bello features Northern Italian Style Fare with weekly specials that venture into more Contemporary American Dishes. Signature dishes of our Dinner menu include the Stuffed Veal chop and Pan Seared Chicken over Creamy Spinach Risotto drizzled with a Parmesan Cream Sauce, while our Lunch menu offer a delicious Lobster BLT, Fresh Ceviche, Cold Seafood Platter and a $12 Burger! Porto Bello offers a beautiful stone patio over looking Stirling Harbor on the tip of Brewers Stirling Harbor Yacht Yard and is now serving Lunch Friday-Sunday and Dinner seven days a week (In Season).
Garden City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant with fabulous view”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The not-so-sleepy Village of Greenport, on the North Fork of Long Island, is home to many excellent restaurants. So, competition for customers is intense. As local folks we are perhaps more critical of our local eateries, and always searching for our favorite. Porto Bello at Sterling Harbor fills the bill! Great menu selections, polite, responsive, cheerful wait staff, and the ambience of a superb view of Sterling Harbor. Try the rack of lamb, (perfection defined), diluted ever so lightly with a green apple martini, and finished off with a peach melba desert. It does not get any better than this in our neck of the woods!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clamdigger47770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had a great dinner at Porto Bello. My husband had lamb chops and I had a lobster and aspargus pasta dish off the specials list. We also had a very nice bottle of wine. Highly recoomend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kamNY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Overpriced paying for the view”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice Italian restaurant located in the beautiful town of Greenport, overlooking the water. A few minutes drive outside of the main town area, you will find this place nestled by the docks. We had a seat by a large window with great views of the marina. We ordered the Linguini with white clam sauce and the Veal Marsala. The clams were a bit on the chewy side and the veal was overpriced. Basically you're paying for the views of the harbor. We were even charged by the waitress for a cup of hot water with lemon for the price of a tea! She said that it costs the restaurant for the water, lemon and sugar. I guess the overpriced food doesn't cover their overhead and need to tack on any additional charges as well. Next time somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caribbeantraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pretty special occasion restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Took my husband there for his birthday last week. Very pretty restaurant, outstanding view of sterling harbor. My husband ordered the rack of lamb...he said it was excellent. Lean, but juicy and perfectly cooked. I however had the stuffed veal chop....not so good. The proccuito was fatty and chewy. So chewy I could not break it down and had to actually put it into my napkin. The rest of the bites followed suit. Stay away from this dish, at $40.00 a plate the lamb was the far better choice. Pasta with tomato sauce was run of the mil. Vegetables ho hum. Service was polite, but could use some polishing. Would I go back? Probably....but next time for the rack of lamb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakota7553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The food simple but very good Italian food. The owner, Diana is absolutely lovely. She visited our table and made sure we were enjoying our dinner selections.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine3forme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing